We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food as always, large portions, music a bit loud.”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Newnham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The White Hart, Broadoak is set in the rural country side surrounded by many beautiful land marks such as Little Dean Jail, Gloucester cathedral and the River Servern. Close by are also popular tourist towns Gloucester and Cheptow. The Whitehart, Broadoak offers something for everyone. The landlady Helen and her staff team at the White Hart, Broadoak, would like to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere to everyone in this family run bar and restaurant. The Whitehart itself consists of an open plan bar area, cosy restaurant, inviting conservatory, A beer garden which looks out over the river Severn.
Glos
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food as always, large portions, music a bit loud.”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We regularly come here, great in the summer to sit out by the river. However when we sat inside this time the young staff seemed to be a bit too laid back, and the music was too modern and too loud. We gathered that the manageress was not in so they were taking a few liberties perhaps. Shame as really music in this type of pub should be easy listening and low enough so you can talk over it.

However food was good, portions large and always freshly made, no frozen microwaved stuff here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winters_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    67
    33
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have been several times over the last two years for Sunday lunch and the meal is always very good here. Visited again today(Sunday) - Roast beef very tender, yorkshire puddings and a wide variety of fresh (not frozen) vegetables, with delicious gravy. For the price £7.50 - excellant

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Location, Great Prices”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Visited here as my Mum was staying with us for the weekend. We live a couple of miles away in the Forest of Dean. Lovely location by the river, would be even nicer in the summer. Friendly and helpful staff, great prices and quick service. The food was fantastic, good size portions and all home made. You could tell all the food was freshly made and cooked, the chips melted in our mouths!
This pub should be much busier than it is!! We plan to go back and would like to try the carvery. Sounds like good value and very tasty.
This is a must visit if you are visiting this area. Yes the interior is a bit out dated, but it has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Pub grub with nice staff”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a really welcoming pub. My wife and I visited here a few times whist staying in the nearby village of Awre. We walked with our dog and asked if it was ok to bring him into the bar. This was not a problem for the staff and they made us feel welcome and really made a fuss of the dog. They even brought down their own puppy from upstairs.

We had food on one of our visits and found it to be excellent value pub grub with no obvious faults. Our only small complaint was when it was nice weather we sat outside and got harassed non stop by wasps. I know this is not always the pubs fault but there was obviously a nest nearby that should be dealt with if they want to utilise the beer garden which has stunning views of the river Severn.

Would gladly return thanks to the staff and overall hospitality

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony_mc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Keep driving........”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The White Hart is a quaint country pub situated on the banks of the river Severn. On a sunny day there is no nicer place to stop for refreshments.......

My wife and I visited the White Hart about four years ago after diving at the NDC Chepstow. We were in company with a fellow diver and decided to break up our trip back to Cheshire. The meal then was very nice, served by friendly staff and washed down with some local ale. There is lots of wood and definitely a nautical theme running through the pub. As it was so good we decided to revisit, the four year gap was due to illness and no other reason.

Sunday 8th September 2013, again after diving at the NDC Chepstow it was just my wife and I. Again, the pub was quaint, friendly staff and the sun was shining. Unfortunately that was as good as it got. Hazel had Penne pasta that was swimming in cold olive oil. She didn't enjoy it and left at least half of it. I had lasagne with chips and garlic bread. Chips were nice, garlic bread was missing something, possibly garlic.... The lasagne was dry and coated in cheap industrial cheese that was also dry and had no taste. These meals were definitely straight from the freezer and pinged in the microwave. We asked for a pot of tea for two which was served with two small cups and failed to fill each cup twice. Why, are costs so tight......

As a result of this trip we have vowed never to return, that is something we have never done to any establishment but the change in food quality is too great. Next time we are at the NDC we will keep on driving............

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve8742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
Westbury on Severn, Forest of Dean
 

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing