We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise surprise...”
Review of Khan's Tandoori

Khan's Tandoori
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Newnham
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Khan's Tandoori Indian Takeaway and Restaurant is located above the Railway Inn in Newnham-On-Severn. The restaurant has gained a reputation for serving the highest class Indian cuisine in the local area. The opening hours are Sunday - Thursday 5-11pm, and Friday & Saturday 5pm-12am. Home delivery is available, which is free on orders over £18.00 within a 4 mile radius, otherwise a small charge may apply. We hope to see you soon.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Yeah ok i was desperate for food as Newnham generally had let me down. Having discovered this place above a pub i was pleasantly surprised. Not a place to dress up for but the food was good and the manager very chatty. Indian noodles is not a regular for me but they were quite delicious, and the rest of the meal followed suit including the keema and cheese nan, nuclear hot despite being cut into four. You bring your lager up from downstairs and all was well. Just a lick of paint needed and...Hello!!! some advertising and the world could be your oyster. Give this place a chance if you fancy a slightly different curry experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Manager at Khan's Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Thanks for the feedback! It's great to hear that your experience with us was a positive one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Khan's Tandoori
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This little curry house above the railway pub is no shadow of a doubt the best curry house locally. If you like your cider and a curry this is the place for you! The pub has a wide variety of cyder and when your done quenching your thirst pop up for a curry! Very tasty food good value for money and the satff are very helpful!!!!!! I come here on a regular basis and the food is consistent!

1  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Manager at Khan's Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Thanks for the feedback! It's great to know that you enjoy coming to our restaurant on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It's a bit of a strange one really, Khan's Tandoori is above the Railway Inn in Newnham. The Railway Inn specialises in a splendid range of ciders and Khan's specialises in splendid curries; you wouldn't normally expect there to be a symbiosis between the two but there is. Admittedly the restaurant isn't often full but that should not detract from the excellence of the food, especially when you pay pub prices for your cider/lager; just remember to get your booze from downstairs.

Mr Khan is a delightful gentleman, he always has a ready smile and is eager to please his customers. As I live locally we always have a delivery which is very convenient as the restaurant does a most excellent Lamb Naga, my favourite curry. I can heartily recommend Khan's Tandoori.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Manager at Khan's Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Thanks for the feedback Peter. It's great to know that you are happy with our food & service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently visited on a Sunday for "all you can eat buffet"
The menu for all you can eat was vague, we had not been before So had no idea we had to get a drink from downstairs and had to ask about 20mins after arriving, we said we would like the all you can eat, the guy said only the traditional currys were included and the only starter in the deal was onion bahji bit of. A poor choice!
Me and my husband particularly like a certain starter so we asked if we could have that and pay a bit extra! The man said fine!
We ordered our food, the guy was just sat there on his mobile phone an empty restaurant with just us in, didn't think it was very professional, my husband wanted an extra topping on his nann which was also charged extra for!
Any way the food ordered was plentiful and tasty! It's not really all you can eat as you only order one thing and it comes as a lot, so wouldn't need anything else defeats the object really as I was hoping to try small bits of a few things and your not asked if you would like anything else
The food however was nicely presented and lovely! And hot!
Got to paying the bill and was charged full price extra for the starter and nann! So really no all you can eat for a certain price as you could buy a traditional curry rice and onion bahji for about £10
I would probably have a takeaway but never sit down again the atmosphere was very dry, the guy just sat there on his mobile phone, but the food is nice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Teshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Manager at Khan's Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Thanks for the feedback. We're sorry that you had a few issues. We're taking steps to improve the restaurant experience, and will try to avoid any confusion over the 'eat all you like' buffet in the future. We aim to have a good, varied selection of dishes to choose from as part of the deal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This wonderful little restaurant has friendly staff, the prices are good and the food is great. The options on the specials menu are fantastic, and it's hard not to find something you love. Captain Pathila and the Chicken Galina being my favourites.

This is a great place to visit as you're easily able to grab a drink from the pub downstairs then move upstairs to eat - I've had several parties here and they've all been good fun, with the waiters being very accommodating and a good laugh.

Don't be put off by the sometimes quiet dining area, this Indian would have plenty of atmosphere if a few more people stayed around and enjoyed the great service - I feel that's the only thing that's missing, but could be easily changed if a few more locals grabbed a seat rather than their phones.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AMR1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Manager at Khan's Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Thanks for the feedback! It's great to know that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khan's Tandoori also viewed

Newnham, Gloucestershire
Newnham, Gloucestershire
 
Arlingham, Cotswolds
Westbury on Severn, Forest of Dean
 
Westbury on Severn, Forest of Dean
Blakeney, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Khan's Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing