We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
26
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A week spent in this beautiful setting was a real privilege. We stayed in Hemstalls, which has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It is modern, clean and very comfortable. We were welcomed by the Ian and found the cottage elegantly prepared and lovely edible goodies for us to enjoy. Plenty of hot water, a laundry and drying room, fully equipped kitchen and lots of clean matching crockery and cutlery.

We particularly enjoyed the breathtaking view of the tidal Severn River as it takes a big loop through the landscape, the old orchards filled with apples and plums, and the pretty garden in front of the cottage.

The night sky was fully visible on the clear nights because the cottages are so far from street lighting.

Our puppy loved running around the fenced orchard immediately in front of the cottage.

You do need a car to get out and about because the track to the housing is quite long and across a large field of grazing cattle. However, there are footpaths from the cottage along the river and across the other fields. These footpaths all had stiles although we could not negotiate them with the puppy so we went to the Forest of Dean for all our walks.

The Forest of Dean was magical and we walked along well marked tracks only meeting the occasional walkers, dogs, deer and wild boar. We also spent a day on the Dean Forest Railway which was really brilliant and bought delicious cider from the Severn Cider brewery very close to the cottage.

Don't take any work with you because the wi-fi is not fast and mobile coverage is intermittent - anyway there are much better things to do than work!

We would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castor042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We gave Ian and Tricia less than 24 hours notice but they kindly put themselves out to accommodate us for a last minute trip. This is the first time we have stayed here at Hamstalls but if we come back to this area then we would definitely stay here again.

Nothing was too much trouble and they providd an array of the most amazing welcoming gifts. We have never come across a nicer couple and our Springer Spaniel Charlie had an amazing time.
The cottage is lovely, clean and provides everything you could need. The area and the views are wonderful and you are only 10minutes from the beautiful Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinandsandra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Hoolet the cottage for two,at the weekend for a four night short break.We had our lurcher Sonnie with us,as we booked the cottage after seeing it in a dog friendly guide.The welcome pack was lovely and the cottage was clean and comfortable but that has been said by others.
My husband took Sonnie for a walk on the lead on Friday morning and the owners three Labradors came running over and attacked our dog.My husband had to fend them off until they were called back.Our dog was left with a bleeding nose and leg and it was very frightening.Ian Cowan came over to the cottage afterwards ,but the damage had been done.Sonnie was bruised and subdued for the rest of the break.
Another problem was that the track to the cottage was through a field with a herd of cows.We walked through one afternoon to get to the road and the cows all ran up to us making lots of noise and surrounding us,another rather frightening experience.
The cottage is lovely,but we would never go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We've stayed at the Hoolet twice and are planning to return. Hoolet is the smaller of two self catering holiday cottages tucked away by the Severn estuary. At the end of a dirt road through some fields, the location is peaceful and idyllic. From there you can go for lovely walks along the river or take the car and explore the Forest of Dean and the Wye valley - there are innumerable beautiful walks and sights nearby.
The cottage itself is charming, clean and well equipped. There are laundry facilities at the back of the building. The bed is huge and very comfortable. The wood burning stove adds to the homely feel of the place and the goodies (bread, jam, eggs) provided by Ian and Tricia on arrival are a lovely touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airstream77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just back from a lovely week in Priory Cottage Awre. Clean and tidy, peaceful and a stones throw from the River Severn. Saw the 'Severn Bore' pass by last Saturday evening at 9pm. Awre inspiring - forgive the pun! Highly recommend the one bedroom cottage (note the divan put-you- up in the living room should you wish to sleep alone!).
Excellent walking country in secluded location very much 'off the beaten track'.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUMINET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews