We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and very welcoming”
Review of The Potters Heron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Potters Heron
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very scenic, which on a summer's day no doubt looks stunning. Due to the reception area being so large, it was rather chilly both on arrival and departure, but nicely laid out, and the Christmas decorations were very good. Staff exceptionally friendly both on checking in and also in the restaurant for an evening meal and again at breakfast. Evening meal was taken with 20 plus people, pre ordered food which was nicely presented and very tasty. Staff again very helpful and friendly. Restaurant, could rather like the rest of the place, be a little warmer, it is winter, so some extra heat would have been good. My bedroom was lovely, enormous and comfortable bed, good hot shower, all facilities etc. Would like to stay here on a lovely summer's day, but recommend this regardless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear WTO traveller,
Thank you for your positive review of your stay: we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, our hotel and our service. Pleased you mention our Christmas decorations. a specialism of our head housekeeper and her team, who year in ,year out, spend a vast amount of time dressing up our spacious hotel . we hope you enjoyed the special Christmas ambiance.
Our main lobby and restaurant are vast areas with all sorts of exit and connecting doors,and it proves difficult to keep the heat in. A log burner has made some difference in the restaurant Bar area and we are working on improvements in our hotel lobby area. Hopefully we will welcome you again in the summer when heating hopefully will not be a problem. By the time winter arrives again we hope to have improved our lobby temperatures.
We appreciate your time to review our hotel. With kind regards
Frank Postel, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I have attended the Potters Heron for twenty years every December for our Winchester Art Club Christmas lunch.The club is always given a private room for about 60 people,personal service and provision for a small exhibition of members' paintings as well as a bar and waitress service.The traditional Christmas dinner with turkey etc, Christmas pudding or fruit salad, coffee and mince pies with a cracker for everyone! The price is always reasonable £15 per head this year for everything.
This has been a success for at least twenty years and never a problem. The lunch is always tasty and nicely presented, extra veg and or gravy as required.
I felt it was time to give it the proper review that it has earned over all this time...

Room Tip: We have never stayed here but the food is excellent and there are several very large dining spaces p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilljar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Quilljar,
Thank you for your excellent review,We were pleased to again host the Winchester Art Club christmas luncheon this year and overheard lots of good comments on the day. Very nice indeed to see it "stated" in black and white. We look forward to looking after you and the Art Club in 2014 again: I understand you have re booked with us again following glowing reviews from many of your fellow art lovers.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas next , or perhaps sooner?
with kind regards,
Frank Postel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I attended a family celebration on Saturday Night, my bill was paid by others and I can not comment on value for money.The front of this hotel is delightful, however the architechture behind the facade is reminiscent of the worst of eastern Europe.Room 30 has a view of some sort of cabin built on the roof. The room itself was well decorated, comfortable and very clean, plenty of nice towels and good bed and bed linen. The staff are very helpful.The food was of the worst sort of Brake brothers, 363 cuisine. Breakfast was particularly poor with underdone tastless sausage, and white fat speckled underdone cheap bacon, No pots of coffeee or tea served to you,but help yourself to tea bags and hot water.Toast good. This is accommadation with no soul.

Room Tip: If you like cabins and cables room 30 will be perefect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Mr A.
I read your review with mixed feelings: It is a pity we could not convey positive images across the board. Room 30 is indeed not blessed with an enjoyable view and is normally used as a last resort: Clearly you were not advised of its challenges before your arrival. Equally our breakfast offering should have impressed you and it clearly did not and we apologize: A new menu and new drive to improve on these issues has been instigated and will consign these negative impressions to the past.
We hope we will be given a future opportunity to set the record straight.
thank you for your feedback.
Frank Postel , General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a lovely little independent hotel, welcoming, fresh and light.
Lady on reception was very welcoming and made us feel welcome, room was excellent and clean, evening meal on the sunday night was excellent and staff again excellent and the duty manager was friendly and stopped to chat with us.

We stayed on a sunday nite and had fresh cooked breakfast on the monday morning which was lovely, partner has stayed here before and had mentioned fresh breakfast was alot better.

I enjoyed my stay and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Alison,
Thank you for your positive and informative comments, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Frank Postel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed at the Potters heron for 1 night in October with my daughter. Hotel lovely. Very nice rooms. But the breakfast very poor. I didn't have any of the cooked breakfast it looked horrible dry bacon congealed eggs and rubbery looking sausages. The serving staff seemed to be rushing about but ,we waited ages for our tea to arrive. It is a really nice hotel. I do hope they sort out the breakfasts. Because it's a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Christina,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We are pleased to read that your general impressions are favourable, and horrified to read that breakfast was not good. We apologise for this mishap. Not entirely sure when you did stay. Our policy is that the buffet is either topped up regularly with freshly cooked food during busy periods, or the buffet is removed after a busy spell, so we resort back to ' plated' breakfast from the kitchen.. Not sure which part of our service did not work that day, but clearly we will take ownership of this issue and improve our offering.
With apologies, we hope that on a future stay with us, you will find our breakfast service vastly improved.
Thank you for your feedback
Frank Postel , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Booked 2 rooms, 1 twin and 1 double for friends for a 3 night break. On arrival we were told the rooms were not ready, which we accepted as we were early. Returning at 2 o'clock , the time clearly stated on the confirmation email, we were told they were still not ready as staff were concentrating on a rooms for a party from the Moscow ballet. We were eventually told rooms were ready at 3 o'clock and then the "fun" really began. The room given as a twin was made up as a double and on returning to reception I was told to find the housekeeper and ask for the bed to be converted to twin (a simple task). Eventually finder the housekeeper I was told that rooms had to remain as made up and I would have to transfer to another room. Back to reception to be allocated another room.
After all this our friends had toask for a transfer to another room after the first night as they had been kept awake all night by a loud hum and vibration in the room.
I would add that we found the staff very helpfull generaly, but would definately not stay again

Room Tip: Avoid room 53 at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear guests,
Sunday 3 November was an odd day, with a busy check out and a busy check in with the Moscow ballet group requiring lots of twin rooms. Apart from the standard 12 Twin rooms, they required more and we made available several other ' split ' "superking beds" into two genuine comfortable twin beds. Regrettably your arrival coincided with the group arrival, confusion allround, regrettably resulting in your ' twin' room being mis allocated. The room assigned had a double bed, which could not be separated, hence your return visit to our reception to re allocate a room in which a bed could be split. We regret the delays and confusion , clearly not one of our better reception days. Luckily , generally we do get it right the first time, and we offer our apologies for the inconvenience caused on 3 Nov. We love to welcome you back, on which occasion you no doubt find all well and in working order.

Frank Postel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a superb hotel, in the middle of nowhere, but with access to, and from, the M3. The rooms are pleasant; the gardens are lovely and the bar is first class. There is a very nice area to sit outside and have a drink or a meal. Though I would be wary of the meal.

I have stayed and eaten here now on three occasions. On each occasion the food has been bad. Yesterday it was exceptionally poor. For reference, I ordered a chicken on skewers, with lemon couscous, flatbread and tzatziki. Sounds nice doesn't it? It arrived on a black slate and looked awfully small for a main meal at £10.95. There were four of the tiniest pieces of chicken, with not a skewer to be seen, two really tiny flatbreads which were as hard as the slate, some minty yoghurt strewn loosely across the slate and a small cup shaped immoveable pile of rock solid couscous.

It wouldn't even have made a decent starter. Clearly the 'Chef' had over flash grilled this meal such that it became utterly inedible. I'm not sure the meal was made in the kitchen. It had that Brakes, or 3663, look about it. You know the type - Harvester'ish. Delivered either frozen or ambient in cardboard boxes and just heat up for the guest. A great time saver and the profits are wonderful. I didn't pay for the meal and there was no fuss about it.

It's a tragedy that such a delightful hotel would even think to serve this sort of food when the world is alive and waiting for new and exciting food opportunities.

I'll definitely stay there again (if they'll let me) but there is no way I'll eat there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Mr Lee,
Sorry to read the chicken skewer dish was not to your liking. Since the introduction of this new menu , now two weeks ago, the very dish has been commented on various times and we are looking to revise this entirely. I hasten to add that all main items are made on site, but clearly flavouring, presentation, combination is not right. I am not sure when you dined with us previously but hope that we can leave a better impression next time , despite your reluctance to dine with us in future. Thank you for your feedback, we will endeavour to offer better in the very near future.We are pleased that the hotel is to your liking generally though.
Frank Postel , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampfield
2.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
5.9 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
51 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,125 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potters Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Heron

Address: Winchester Road | Ampfield-Romsey- Hampshire, Ampfield SO51 9ZF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Ampfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Price Range: £56 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Heron 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Potters Heron Hotel nestled in the heart of Hampshire, near Winchester, Romsey and Eastleigh,and recognise it by its distinctive gabled thatched roof and traditional features. The hotel is located just 3 Miles from IBM HQ .Once inside guests can relax in one of our 53 comfortable bedrooms or enjoy the attractive surroundings of our contemporary refurbished bar restaurant over a delicious meal and chilled glass of wine. Within easy distance from major roads [M3 J12] The Potters Heron is an ideal venue for all occasions, be it business or pleasure.The Restaurant features informal lunch and dinner, with freshly cooked seasonal changing specialities, both regional and international. In the summer we have an "al fresco" sun terrace with wide umbrellas available. In the winter we have a cosy log fire to warm you up. Open 7 days a week from 9.30 Am til late, our large restaurant bar is stocked with international lagers, quality ciders and 3 Hampshire Ales on tap, a large wine selection lists wines by grape variety which enables you to select your favourite wine by flavour, either by the glass or bottle. Sunday lunch with succulent roasts from 12 - 3pm Morning cappuccinos from 9.30 Am, afternoon tea, espresso and liqueurs for the evening. Last orders at 9.30 Pm. Plenty of free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, THE meeting place in the green....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Potters Heron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Potters Heron Hotel Ampfield
Potters Heron Romsey
Potters Heron Hotel Romsey
The Potters Heron Ampfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing