We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the breakfast”
Review of The Potters Heron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Potters Heron
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed at the Potters heron for 1 night in October with my daughter. Hotel lovely. Very nice rooms. But the breakfast very poor. I didn't have any of the cooked breakfast it looked horrible dry bacon congealed eggs and rubbery looking sausages. The serving staff seemed to be rushing about but ,we waited ages for our tea to arrive. It is a really nice hotel. I do hope they sort out the breakfasts. Because it's a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Christina,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We are pleased to read that your general impressions are favourable, and horrified to read that breakfast was not good. We apologise for this mishap. Not entirely sure when you did stay. Our policy is that the buffet is either topped up regularly with freshly cooked food during busy periods, or the buffet is removed after a busy spell, so we resort back to ' plated' breakfast from the kitchen.. Not sure which part of our service did not work that day, but clearly we will take ownership of this issue and improve our offering.
With apologies, we hope that on a future stay with us, you will find our breakfast service vastly improved.
Thank you for your feedback
Frank Postel , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Booked 2 rooms, 1 twin and 1 double for friends for a 3 night break. On arrival we were told the rooms were not ready, which we accepted as we were early. Returning at 2 o'clock , the time clearly stated on the confirmation email, we were told they were still not ready as staff were concentrating on a rooms for a party from the Moscow ballet. We were eventually told rooms were ready at 3 o'clock and then the "fun" really began. The room given as a twin was made up as a double and on returning to reception I was told to find the housekeeper and ask for the bed to be converted to twin (a simple task). Eventually finder the housekeeper I was told that rooms had to remain as made up and I would have to transfer to another room. Back to reception to be allocated another room.
After all this our friends had toask for a transfer to another room after the first night as they had been kept awake all night by a loud hum and vibration in the room.
I would add that we found the staff very helpfull generaly, but would definately not stay again

Room Tip: Avoid room 53 at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear guests,
Sunday 3 November was an odd day, with a busy check out and a busy check in with the Moscow ballet group requiring lots of twin rooms. Apart from the standard 12 Twin rooms, they required more and we made available several other ' split ' "superking beds" into two genuine comfortable twin beds. Regrettably your arrival coincided with the group arrival, confusion allround, regrettably resulting in your ' twin' room being mis allocated. The room assigned had a double bed, which could not be separated, hence your return visit to our reception to re allocate a room in which a bed could be split. We regret the delays and confusion , clearly not one of our better reception days. Luckily , generally we do get it right the first time, and we offer our apologies for the inconvenience caused on 3 Nov. We love to welcome you back, on which occasion you no doubt find all well and in working order.

Frank Postel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a superb hotel, in the middle of nowhere, but with access to, and from, the M3. The rooms are pleasant; the gardens are lovely and the bar is first class. There is a very nice area to sit outside and have a drink or a meal. Though I would be wary of the meal.

I have stayed and eaten here now on three occasions. On each occasion the food has been bad. Yesterday it was exceptionally poor. For reference, I ordered a chicken on skewers, with lemon couscous, flatbread and tzatziki. Sounds nice doesn't it? It arrived on a black slate and looked awfully small for a main meal at £10.95. There were four of the tiniest pieces of chicken, with not a skewer to be seen, two really tiny flatbreads which were as hard as the slate, some minty yoghurt strewn loosely across the slate and a small cup shaped immoveable pile of rock solid couscous.

It wouldn't even have made a decent starter. Clearly the 'Chef' had over flash grilled this meal such that it became utterly inedible. I'm not sure the meal was made in the kitchen. It had that Brakes, or 3663, look about it. You know the type - Harvester'ish. Delivered either frozen or ambient in cardboard boxes and just heat up for the guest. A great time saver and the profits are wonderful. I didn't pay for the meal and there was no fuss about it.

It's a tragedy that such a delightful hotel would even think to serve this sort of food when the world is alive and waiting for new and exciting food opportunities.

I'll definitely stay there again (if they'll let me) but there is no way I'll eat there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Mr Lee,
Sorry to read the chicken skewer dish was not to your liking. Since the introduction of this new menu , now two weeks ago, the very dish has been commented on various times and we are looking to revise this entirely. I hasten to add that all main items are made on site, but clearly flavouring, presentation, combination is not right. I am not sure when you dined with us previously but hope that we can leave a better impression next time , despite your reluctance to dine with us in future. Thank you for your feedback, we will endeavour to offer better in the very near future.We are pleased that the hotel is to your liking generally though.
Frank Postel , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here 3 nights a week for 18 months while on a long term contract in the local area ending in the summer this year. The hotel staff were fantastic, welcoming me by name each week and always making time for a chat. Having stayed in almost every room my favourites were the king rooms but all rooms were large, clean and well equipped a real home from home. I ate in the restaurant only for breakfast which had a good selection of hot and cold food. The local area is beautiful and a local map provided by reception gave plenty of walks or runs through the nearby woods. I really felt welcome here right up to the manager who bought me dinner on my last evening and took the time to talk to me. I hope to go back again, maybe with my family.

Room Tip: First floor king rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

It has been a pleasure looking after you week in week out., which never ever became routine.
Great that you have had a ' home away from home' that you have liked: We all know that being away from base is never easy. We wish you well and look forward to welcoming you back on your own or with your family, hopefully soon. Our team would love to see you again.
With kind regards

Frank Postel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I are big restaurant eaters, we have moved to the area recently and eaten at the Restaurant twice now. This is by far our favourite place to eat in all of Hampshire.

The food is excellent value, cooked to perfection and well presented.
The wine menu is also reasonably
priced and has an excellent selection.

Staff is always very friendly and service is excellent!

Highly recommended for the food and drink and will be going back again very soon!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie0690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Wow, thank you !!
We are working hard in our everyday endeavours to put our restaurant back 'on the map' locally by providing non fussy but good, friendly and efficient service, matched by great food and food/ wine combinations.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your dinners here at the Potters Heron as ' newcomers' to the region and we love to see you again soon.
We appreciate your praise and feedback and shall ensure all staff in our hotel will see your excellent review .
With kind regards.
Frank Postel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Arrived and had va friendly greeting with an offer to carry our bags to room. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast good and would cook more than was on menu if you aked such as fried bread. Found restaurant a little pricier than when we last stayed

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cegidfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your review of our services, I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay .
Our recent menu , experimental in regard to regional, local produce, made certain items more expensive. We have again changed our menu last week on 10 October to reflect autumnal food flavours and have tweaked our pricing also and added better value dishes, with good customer reviews since.
We hope to welcome you back soon again.
Frank Postel, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome all the information that we needed ie restaurant times and times for breakfast were given in a pleasant manner. The only difficulty that I did see was a problem with access there are rather a lot of stairs so do be aware of this if you do visit. The room was large and well decorated in a modern theme bathroom was a little dated but was clean and the shower was very efficient and strong.
We had just travelled for 3 days so we ordered room service and this was again quick and efficient the food arrived quickly and the guy was pleasant and had a smile on his face which can make a difference. The breakfast the next morning was just excellent plenty of choice hot and cold with lots of hot drinks available. All in all this is a great country hotel with good food and the staff are helpful and pleasant it is great for a quiet get away from it all break.

Room Tip: go for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazvandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear guests,
We are pleased with your comments and thank you for your time and trouble to review your stay here on Tripadvisor.
We love to look after you on a future occasion and hope to welcome you back to the Potters Heron Hotel in the not too distant future.
We shall ensure all staff will see your feedback. Thank you once more.
Kind regards
Frank Postel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampfield
2.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
5.9 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,867 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,132 reviews
10.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potters Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Heron

Address: Winchester Road | Ampfield-Romsey- Hampshire, Ampfield SO51 9ZF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Ampfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Price Range: £54 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Heron 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Potters Heron Hotel nestled in the heart of Hampshire, near Winchester, Romsey and Eastleigh,and recognise it by its distinctive gabled thatched roof and traditional features. The hotel is located just 3 Miles from IBM HQ .Once inside guests can relax in one of our 53 comfortable bedrooms or enjoy the attractive surroundings of our contemporary refurbished bar restaurant over a delicious meal and chilled glass of wine. Within easy distance from major roads [M3 J12] The Potters Heron is an ideal venue for all occasions, be it business or pleasure.The Restaurant features informal lunch and dinner, with freshly cooked seasonal changing specialities, both regional and international. In the summer we have an "al fresco" sun terrace with wide umbrellas available. In the winter we have a cosy log fire to warm you up. Open 7 days a week from 9.30 Am til late, our large restaurant bar is stocked with international lagers, quality ciders and 3 Hampshire Ales on tap, a large wine selection lists wines by grape variety which enables you to select your favourite wine by flavour, either by the glass or bottle. Sunday lunch with succulent roasts from 12 - 3pm Morning cappuccinos from 9.30 Am, afternoon tea, espresso and liqueurs for the evening. Last orders at 9.30 Pm. Plenty of free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, THE meeting place in the green....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Potters Heron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Potters Heron Hotel Ampfield
Potters Heron Romsey
Potters Heron Hotel Romsey
The Potters Heron Ampfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing