We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oysterfleet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Have stayed in this hotel many times its always been a really good experience. friendly staff lovely breakfast. This time the room smelt of old cigarettes, holes punched in the bathroom door and walls. The dressing table of the Formica peeling of the doors. The breakfast experience was awful.
no where to sit. Found a table for 2 even though there was three of us. I asked if we could move to the round table told it wasn't set for breakfast. Even though the small table we were sitting on wasn't either. Just felt there should have been one more member of staff on knowing how busy they were going to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel needs upgrading with decor, bathroom etc, bed not comfortable, I did not enjoy the stay.

The restaurant staff were very good and food was very good too.

If you are only eating then you will enjoy the food the hotel no.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilacole1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Where do I begin, room on entry smelt of smoke, toilet broken and not very clean. The bed had seen its day. For the business user there is no free WIFI. Breakfast is not ready at the advertised time, never again, then they offered 10% off my next stay like rubbing salt in the wound.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I had my mothers funeral afterwards in the oyster fleet ...I couldn't wish for a better environment ....the whole
Occasion was made so nice for us .
The staff were brilliant and special thanks to kitchen and bar staff .......especially the bar manager
Thank you so much for making a sad day so special for us

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank MALNWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Have stayed here a few times on business trips, its a nice clean and friendly hotel. Good food in the bar and restaurant, excellent menu to choose from. only 2 negatives... The room I stayed in the TV was very small and was a struggle to see, the other is that the decor could do with an up date. On the plus side.................... comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Yes I would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWB8466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Well the title says it all really.
We stayed here for the first time last week and to be honest was expecting a standard pub hotel room, and for £53 for the double room was prepared for compromises. But in fact the whole operation is well run, the room was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Some noise from the road was only a problem because it was a very hot night and we had the windows wide open.
Excellent value, convenient and will certainly use again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We got married at this hotel, both the ceremony and the reception. We had the most wonderful day. We stayed in the Bridal Suite and many of our guests had rooms. The rooms are lovely and clean and some rooms have lovely views across the lake. The staff are friendly and helpful. None of our guests had a bad word to say about this hotel and one said he couldn;t fault it. Breakfast was delicious, cereal, juice, tea, coffee, toast and a full englsh. When I've sadly read some of the not so good reviews I can't help but wonder what in the hell people expect. This hotel is clean, friendly, good location, good food, lovely rooms. Try it for yourself and don't listen to those who probably moan about most things in life!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children, ask for a room away from the function suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
53 reviews
4.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
659 reviews
6.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,267 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
812 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oysterfleet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oysterfleet hotel is a family run hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. The hotel has 40 rooms that are all en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV's and hairdryers. A wide range of accommodation is available including single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, family rooms, interconnecting rooms and our suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. Access to the internet is BT Open Zone and charges will be applied. We have both a pub that serves bar meals every day and an a'la carte restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oysterfleet Hotel Canvey Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing