We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Dazzle but no substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All Dazzle but no substance”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is quite nicely crafted with very modern boutique decor. But it just misses service and some soul. The only staff that can be seen are the two ladies at the reception. In a nutshell the hotel is trying to be Malmaison but behaves like Travelodge.

For the amount being charged, I would expect a selection of toiletries, bathrobes and bath slippers; but none were to be found. Also its quite odd not to have wardrobes in the room.You are meant to leave your bags on top of dressing table like bag counter. Not to mention the room feels very dark and small, even during day time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    580
    294
    146
    86
See reviews for
285
647
66
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I would not bother; it's s chain, it's microwaved food, it's overpriced and the cocktails aren't freshly made. I've been to a couple of Village restaurants (Chester and Ashton-under-lyne) now and the service is never great - always quite slow.

Helpful?
Thank troketia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I've had several trips on business to Stockport of late and stayed at the Village Hotel in Ashton under Lyne on 3 separate occasions, for a total of 8 nights. It's easy to find if you either know the area or have a satnav. The rooms are generally large and clean. I had a poor night's sleep the first time I stayed but that was down to other guests slamming their bedroom doors at 2am rather than anything to do with the hotel. It's competitively priced and far, far better than say a Travel Lodge. Wi-fi is free. My only complaint are the evening meals provided in the pub in the hotel. The beer - Boddingtons - was fine but the food was poor and you generally had a long wait for it. The staff are friendly and helpful but with better food this could be a really good place to stay.

Room Tip: The basement rooms seem to be larger and quieter and do have windows - so not really basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForestPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Visited restaurant 4.8.13, what can I say? There was a large group of us celebrating my nephews 16th birthday, what a let down, firstly the soup was bland, (potatoe & leek) then we waited 10 minutes for the man to carve the meats, (which I asked the manager where he was?) then came a man came out, who said he worked in the kitchen and he was helping out! What? In the mean time 2 of our party got fed up of waiting and just had sausage & flan, the pork was awful really fatty, the mashed potatoes awful. I won't be visiting again in a hurry!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daviesbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked a one night stay at the last minute and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms although couldn't help noticing that storage (e.g hanging space) was minimal so definitely more geared up for business users. Staff were very friendly and efficient and even though there were problems with the Televisions on that particular night the manner in which this was handled by reception is a credit to them. Breakfast was enjoyable, can't comment on the leisure facilities as didn't have the opportunity to make use of them but as I will be making regular trips to Manchester perhaps I will do in future....only gripe, think I left my mobile phone charger, yeah my fault but !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuTam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

OK as always for an overnight on business.
Staff helpful and efficient.
Comfortable room with good air conditioning although the room phone wasn't working and the sink was blocked but hey!
Handy for IKEA.

Room Tip: Should find most rooms acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and staff, best breakfast in a uk hotel u can find. Good room and pool too. Free paper and good lounge area, free wifi all hotel. Good location for east and central Manchester just down the road. Pub in hotel was ok,food served quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelaandjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashton-under-Lyne
1.8 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
8.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Ashton

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Address: Village Hotel Pamir Drive, Ashton-under-Lyne OL7 0LY, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Ashton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton is located to the east of Manchester City Centre, close to the city of Manchester Stadium and Sports City complexes and just 8 miles from Manchester Airport. The hotel is within easy reach to Cineworld, Hollywood Bowl and Ikea. Village Hotel Manchester Ashton has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding License and free WI-FI throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Ashton Moss Under Lyne
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing