We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Italian experience ever.”
Review of Il Caffe Roma

Il Caffe Roma
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Italian experience ever.”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Called for a coffee with my partner last week. The owner was very rude when I ordered two coffees, he said we should order food which we did not want. The chef looked like he needed a good wash. Glad I didn't order food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 123455555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This café/restaurant is a little bit of Italy in Ashton.
A small café with a personal touch.
Excellent food cooked to order, nothing is too much trouble.
5 star food and hospitality at small café prices. Fantastic value.
Our favourite place to eat, any other Italian restaurant we’ve been to doesn’t hold a candle to Il Cafe Roma..
Their homemade garlic bread is mouth-watering the best I’ve ever tasted. Sunday lunches beautifully prepared and presented. An extensive menu, spoilt for choice.
First class. Highly recommend that you try it. Guarantee you will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Really Good Lunch”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

It was Good Friday we both fancied lunch and I'd been in for coffee once or twice in the past. The specials on the blackboard looked worth trying so we went in.
The place is small, the portions the right size for lunch, the food tastes good and the cooking is light so you don't feel as if you can't move for the rest of the day and the service and welcome very friendly. Definitely somewhere I'll go back to again and again. One other thing it's not licensed but you can take your own wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kossoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Il Cafe Roma is by far, the best place to eat in Tameside. The service is fantastic- the staff aim to please and exceed! Sacha would bend over backwards for you- no ask is too much. The food is fantastic, better than any over priced italian restaurant in town. Everything is made to perfection and is fresh. The hard work that has been put in is paying off as this little gem gets better and better. Give it a go, you won't regret it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“True Italian Home Cooking”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

A truly warm welcome awaits you at this cafe. We eat here regularly. It's only very small but feels like a corner of Italy. The food is freshly prepared, you can talk to the chef/owner and he can change the dishes as you want them. As well as the usual pizza and pasta there are some interesting specials such as slow cooked lamb, beef and fish dishes accompanied by potatoes, veg and fresh baked bread. The main courses average £4-£6 . The cappucino's are excellent too. I am almost loathe to share this gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Caffe Roma also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Il Caffe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing