We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“faultless”
Review of On The Rocks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cawsand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
On The Rocks
Ranked #2 of 7 Cawsand B&B and Inns
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“faultless”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

this was our first stay in cawsand but it won't be our last ! we know devon & cornwall really well and we visit at least 3 times a year , always picking somewhere new for the first 2 nights. We cannot fault 'on the rocks' in any way. the view from our room was stunning, Chris & Ken were perfect hosts and eating breakfast in the kitchen/diner has probably the best view I've ever had whilst eating poached eggs ! the two villages are truly hidden treasures and if you walk the cliff path, the walk to chapel point is breathtaking.....by far one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in, see you next year !

Room Tip: the bed in the balcony room is amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodge45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissimmy, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing report. It was a pleasure having you here. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at 'On The Rocks' during the first weekend in August whilst we attended a wedding at the Polhawn Fort. Having never been to the Rame Peninsula we didn't know what to expect. We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the coastline and the stunning location of 'On The Rocks'.
The welcome for our family (2 adults + 2 children) could not have been warmer, and our room more than met all of our needs. The breakfasts we experienced were superb - whatever you read in others' reviews is 100% accurate - plus Chris and Ken are wonderful hosts with fantastic local knowledge.
If you have the opportunity to visit this beautiful region of England do - and make sure you stay at 'On The Rocks' if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissimmy, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. We really enjoyed having you and your lovely family here and we hope to see you again in the near future. Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gata de Gorgos, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am not gonna add any description of the place because some others have already done it before. I am just gonna say that discovering Cawsand and Kingsand has been one of the big pleasures of my life and Chris and Ken (and Louie) made it even better. Thanks for being such a great hosts! We hope one day we can go back to the wonderful and relaxing Cornwall and stay at your home.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Renatus_de_Cartesius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissimmy, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you Josep. It was great getting to know you and hope that you will return one day to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just come back from staying 3 nights at this B & B, Ken and Chris made us feel truly welcome from the start, am amazingly lovely couple! Our room had a balcony over the sea with double opening doors, we were lucky that we had great weather and having the double doors open every night and listening to the waves lapping the shore as you go to sleep is truly magical! The room is spotless and the bed sooo comfortable! Breakfast was incredible, so much of it and all soo good. A lovely B & B in a great location and would recommend to anyone coming to the area. We hope to be back to see our new friends! :-) x

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbles-00011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at 'on the rocks' and Chris and Ken couldn't have made us feel more welcome! We had a family room which looked out over the Sound which was great for watching the ships and ferries going in and out. The room was very comfortable and there was tea and home made cakes waiting for us on arrival.
The breakfast was out of this world and set us up til tea time! Full English, fruit salad, yoghurt, toast, warm croissants - all delicious!

We'll definitely be back! Thank you Chris and Ken

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank st19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After our first visit in May 2013 we had to book a whole week in August 2013. It was a real pleasure to see Chris and Ken again and taste those fantastic fresh home cooked breakfasts. We had the same room with a stunning view across the sea to the Fort and hills beyond. The weather was fantastic and we walked lots of the coastal paths, had trips by train to places further afield so we could leave the car behind. We always looked forward to returning to Kingsand Cawsand for evening meals in the welcoming pubs. The most special evening was on Wednesday night when Ken and the choir he belongs to all came back after practice to continue singing in the Halfway House until the 'wee small hours', it was magical. So good was our stay here in Cawsand, we called back in March 2014 after the terrible storms to see that Chris and Ken were ok. Everything is wonderful so we have booked again for August!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRA8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have just had the most amazing weekend away. Chris and Ken made us feel very welcome in their beautiful B&B. We have 2 children and were given the family room which was comfortable, spacious, clean, and had some amazing views from our window. Breakfast was great and plenty of options. Loads to do locally including walks, places to visit, and I love the small village atmosphere. The 4 pubs in the village were all very nice and welcoming including live music in the evening. Will definitely go back and would recommend to couples, families and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieCaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cawsand
0.9 mi away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.2 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
13.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rame Barton
Rame Barton
#1 of 1 in Rame
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.6 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#5 of 10 in Torpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Rocks

Property: On The Rocks
Address: On the Rocks. The Old School House 3 Garrett Street, Cawsand PL10 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cawsand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cawsand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"On the Rocks" is a small Bed and Breakfast establishment run by Chris and Ken Banks. It is situated in Cawsand,a picturesque Cornish village on the Rame Penninsula overlooking the calm waters of Cawsand Bay and the Plymouth Sound.Cawsand is a haven for quiet family holidays, weddings and honeymoons and on the South coast path enjoyed by many walkers throughout the year. En-suite bedrooms have comfortable beds, TV's/Wi fi and drink- making facilities.Guests can have a choice of sumptuous breakfasts whilst leisurely enjoying,from the window, the great views of the bay -wildlife, swimmers and vessels of every kind, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
On The Rocks Cawsand, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing