We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wringford cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wringford Down

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wringford Down
Ranked #7 of 7 Cawsand B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wringford cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I rented a cottage for my sons passing out parade.. 10mins from HMS Raleigh and a very relaxed location the cottage was great lots of extras milk in the fridge,tea and coffee an appreciated welcoming touch on arrival. DVD player and DVDs. play-station,Board games. Stunning views. would recommend this accommodation.!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Having read previous reviews and responses from the owners ( after our stay), I think the owners do not know what is a constructive criticism.
You the reader and potential customer read between the lines!. There are some rooms good, some smell, water leaking and health risk.
When the owner was informed they were in denial, and said you requested a cheap room!. Not an apology or we will look into this!.
We were there and out, do you want to be in the same boat?

Room Tip: don't waste your time and money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Having read previous reviews and responses from the owners, I do not wish to get into any arguments with them....
However if the owners do read this, then please take it as constructive criticism.
You have a beautiful location that if given that extra special touch could be a wonderful place to stay..
However there seems to be quite a bit of work to do.
We arrived early so could not access the property straight away, which was fine as we were more than happy to sit in the garden and have a cider.
So that's what we did:

The first place that we encounted was the games room on the way through to the garden....
lots and lots of very old toys thrown into a corner ( maybe consider the saying less is more).. If you cannot keep that amount of toys tidy, then throw some away. It will give a better impression of cleanliness, I doubt very much that you could ever have a routine for disinfecting that many toys.

Into the garden:
An extremely old and dirty bouncy castle that was not inflated.
It looked like it had not been used in years...
and if it was inflated I doubt any parenst would want their children to play on such a dirty device...(clean it or get rid of it...we did not see it inflated once, and it did not give us a very good first impression).

The pool:
Given the general untidiness that we had seen so far, I did not fancy risking a dip into the pool...this however is my personal opinion and it may have been very nice to use, however for me it did not seem that appealing.

Accommodation:

Was clean on arrival.

And the owners had left some nice treats for us in the fridge, which was very unexpected and appreciated.

The accommodation was not really to a standard that I would of expected for over £1000 a week, as that would buy you a luxury cabin with jacuzzi and sauna at center parcs...however it was a base to stay at in Cornwall and somewhere to sleep....please please fix the front door, it would not stay shut and was extremely hard to lock.

Tennis court:
Was covered in lots of rusty toys that health and safety would have a field day with. (It's a law case waiting to happen!)

This place has great potential, but at present I felt that it was not to a standard that I would expect for the money.

Having previously worked in a holiday service industry, I am aware of what is needed to impress guests...
All observations above are only what I would have pointed out had it of been a company that I was managing...
Have a walk around every day, and look from the point of view of a guest.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djbunny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKMCornwall, Owner at Wringford Down, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Oh dear, we don’t want to get in to an argument either – after all life is a bit too short….That said you must surely expect us to respond to such a damaging review, because if we didn’t then we clearly would not care about our business.

You say that we should take your review as constructive criticism - fine, we would have loved to have sat down with you over a cup of tea and had the benefit of your experience, but you didn’t offer that, you waited until a month after you had left and then posted this review – the only one you have ever posted, which makes us wonder why. You left without a single complaint, and didn’t even tell us you had a problem with the door – if you had done we could have rectified it immediately. The family who came after you left told us it was a bit difficult and we fixed it the same day.

We do agree with you on your point about the number of toys in the games room – as the summer progressed they did spread out and take up more space. They are now cleared away. We do have many returning guests who like the playroom, as you didn’t have children and were self-catering you would not have seen that the toys meant that many parents who had booked B&B could enjoy a leisurely breakfast whilst their children were playing within their sight.

You should not make assumptions as to the age or state of things and then put them into a review as if they are facts. The bouncy castle is not that old, the outside bits that you could see were dirty because the castle had been folded in half so that less of the grass died – leaving the muddy base of the castle exposed. It was actually inflated most days through the Summer as it is used by the on site nursery but if you were out during the day you would not have seen this happen. The inside of the castle is of course clean.

You pass judgement on the pool when you did not use it! It is a small basic swimming pool, kept at a comfortable 26-28 degrees and the water quality is good. It is cleaned and tested every day.

Some of the toys on the tennis court do have a little rust on them because they are left out and we live near the coast where the salty air encourages rust to thrive. None of the toys are broken or dangerous and they do provide lots of fun for the children. We could of course clear away all of the toys and games and the place would look so much tidier, but we do enjoy families visiting us and the families enjoy being able to give their children a degree of freedom that is often not possible where they live. We luckily have no traffic here and 4 acres to explore.

Here is a reality check for you – you booked our 5 bedroom, 2 bathroom self-catering bungalow for a week – sleeping 10 adults at a little over £1000 a week. The bungalow is nice, the furniture in it is around 2 years old and the beds are all comfortable. The “luxury cabin with a Jacuzzi and sauna at center parcs” that you state you could get for the same cost …..I checked and a cabin for 8 people (not 10) with the sauna and Jacuzzi would cost £5098 for a week in August + £65 for a dog - that is really quite a large mistake to make and then put in to a review as if it is a fact. You seem a little out of touch with reality.

We may not be perfect, we do still have work to do here and I guess we will never be finished, but we do tell the truth and the photographs on the website are accurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed in The Cottage and really appreciated some of the special touches including milk in the fridge and cornish biscuits when we arrived. We just felt that the building was missing a bit of TLC.

It may help you to know that we could pick up free, unsecured wifi, so could check emails and use 'whats app', but could only get a phone signal up the lane.

The cooked breakfast was great and the owners and staff were very friendly. Looked like there were lots of activities to keep children amused, including a good sized pool and a variety of animals. Also good walking - we enjoyed the walk to Cawsand and there were many others - and the peninsula looked fascinating - we would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann56Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This has got to be the friendliest place we have ever stayed! Nothing was too much trouble for our lovely hosts, Andrew and Sue. A party of 7, five of us stayed in the wonderfully quirky Maker Lodge, and 2 opted for B & B in the main house with all of us enjoying the delicious cooked breakfast. The whole place was spotless and the beds were a delight. Andrew tirelessly entertained us in the well-stocked bar night after night, and Sue bent over backwards to cook us an evening meal on the Sunday when we were too late for the local pubs. The villages of Cawsand and Kingsand are less than 10 minutes' walk away down an easy footpath, with stunning coastal views all the way. Our teenagers enjoyed the warm indoor swimming pool more than once, and took advantage of the dartboard, pool table and air hockey game. There really is something for everyone here, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Gorgeous views in all directions, self catering every bit as good as B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Been here for vacation with my family.
We hired a self-catering cottage for a week. The cottage was on 2 floors, very wide, very comfortable.
3 bedrooms, one bathrooms, a wide kitchen, barbecue.
There's a swimming pool too and a lot of free parking.
Free wifi in the lounge.

The best choice around Cawsand.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Wringford Cottage", the best they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

As a couple, we were a bit apprehensive about this place being over run with wild children and boisterous dogs, but we needn't have worried. The house is where the B and B is based, with the self catering bits being separate, so we found the house and in fact the whole site, very quiet.
We received a warm welcome from Andrew and were thrilled with the room,probably the biggest B&B room I've ever stayed in, with a huge bathroom and sumptuous bed.
Breakfast was really good quality- we had the full English every time but we were offered any choice of cooked options.
The house has a stunning setting, with views of open countryside and lots of lovely walks through the fields towards Whitsand or Cawsand. There are steep paths and roads, however, so be warned!
The big plus for me was the pool, which we had to ourselves and was very private, a great place to spend a rainy afternoon!
I think the only drawback for us was the narrow (even by Cornish standards!) road that leads to the house. Not only narrow and steep but it has grass growing up the middle- this is obviously something that can't be changed, but for nervous drivers it could be a challenge. The local taxis were also quite pricey- so if you want a drink in any of the five village pubs then you have to be prepared for a demanding walk.
I think the facilities here are great for families- it is the sort of place I would have brought my kids to when they were younger. If we go again we may well take the grandkids with us!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylooSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cawsand
0.9 mi away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
4.7 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rame Barton
Rame Barton
#1 of 1 in Rame
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.1 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Devon & Cornwall
The Devon & Cornwall
#3 of 4 in Millbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wringford Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wringford Down

Property: Wringford Down
Address: Hat Lane, Cawsand PL10 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cawsand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cawsand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wringford Down 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wringford Down is a small B&B with just 5 rooms, but has a heated indoor pool & lots of public space. Wringford is set in 4 acres on the South coast of Cornwall just outside the lovely villages of Kingsand & Cawsand. It is an area of outstanding natural beauty that doesn't get overcrowded. the beach is just a 10 minute walk along a public footpath. Wringford also has several self-catering cottages on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wringford Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wringford Down Cawsand, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing