We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely 5 Star!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
133 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Cornish Cream Tea on Arrival
Dining Room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Enquite
2nd Master Bedroom
3rd Double Bedroom
3rd Double Bedroom
Bunk Room
BBQ on arrival
Pimms O'Clock
Floor Plan
Front of Blue Monkey
Awards
Whitsand Bay - 10 minute drive away - Visit the View Restaurant for cream teas or supper
Cawsand from the sea
Cawsand & Kingsand taken from kayak in Cawsand Bay
Cawsand rocks
Cawsand Beach 4 minutes away by foot
Whitsand Bay - 5 minutes drive from Blue monkey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cawsand, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geoff217
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely 5 Star!”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful property in an excellent location. Logistically the whole process of booking was very smooth and the comprehensive welcome pack was the best we have ever had for a holiday rental. The house has bags of character, lots of really nice touches and high quality furnishings etc. The location is good, literally yards from the small beaches of Cawsand and Kingsand, which were pleasantly quiet in September. Access to the coastal paths is easy and there are lovely walks. Nearby Antony house is well worth a visit. There are nice pubs offering good food in the town and a really nice cafe again yards from the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review and local recommendations - hope to see you at Blue Monkey again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadiethin...
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful luxury accommodation, which accepts well behaved dogs”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Accommodation is very well equipped, comfortable and all the luxury items you would expect (bedding/bathroom/kitchen/garden). Although the accommodation doesn't come with private parking, a public car park is a very short stroll away.
Location itself is wonderful, small (which keeps its charm) but enough restaurants/pubs to entertain you should you wish to dine out, and all are dog friendly, which makes the holiday perfect.
As a note, Kingsand Beach is dog friendly all year round but not Cawsand Beach.
Taking the Cawsand Ferry over to Plymouth highly recommended.
Annabel is always a phone call away should problems arise during your stay, which in our case was our experience but problem efficiently resolved.
Thank you

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thanks so much - a lovely review! Hope we can tempt you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsehair
Richmond, London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in perfect location!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We have had an amazing time here. Thank you. You have thought of everything we could ever need. Loved the area so much that we barely left. Both local pubs great. Locals all very friendly and made us feel very very welcome. Great blues music in one on a Sunday - GREAT food and reasonably priced in both pubs we went to. Brilliant coastal walks to nearby gardens and chapel on the peninsula. Blue Monkey is super chilled - not toooo fussy and 'on trend' which we liked, it doesn't try too hard but is super usable, spacious and well kitted out. You might struggle to find better :-) Great customer service from Annabel, the property manager - good to know they care about how the experience was, We will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: The end!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you so much Lee - a lovely review much appreciated! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidY419...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The Blue Monkey is a wonderful place to stay in this hidden gem of a spot in the UK. There is a spiritual magic here to embrace, giving the whole family a sense of peace and relaxation. You have thought of everything. Many Thanks

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your review and glad to hear you had such a peaceful and relaxing holiday - it is a magical place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margar8T
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent facilities”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Blue Monkey is situated in the heart of the village next door but one to The Halfway House pub. The house is comfortably furnished and there was plenty of room to accommodate our family party of 9 adults and one small child. The garden is an added bonus as it is sheltered and very sunny. We enjoyed the first BBQ of the year.
We were able to book an excellent meal to be left in the freezer for our first night, organic beef lasagna with garlic bread made with the abundant wild garlic growing locally. This house has a splendid location and the walks from the doorstep around the peninsular are glorious. The village is small and friendly with good pubs and cafes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. So glad the sun was shining and you could use the BBQ and that our concierge service was helpful. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb, spacious, well appointed property.”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a week with 9 members of family and everyone thought the place was fantastic. Plenty of space (although it doesn't look it from outside,) and very well appointed with excellent bath/shower facilities together with games/entertainment for all ages. A particularly nice touch was the "welcome" Cream Tea and Wine! Lovely log burner in the living room for the colder evenings, which was well used in February :-) The whole area is beautiful and Blue Monkey is a great place to base any family and/or friends group. We'll be re-booking....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review - so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady_CC76
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxurious, large and cosy holiday home”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed here last autumn with my family at the end of October and just loved it. I have so many happy memories and I fell in love with this house and the environs. Definitely want to return again this year if I can!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay - hope we see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing