We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Sunday”
Review of The Potters Heron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Potters Heron
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We took advantage of their Lazy Sunday deal; Sunday Lunch, a night's stay and breakfast.

Check-in quick and friendly. Room was spacious and well appointed, though the bathroom was looking a little tired. Wired internet in the room with wireless in the communal areas.

The restaurant looks to have been refurbished recently. Food was well presented and tasty. Breakfast was buffet style with a cooked choice to order.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iskaymuyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    173
    94
    37
    24
See reviews for
98
165
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I went here to celebrate Mother's Day with my mum and family. Having been here before and having enjoyed my previous meal I thought this was a good choice. We ordered drinks from our waitress of which I received the wrong wine, but decide to let it slip and still enjoyed my glass. When it came to ordering food I asked my waiter I my 2 food choices were gluten free, the pork belly and the lemon butterfly chicken. He was uncertain so went to check and to write down other options for me. A different waitress came back to the table and offered the lemon chicken, I asked if that was all and she had no answer for me. I went with the lemon chicken that was to come with vegetables and potato. When my meal arrived it was chicken and vegetables with no potato. And with no other explanation of why there was no potato. It being Mother's Day I decided to not kick up a fuss like I normally would and let it pass as it still tasted good and was healthy. Throughout the evening the service was slow and all that could be heard from some staff members was giggling and messing around behaviour.
I come from a pub/ restaurant background myself. And knowing that we have many gluten free options and our staff fully describe everything that a gluten free person can and can not have, I was surprised and disappointed nothing else was said and no options were given!
I wouldn't recommend this establishment if you are gluten free, they don't seem to care as just see it as an annoyance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charly_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Actually our 3rd hotel for this particular evening! We were trying to stay in Winchester for the Xmas market & had 2 other bookings fall through. The Potters Heron was offered to us by the Winchester Royal who'd had a power cut.

Its about 8 miles from Winchester & as would be arriving after dinner we were slightly apprehensive about checking in late. We shouldn't have worried though as the reception staff couldn't have been friendlier. A wedding party was in full swing but we were given a room right at the back & couldn't hear a thing.

The hotel is an attractive thatched building at the front with a much larger & non matching extension to the rear. It has a rather corporate feel with more rooms than we're used to.

The room had slightly dated 80's decor, but was large, well appointed & comfortable. The bed was huge & we both slept like logs!

Breakfast was a buffet - which is never my favourite - but there was a good choice & the food was good - apart from the catering quality sausages! This isn't uncommon though & I never understand why!

A very undemanding & comfortable overnight stop. Would we go back? Yes definitely.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidneycarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Booked hotel for a week-end walking in New Forest, however, the weather had diffrent ideas but the Hotel was lovely, we had a superior room which was spacious, cosy, well decorated with a superking comfy bed. We had excellent meal in the evening where the staff very friendly and attentive. Breakfast a was fantastic full english which set us up for the day and was served up till 10.30am so could enjoy a long lay in. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all a lovely hotel, will definately go back when the weather settles and warms up a bit, could be waiting a while for that!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stekare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My partner and I are planning to have our wedding reception at the Potters Heron so we decided to have a dinner there after discussing our arrangements. The bar/restaurant area is lovely and cosy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was great. After reading some negative reviews we were dubious so I picked a burger - many places do gourmet burgers - hand made patty and usually over cooked and dry - not this time - it was juicy and tasty, The extra bacon was done crispy as I asked, the onion rings were light and fluffy. My partner's vegetarian dishes were lovely too.
Our only problem was after a starter and a main we couldn't fit pudding in!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I had a lunch with a group of friends. Very poor food and not cheap. Will not be eating there again. I asked the waiter to tell the chef about my poor meal but no-one came back to me about this. I at least expected an apology.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentwood45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCKFIELD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We booked this hotel for a 2 night New Year break and were delighted with the whole experience. The reception staff were polite and cheerful and gave us our key to room 51. Being habitual smokers, we were so pleased to find our room had a balcony where we could escape for a quick cigarette.The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom.
We really enjoyed our New Years eve dinner and danced to the disco until well past midnight. The buffet breakfast on New Years day was excellent,also. We were pleased to discover that the N.T property Mottisfont abbey was only a short distance away and we spent a very pleasant 4 hours there. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampfield
2.9 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
5.7 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potters Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Heron

Property: The Potters Heron
Address: Winchester Road | Ampfield-Romsey- Hampshire, Ampfield SO51 9ZF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Ampfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Heron 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Potters Heron Hotel nestled in the heart of Hampshire, near Winchester, Romsey and Eastleigh,and recognise it by its distinctive gabled thatched roof and traditional features. The hotel is located just 3 Miles from IBM HQ .Once inside guests can relax in one of our 53 comfortable bedrooms or enjoy the attractive surroundings of our contemporary refurbished bar restaurant over a delicious meal and chilled glass of wine. Within easy distance from major roads [M3 J12] The Potters Heron is an ideal venue for all occasions, be it business or pleasure.The Restaurant features informal lunch and dinner, with freshly cooked seasonal changing specialities, both regional and international. In the summer we have an "al fresco" sun terrace with wide umbrellas available. In the winter we have a cosy log fire to warm you up. Open 7 days a week from 9.30 Am til late, our large restaurant bar is stocked with international lagers, quality ciders and 3 Hampshire Ales on tap, a large wine selection lists wines by grape variety which enables you to select your favourite wine by flavour, either by the glass or bottle. Sunday lunch with succulent roasts from 12 - 3pm Morning cappuccinos from 9.30 Am, afternoon tea, espresso and liqueurs for the evening. Last orders at 9.30 Pm. Plenty of free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, THE meeting place in the green....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Potters Heron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Potters Heron Hotel Ampfield
Potters Heron Romsey
Potters Heron Hotel Romsey
The Potters Heron Ampfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing