We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Excellent Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Potters Heron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Potters Heron
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Excellent Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I are big restaurant eaters, we have moved to the area recently and eaten at the Restaurant twice now. This is by far our favourite place to eat in all of Hampshire.

The food is excellent value, cooked to perfection and well presented.
The wine menu is also reasonably
priced and has an excellent selection.

Staff is always very friendly and service is excellent!

Highly recommended for the food and drink and will be going back again very soon!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie0690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Wow, thank you !!
We are working hard in our everyday endeavours to put our restaurant back 'on the map' locally by providing non fussy but good, friendly and efficient service, matched by great food and food/ wine combinations.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your dinners here at the Potters Heron as ' newcomers' to the region and we love to see you again soon.
We appreciate your praise and feedback and shall ensure all staff in our hotel will see your excellent review .
With kind regards.
Frank Postel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    166
    90
    33
    21
See reviews for
92
153
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Arrived and had va friendly greeting with an offer to carry our bags to room. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast good and would cook more than was on menu if you aked such as fried bread. Found restaurant a little pricier than when we last stayed

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cegidfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review of our services, I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay .
Our recent menu , experimental in regard to regional, local produce, made certain items more expensive. We have again changed our menu last week on 10 October to reflect autumnal food flavours and have tweaked our pricing also and added better value dishes, with good customer reviews since.
We hope to welcome you back soon again.
Frank Postel, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome all the information that we needed ie restaurant times and times for breakfast were given in a pleasant manner. The only difficulty that I did see was a problem with access there are rather a lot of stairs so do be aware of this if you do visit. The room was large and well decorated in a modern theme bathroom was a little dated but was clean and the shower was very efficient and strong.
We had just travelled for 3 days so we ordered room service and this was again quick and efficient the food arrived quickly and the guy was pleasant and had a smile on his face which can make a difference. The breakfast the next morning was just excellent plenty of choice hot and cold with lots of hot drinks available. All in all this is a great country hotel with good food and the staff are helpful and pleasant it is great for a quiet get away from it all break.

Room Tip: go for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazvandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear guests,
We are pleased with your comments and thank you for your time and trouble to review your stay here on Tripadvisor.
We love to look after you on a future occasion and hope to welcome you back to the Potters Heron Hotel in the not too distant future.
We shall ensure all staff will see your feedback. Thank you once more.
Kind regards
Frank Postel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for just the one night but will say that is was very nice.. dinner was excellent although a bit pricey it was well worth it......

Bedroom had a kingsize bed and was very tastefully decorated ......the room was clean and inviting. Had its own patio small but private ..

Breakfast was buffett style and also good value , plentiful and hot .....

Staff were very nice and attentive but sometimes too attentive ( not a critism)

Maybe put some extras in the bathroom and I prefer a shower curtain and not glass

All in all I would stay there again....maybe on my honeymoon :-)

Room Tip: sorry cant help you there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear guest, we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful for your comments. We hope to welcome you again soon and look forward to delivering another pleasant stay. Kindly let us know if and when you are booking your honeymoon. Our new restaurant menu will be introduced this week Thursday , !0 October, hope you will try it soon!

Thank you for your feedback. most appreciated.

Frank Postel,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Reception area and staff are most welcoming, and the decor is modern and clean - a fantastic first impression. The bar area (in the pub bit) is also clean, modern and the staff very friendly and attentive. The room was OK...clean...bed comfortable...bathroom also OK..complete with shower curtain though - not seen one of those in a hotel for some years - and clean and stocked with some toiletries which was a nice touch. The food in the pub/bar was very good, and not too expensive. However, the breakfast was not. And for me, this is what let the Potters Hero down - quality and variety of food, and the staff. There was no fresh fruit, and the cooked breakfast food was not nice at all. The staff didn't seem to understand the concept of "service", it was all very re-active - like taking a plate, getting more juice when the jug ran out but only when specifically requested.
On a side note, there was also a smell in the bedroom corridor that was quite sickly and cloying - nothing dirty or horrid, in fact I think it may have been an air freshner or spray, but it was quite over-powering and lingered in the nose for some time!
Would I stay here again? Yes I would and I would recommend that others try the hotel as well. It is a lot more friendly and personal that the larger, corporate brands. But I would probably give the cooked breakfast a miss and just have the yogurt and tinned/frozen fruit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talismancb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Talisman,thank you for your elaborate comments and feedback. I am pleased to note that your stay has for the best part been enjoyable. Your comments about breakfast service and food offering are welcome too and with our apologies, we clearly did not deliver what we set out to. Your findings will be discussed internally so that we can make amends and ensure a better standard in future. Normally fresh fruit is the required standard and tasty cooked breakfast is a must. We shall endeavour to get these details right in future.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Hotel is set on the fringe of the New Forest near Romsey. It looks like a thatched cottage but the inside is completely different. The bar/restaurant area is very contempary. However, be aware that prices are high. Cheapest wine around £16:00 upwards. Watch out for what you order in the restaurant as the chef changes items listed in the meal without telling you! Also, not a great list of meals and as we found on a Monday night, items listed not availble, so reduced choices.
Bedroom looking tired and bathroom desperately needing updating! Unusually the room has an external door on ground floor leading to a small patio area. Lighting in the room is very poor to the extent unable to read in the evening. Security is extremely laxs, e.g. no safe, no chain on door, no window locks and only asked once to verify who were are when collecting room key.

Room Tip: Ask for a back of the hotel room if you want to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your response and feedback, which is useful.
Our restaurant pricing ranges from £6-£8 for starters and from £ 11 to £22 for main courses, with desserts around £ 6.00. Our menu is published on our website!. chef may at time have to change items subject to availability and Mondays can be a problem on stock supplies after busy weekends. Sorry , could be that rest.staff did not get or pass on the chef briefing here. Wine costs have shot up, but we will always look at a good deal for guests, we are introducing a ' bring your own wine' on some selected nights from October.
All bedrooms have been refurbished in 2011 and 2012 and we are conscious that these need ongoing upkeep,which our maintenance team are constantly doing, moving from room to room.. Bathroom had been redecorated ,not refurbished, but are fully functional with plenty of hot water, high water pressure, good lighting and are very clean. Most rooms feature balconies or ground floor terraces, [ great for smokers] . We shall look at additional locking on ground floor rooms, but every balcony / terrace door has its own key and all is fully lockable. Door chains are banned by the fire brigade unfortunately. Bedrooms safes are a ' would like' but this is a 4 star standard which may come in the future with further investment.
thank you ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
259 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I almost gave the hotel a four star. The staff are excellent, friendly, attentive and seem to genuinely want you to have a good stay. Breakfasts good and plenty of fruit and breads, cooked meal and cereals. Hotel room just renovated, had a small patio with chair and tables looking out onto wooded area. Only down side was bathroom had not been renovated to new standard and was tired. Meals three to four staff grade. Nice detour in main areas. Quiet when I stayed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most positive comments following your recent stay with us here at the Potters Heron Hotel. We are most pleased that you did enjoy your stay, our service and amenities. We hope to be able to further invest in our bathrooms in the forthcoming year.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
with kind regards
Frank Postel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampfield
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
3.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
5.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potters Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Heron

Property: The Potters Heron
Address: Winchester Road | Ampfield-Romsey- Hampshire, Ampfield SO51 9ZF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Ampfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Heron 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Potters Heron Hotel nestled in the heart of Hampshire, near Winchester, Romsey and Eastleigh,and recognise it by its distinctive gabled thatched roof and traditional features. The hotel is located just 3 Miles from IBM HQ .Once inside guests can relax in one of our 53 comfortable bedrooms or enjoy the attractive surroundings of our contemporary refurbished bar restaurant over a delicious meal and chilled glass of wine. Within easy distance from major roads [M3 J12] The Potters Heron is an ideal venue for all occasions, be it business or pleasure.The Restaurant features informal lunch and dinner, with freshly cooked seasonal changing specialities, both regional and international. In the summer we have an "al fresco" sun terrace with wide umbrellas available. In the winter we have a cosy log fire to warm you up. Open 7 days a week from 9.30 Am til late, our large restaurant bar is stocked with international lagers, quality ciders and 3 Hampshire Ales on tap, a large wine selection lists wines by grape variety which enables you to select your favourite wine by flavour, either by the glass or bottle. Sunday lunch with succulent roasts from 12 - 3pm Morning cappuccinos from 9.30 Am, afternoon tea, espresso and liqueurs for the evening. Last orders at 9.30 Pm. Plenty of free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, THE meeting place in the green....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Potters Heron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Potters Heron Hotel Ampfield
Potters Heron Romsey
Potters Heron Hotel Romsey
The Potters Heron Ampfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing