We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boxing Day meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Boxing Day meal”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have had meals at this restaurant before, but never for boxing day. this was a buffet style starter( this was acceptable wit a variety of food on offer ,ran out of buns for the soup and dinner was served as a roast dinner( turkey, Ham and Beef),the Ham very fatty and the beef tough and chewy, the turkey was fine and with all the trimmings The food was average and the service was quick and too rushed. The servers did not have a good knowledge of the food on offer, they also were running out of foods at the busiest times. People were waiting in the queue for the roast dinner and no pigs in blankets and no Yorkshire puddings, the sprouts were like bullets and some of the veg was burnt. The sweet section was acceptable with a variety of desserts on offer. When you pay above average for the meal you expect a more polished service ,disappointed and would not use again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    594
    302
    149
    88
See reviews for
299
671
68
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for one night when in the area. Very clean tidy hotel. We purchased a Groupon voucher for a package which included hotel stay and meal with entertainment. We were not expecting the meal to be that special since it was mass produced, but we were very pleasantly surprised with the choice and the quality of the food. Breakfast was of a very high quality. Only negative point was the price of drinks in the bars. However, would recommend and will use again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulturner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Turns out that night they had a function on with uber loud music filling every square inch of the hotel until 1am. Any proper hotel would have phoned us up beforehand to warn us, give us the chance to cancel etc, or at the very least have told us when we checked in. Very very poor.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O, Public Relations Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Ashton, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us at the Village Hotel Ashton. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

I am sorry you felt your visit to us wasn’t up to 100% satisfaction I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments and they are being followed up by each department manager.

The De Vere Group is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organisation, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

As a gesture of good will I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade on your next stay here with us (sibject to availability)

If I can be of any further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact me on the details below.

Kind Regards


Emily O'Hara
emily.ohara@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for one night attending a function at the hotel - the function itself was good, and the room was comfortable and spacious - no complaints there. The only problem was the gym and pool/spa. Several items of equipment were out of order, and there was a queue for popular machines. We gave up and went for a swim, but the sauna was out of action (with a sign saying it would be closed for at least a week), and on the night we visited the jacuzzi was also out of order, the steam room was tepid and the pool water was so cold we couldn't bear to use the bubble pool - did a few laps then had to leave. Talking to regular members they told us that these problems were common because the leisure club didn't have any local competition. It was a disappointment, as we'd paid more for this hotel because of the gym/spa facilities.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PopcornB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Ashton, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us at the Village Hotel Ashton. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

I am sorry you felt your visit to us wasn’t up to 100% satisfaction I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments and they are being followed up by each department manager.

The De Vere Group is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organisation, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

As a gesture of good will I would like to offer you x2 full day leisure passes so that you can experience our facilities properly.

If I can be of any further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact me on the details below.

Kind Regards

Emily O'Hara
emily.ohara@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This Village hotel in Ashton under Lyne is similar yo many other Village hotels, but in my experience has better service.
The facilities of the hotel are good, and the spa is great.
Having the Italian restaurant, and the pub, and the Starbucks mean all options are catered for.

Room Tip: Go for the upper deck for only £20 more !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Village redeemed themselves with our last stay here. We paid the extra for Upper deck and asked for a quiet room. They put us at the back away from the marquee and we only heard a couple of voices in the corridor during the night. The room was very comfortable, breakfast well prepared and staff friendly. We had a meal in the restaurant and the staff were very attentive, the meal excellent and we did not feel rushed. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Re the review below, we had a meeting with the restaurant manager, a few days later and the problem with the bill etc was sorted out professionally and with good grace. We were very pleased with the outcome.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashton-under-Lyne
1.8 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
8.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
1.3 mi away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Ashton

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Address: Village Hotel Pamir Drive, Ashton-under-Lyne OL7 0LY, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Ashton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton is located to the east of Manchester City Centre, close to the city of Manchester Stadium and Sports City complexes and just 8 miles from Manchester Airport. The hotel is within easy reach to Cineworld, Hollywood Bowl and Ikea. Village Hotel Manchester Ashton has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding License and free WI-FI throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Ashton Moss Under Lyne
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing