We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms poor reception staff...must learn customer relations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oysterfleet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at hotel on 3 previous occasions first time was no problems second time fire alarm kept going off all night was told it was a guest from the wedding being held there....Had no sleep and my daughter had a 12 hour day dancing with no sleep....Not offered a refund even though I complained and asked for one....the 3rd occasion lovely room again must say cant fault the rooms but the staff were rude and could never be found...reception constantly unattended and decided to eat in restaurant this time....Big mistake meal took 2 1/2 hours from start to finish....waited 50 mins for starter and when main meal came out chicken not cooked and had to go back......Am coming back again this year for the 4th year but will only be staying in room will not be eating in restaurant which is a shame ......would also like to make the owner aware that when a customer rings to book a room it would be great to not have a answer phone reply to a call and when I did finally get to talk to a receptionist I was told she would have to take my name and number and get back to me within the hour as she didn't have time to take booking....waited 2 days for a phone call back which never came....I rung back and booked 2 days later.....The only reason I return is the rooms are fabulous.....The hotel is clean and tidy....Bar staff are great....It is 5 min walk to where my daughter .......Need to improve customer service as there should always be someone on reception to take a booking and sort out any problems......

Room Tip: Book the outside rooms as the main hotel is noisey of a weekend with the function room being in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amber2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

The people at the oyster fleet hotel are extremely welcoming and polite, room is basic but you have everything you need in there so thats really good too, the lady who served our breakfast(Valerie) was really accommodating and made sure we were okay. Also the breakfast room is bright with a fantastic view of the river and wildlife. The price is good for what you get really although it would be nice if the breakfast cost was in with the price. Overall i couldn't ask for a more calm welcoming location to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhys-connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have stayed at the Oysterfleet hotel once and am an attendant to their bar throughout the summer, as you can sit out onto the Lake with your beverage and enjoy the sun.

Its a lovely location situated on the lake.

I stayed here with my partner one February for the Valentines special and the meal was okay but not really to our taste.

I feel the bedrooms could be better, but for a stay its a nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Booked for Xmas day lunch. We were seated in the function room with plenty of room between the tables. The food was very good value and quality.Thank you to all the staff who worked very hard and gave excellent service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Brengorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed just the 1 night the room tea and coffee was provided , the bed was clean and comfortable however it was really in need of some updating , there was broken tiles in bathroom and the decor/ carpets were very dated .Also there was a very strong smell of stale tobacco in room and hallways , have stayed in nicer travelodge rooms for half the price !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 843lorraineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed one night, room was big clean and basic, tea and coffee and toiletries provided, bed had no valance and appeared to be broken also no quilt cover, which made it look a bit tacky. Dinner in the restaurant was very good its a nice room and the staff were 1st class, my fillet steak was perfect as was the rest of the meal all at a very good price.There was only one veggie option for dinner which is poor. breakfast well I have had better. Overall good value for money £53 per room £6.95 for full English breakfast. Would I stay again Yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Seven of us visited The Oysterfleet Restaurant one Wednesday for lunch the inside surroundings were good and the girls in the kitchen who waited on worked none stop and kept everything ship shape. The wine by the glass from the bar was very good. I ordered a steak and kidney pie it was served with fresh vegetables and thick gravy and a large helping of pie first class and all the rest of the meals were of equal quality. This Restaurant is along side the Hotel of the same name and is well worth a visit if you are hungry and in the area just on the left past Barclays Bank. Car Parking as well.

Laurie and Linda Unstead from Tenerife Canary Islands

Room Tip: Revue of Restaurant Only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happylaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
6.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oysterfleet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Price Range: £48 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oysterfleet hotel is a family run hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. The hotel has 40 rooms that are all en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV's and hairdryers. A wide range of accommodation is available including single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, family rooms, interconnecting rooms and our suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. Access to the internet is BT Open Zone and charges will be applied. We have both a pub that serves bar meals every day and an a'la carte restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oysterfleet Hotel Canvey Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing