We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Endeavour Hotel

Endeavour Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Endeavour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Basic, honest, good value B&B with excellent breakfast. Decor a little dated and tired, but a warm friendly welcome from the owners. Beware of the very narrow driveway to the rear car park, so narrow that I had to fold the mirrors in on a Volvo, otherwise you will become a Chips Away customer!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul11553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was my first trip to canvey and the last, after a very long journey from the south west, we arrived at this b&b. it smelt terrible! it was dark and dingy, the walls were yellow. there were cameras everywhere. i think this would be an invasion of privacy!!!!.The whole place needs extensive refurbishment. I was afraid to get into bed, as there were black specks of something on the sheets! book at your own risk.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LindaT523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked this "hotel/b&b" based on prevous reviews & ratings - what a shock we all had!! The entire place needs a real good clean and a revamp with horrible grease stained artexing everywhere - and the grease smell even penetrated the towels. Hours after we left i could still smell the place on my clothes and in my hair and on my skin. We laid in bed listening to airoplanes which sounded like they were just a few feet away - the quilts were like dog-blankets thin horrid fibre things, the pillows were disgusting - just peeling back the pillowcase made me urge - the mattresses are so thin you could feel the boards they are laid on. Absolutely one of my worst experiences EVER!!! I could go on and on but my main point is that as a frequent traveller who uses trip advisor's recommendations to make decisions on where to stay felt impelled to put the real facts about this disgusting place on line for all to see

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My elderly mum, two sisters and I stayed one night last week in this hell hole. It stinks of cigarettes and grease and the vile artex covering every wall and ceiling is dripping with grease and is yellow. The room doors have no handles or trims and there are cameras all over the place. Wipe your feet on the way out if you ever dare to stay in this dump. The towels smelled so bad my sisters were scared to shower and there were green nose pickings on the bedroom walls..the mattresses are 2 inches thick with one rock hard pillow and stained sheets.Please DONT believe any reviews that say this is good as we booked because of the good reviews and had the shock of our lives.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague.....unless you want to keep your pigeons here??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Excellent value for money; hotel was actually more a converted large house in a very residential street, so somewhat out of place there. Not obvious where it is at first glance, but the sat nav (TomTom) brought you straight to the door with the house number punched in (196). There is parking in the fairly narrow street, but surprisingly there is a large car park at the back of the property - accessed through a very narrow passageway. Quite easy on the way in, more of a challenge on the way out!

Good welcome when I arrived; room was upgraded for me and well equipped - free wifi, excellent flat screen TV with sleep/wake /off time functions. Heat was on (a bit too much, actually) but easily turned down. Bathroom with the basics and a good selections of towels. Plenty of tea/coffee sachets, too. Excellent and speedy breakfast - I had a very early appointment. Certainly to be recommended, and far better than many other places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Excellent value for money, clean and comfortable.
The hosts John and Julie were incredibly friendly and helpful.
A gorgeous breakfast in the morning.
We were pleasantly surprised by the large carpark to the rear, though it was a bit nervewracking getting there through the narrow driveway!
Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Came to see Dr Feelgood in their ancestral home in Canvey Island for the LB Memorial gig. Very handily located for that - about 10 mins walk away from the Oysterfleet. Very friendly owners who were very welcoming. The room was very clean and breakfast was very good too. The room was fairly small and basic, but perfectly OK. Given the very reasonable price, I think that this hotel is excellent value. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
200 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
659 reviews
4.5 mi away
Southend Guest House
Southend Guest House
#4 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endeavour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endeavour Hotel

Address: 196 Thisselt Road, SS8 9BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Endeavour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Endeavour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endeavour Hotel Canvey Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing