We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place with atmosphere”
Review of The Broadoak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broadoak Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Friendly place with atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were made very welcome and the staff were all very friendly - this is a family run establishment that has been going for many years so that speaks volumes. It's a lively pub-cum-hotel so inevitably there will be some noise from the bar at weekends but it's not of the rowdy kind and as a resident you can drink till very late yourself. The surrounding area was fairly quiet so once the bar closes you can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep. The décor and furnishings are good and although the breakfast buffet itself isn't vast, they are flexible and willing enough to rustle up alternatives (I have an intolerance to cereals so they did me a fruit salad for example). Breakfast is freshly cooked so no dried out bacon (would ask for runny eggs though as mine were a bit over-cooked by my standards). I would have given it a rating of 5 but the bathroom even though we had a superior / executive room was a bit on the small side (you can't brush your teeth while someone is drying themselves off as there simply isn't room) but a very good place nevertheless to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    54
    9
    9
    12
See reviews for
45
57
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the quieter area of Ashton. The staff were pleasant,friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the pillows were too. A good English breakfast was served. In the bar a prosecco type bubbly was served which was flat. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberbargoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only for a stop over whilst traveling so didn't get to experience much but the rooms were clean and nice. Only flaw I would say is the place is on a roundabout so there was quite a bit of traffic noise. That was the only let down

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I chose this place over the chain hotel that the work travel agents had found for me in Aston-under-Lyne. It was cheaper, in a much nicer location and generally a more pleasant experience than any chain hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff were quick to respond to my queries on email about transport from the airport and so on.
As a single female, I felt equally comfortable diniing in the bar of the pub as in the restaurant, and found the atmosphere friendly and cosy all round.
The room was large (by European and Australian standards), and the bathroom very well appointed. In fact, everything was so well-finished and functionally sound that I was reminded of the high quality hotels in regional Germany. As a vegetarian/vegan I suffered somewhat at mealtimes, but I won't be too critical of that, because it's clearly not that sort of place. With a fairly small capacity, I don't expect the kitchen to cover every dietary requirement that walks through the door. Full breakfast was the ubiquitous traditional English (fried meat and eggs), so I settled for the continental, which was similarly typical of English hotels, being square toast and commercial cereal.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much, and appreciated the warm and welcoming staff. I also found the nearby rail trail an excellent place for a run, or walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heygeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My husband's mother's family came to American from the Ashton Under Lyne, Oldham, Rochdale and Bury area. My husband wanted to research his mother's family in this area. The Broadoak is in a quiet suburb of Aston Under Lyne. The early bird special suppers were very reasonable and delicious. The bathroom was modern and very clean. We also were pleased with the free parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Attended with friends on a very busy evening. Friends have attended often and so expected it to be an excellent night. the food was very good with plenty of choice, check your wine as our white wine was not a full bottle. it was changed with apologies, nevertheless would not have expected this to happen.

there were several groups dining and we were in the separate room usually at an extra cost, but we were not charged for the room.

will attend again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I haven't really been back to Ashton for about twenty years, having previously lived in the area for about the same length of time.
The town's changed a lot and because of the altered road layout in the centre of town, I struggled to find the Broadoak.
But I'm glad I did. I was attending a reunion at the Rugby Club which is just round the corner and needed somewhere to stay for the night.
It's not the best part of town and although the website looked fine I was slightly skeptical about how good the accommodation would be.
I shouldn't have been. It was first class. I was welcomed to the hotel by a very polite gentlemen who said that my room didn't have a bath but he would be happy to swap rooms for me if I wished. It was a nice touch, but not I was happy to have a shower.
Many of the hotels I stay in for work purposes are tired and lack the feeling that anyone really 'cares'. Nothing could be further from the truth here.
From the way the bathroom has been laid out to the quality and quantity of items on the hot-drink tray this was clearly a place where people 'cared,
The rooms are decorated to a very high standard and more importantly have been well maintained.
This morning, breakfast which is taken in the elegant dining-room was beautifully cooked.
this place really is a hidden gem and well worth visiting if you're in the area. I'll certainly stay there again

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bath, ask. The management are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashton-under-Lyne
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,575 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadoak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadoak Hotel

Property: The Broadoak Hotel
Address: 69 Broadoak Road, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Broadoak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadoak Hotel is located minutes from Ashton-under-Lyne town centre, close to the M60 motorway, and convenient for Manchester City Centre, Airport, football grounds & Peak District National Park. Offers individually decorated rooms to a national Four Star standard, all ensuite, with free WIFI, flatsreen TV, room service, & full breakfast. Award winning restaurant, bar, function rooms & conference facilities. Car park. Family owned with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Broadoak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadoak Hotel Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing