We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst B&B/Hotel”
Review of Endeavour Hotel

Endeavour Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Endeavour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst B&B/Hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked this "hotel/b&b" based on prevous reviews & ratings - what a shock we all had!! The entire place needs a real good clean and a revamp with horrible grease stained artexing everywhere - and the grease smell even penetrated the towels. Hours after we left i could still smell the place on my clothes and in my hair and on my skin. We laid in bed listening to airoplanes which sounded like they were just a few feet away - the quilts were like dog-blankets thin horrid fibre things, the pillows were disgusting - just peeling back the pillowcase made me urge - the mattresses are so thin you could feel the boards they are laid on. Absolutely one of my worst experiences EVER!!! I could go on and on but my main point is that as a frequent traveller who uses trip advisor's recommendations to make decisions on where to stay felt impelled to put the real facts about this disgusting place on line for all to see

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My elderly mum, two sisters and I stayed one night last week in this hell hole. It stinks of cigarettes and grease and the vile artex covering every wall and ceiling is dripping with grease and is yellow. The room doors have no handles or trims and there are cameras all over the place. Wipe your feet on the way out if you ever dare to stay in this dump. The towels smelled so bad my sisters were scared to shower and there were green nose pickings on the bedroom walls..the mattresses are 2 inches thick with one rock hard pillow and stained sheets.Please DONT believe any reviews that say this is good as we booked because of the good reviews and had the shock of our lives.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague.....unless you want to keep your pigeons here??
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canvey Island hotels

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Excellent value for money; hotel was actually more a converted large house in a very residential street, so somewhat out of place there. Not obvious where it is at first glance, but the sat nav (TomTom) brought you straight to the door with the house number punched in (196). There is parking in the fairly narrow street, but surprisingly there is a large car park at the back of the property - accessed through a very narrow passageway. Quite easy on the way in, more of a challenge on the way out!

Good welcome when I arrived; room was upgraded for me and well equipped - free wifi, excellent flat screen TV with sleep/wake /off time functions. Heat was on (a bit too much, actually) but easily turned down. Bathroom with the basics and a good selections of towels. Plenty of tea/coffee sachets, too. Excellent and speedy breakfast - I had a very early appointment. Certainly to be recommended, and far better than many other places I have stayed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Excellent value for money, clean and comfortable.
The hosts John and Julie were incredibly friendly and helpful.
A gorgeous breakfast in the morning.
We were pleasantly surprised by the large carpark to the rear, though it was a bit nervewracking getting there through the narrow driveway!
Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash Vale
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Came to see Dr Feelgood in their ancestral home in Canvey Island for the LB Memorial gig. Very handily located for that - about 10 mins walk away from the Oysterfleet. Very friendly owners who were very welcoming. The room was very clean and breakfast was very good too. The room was fairly small and basic, but perfectly OK. Given the very reasonable price, I think that this hotel is excellent value. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Well not very good at all! I know the price is cheap but it really is like stopping in the 60s! Im really not a fussy person but this hotel is dreadful and will defo be stopping in a travel lodge up the road next time! If you like blue tiled walls and floors you will love it here....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kozo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Thank You for a lovely stay at your hotel, I stayed there for 3 nights with my Boyfriend and felt really looked after for a B&B. We received clean towels every day, a tasty breakfast each morning with Vegetarian sausages available and a really spacious room upgrade at no extra cost. The town was only 10 minute walk away and the hotel has free parking at the back although the drive way up to it was very narrow even for my KA. The owner was also a QPR supporter which won them brownie points with me :o) I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.
Sarah and Glen

Room Tip: Room 14 was the biggest and nicest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzybee_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
182 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
287 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
762 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
276 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endeavour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endeavour Hotel

Property: Endeavour Hotel
Address: 196 Thisselt Road, SS8 9BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Endeavour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Endeavour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endeavour Hotel Canvey Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing