We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Potters Heron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Potters Heron
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Certificate of Excellence
deal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had an excellent Sunday lunch here having noticed the thatched building whilst passing by.a day earlier.
Booked for ten on the day and were received by a very welcoming and attentive restaurant manager.
The staff were efficient, pleasant and helpful.
Food was well cooked and ample. It was also good value.
Everyone enjoyed their lunch and we all would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrieaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your favourable review of our Sunday lunch offering. Good to hear that our colleagues impressed you with a good welcome, great service and fine food. Now that you have
' found us ' we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future .
Frank Postel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    166
    90
    33
    21
See reviews for
92
153
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Phoned to book a table of 10 for Sunday lunch half an hour before wanting to dine. Restaurant manager and all waiting staff were very friendly and we were treated to great service and very tasty food at incredible value for money. Would definitely recommend this restaurant especially the beetroot salad to start and the huge portion of very tasty roast beef.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisasakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Lisa,
Thank you for your kind comments, We are pleased we could accommodate your party for Sunday lunch .Sunday lunches are a busy affair, but we generally do our utmost to fit in all guests wishing to lunch.Our team members in restaurant and kitchen .will be pleased to read your favourable feedback, and we hope to welcome back ' for seconds' on a future occasion.
Frank Postel ,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We travelled with others to join in 50th birthday celebrations and stayed here for 2 nights. The single glazing in the rooms made them a bit too cool during the day although at night I welcomed a relief from the heat build up. The room was spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in especially in a hotel! All staff were welcoming and especially accommodating - even at very early hours of the morning following the party! Low(ish) point for me was probably dinner - although pleasant and enjoyed by others, I would have enjoyed more choice of vegetarian options. Overall though, a very pleasant stay and worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Nancy, Thank you for your overall good comments; we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Since writing your review we have revised our menu offering and have included more vegetarian options and hope that on a future occasion you will avail yourself of our new offering.
thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Potters Heron Hotel in the near future.
Frank Postel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My whole experience was rather average, add that to being quite expensive and it becomes disappointing.

The rooms are average sized and looking a bit tired. The TV has about 10 channels of poor quality picture image. The bed was comfortable with good quality sheets and importantly clean! But the whole stay did not feel that looked after while staying a number of days.

The restaurant should be avoided. Ate twice there and the food was again disappointing. Small portions of bland food at expensive prices. The restaurant area is presented nicely if a bit soulless, but they have obviously made an effort with this area, shame they did not with the food. The menu itself was uninspiring and small in selection. If you wish to eat good quality food go 1 mile West down the road to the White Horse PH. Here you will find a friendly welcoming Pub/ Restaurant, with friendly staff. The Potters on both occasions when eating there did not ask once if my meal was ok, poor customer service at best.

The venue seems to concentrate on its meeting/ conference rooms, hiring them out to funeral wakes to marriages and everything in between.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay.and lessons can be learned from your comments. Our rooms are reasonably sized, we feel for the 3 star+ standard that is offered. Whilst refurbished during the last 2-3 years, decor looks masculine can could have benefitted from lighter colour scheme. Renowned Southampton Millbrook beds and bedding generally provide a comfortable night sleep as many guests tell us so.Our TV systems [ a tied contract upon acquiring the hotel] are to be changed at the end of 2014 for modern digital multi channel TV's

Appreciate that our restaurant did not appeal and from a service point we can learn from your feedback. A new Spring menu has replaced our ' February ' holding menu' with a more interesting fresh food offering. Whilst I hate to be compared to an AA two rosette restaurant down the road [ we do not profess to be] , I am now fairly confident that you will like our changes made and we could give our colleagues in Romsey a run for their money. Hopefully you will join us in the near future and let us have your comments on the changes we have made. We hope you will enjoy your next stay better.
Frank Postel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My son and I stayed here on the night of the 18th february before his interview at IBM.
Over all this is not a bad hotel for a business trip. Our room and its bathroom were a little "tired", and the central heating did rattle, but at the same time they were clean and tidy. Overall the rate we paid reflected excellent value for money (not the full usual advertised price).

The menu in the restaurant was limited, but the food was excellent, we recommend the braised blade of beef.

What sets this hotel apart is the pleasant and helpful attitude of the staff, from reception to waitresses, first class customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mr J.
Thank you for your frank review; I appreciate your comments about our bedrooms and bathrooms.There are advanced planes to update the bathrooms and we shall continually maintain our bedroom product. As for the restaurant menu: the February version [ a ' holding menu'] has now per 1 April been replaced by a more interesting restaurant AND bar menu , offering a wider , more interesting, seasonal choice of fayre. We hope that you return and try out our new head chefs menu soon.
Thank you , Frank Postel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My mother and I stayed the night of 7th February, arriving just after five pm. My mother cannot walk far and I had asked about wheelchair access when booking. I was somewhat surprised when I asked if someone could help to be told no one was available as they were preparing for an event that evening. Reception did show me the disabled door. The path from the car park to this door was very poorly lit and a little uneven.

Once in, and key in hand, we couldn't get the lift to work. Staff did come to help with this problem, and one then left preparation to help with the luggage.

The room was comfortable, and the disabled facilities enough for Mum.

We managed the lift ourselves to go to the bar for dinner. Access here was either out the disabled door across car park and in the bar main door, or up a short flight of stairs. Mum can manage a few stairs, so we started that route. A member of staff immediately came to our assistance and took the chair up. The bar staff were very helpful throughout, and when we left.

As it happened we had chosen the hotel because the event in the main dining room was a leaving party for some friends, so I was very happy to be able to attend.

Next day I needed help to charge my phone, and the early morning reception staff were very helpful. We breakfasted in the garden room, staff very helpful but scrambled egg and tomatoes not very nice.

I did arrive slightly fraught, since we had needed to leave our riverside home due to imminent flooding, and my initial impression was not good, but subsequent help and care from staff overcame this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilamh1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We apologize that the initial welcome lacked on various accounts, Assistance should have been provided regardless of other events taking place. Our fairly new receptionist has been directed onto a pathway so in future we wil have an accommodating welcome. Pleased that our duty manager did see your plight and assisted with lift , luggage and later movements.
Pleased that we could turn around our service somewhat and that you had an enjoyable stay later on.
Thank you for your feedback.
Frank Postel. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The location of this hotel is lovely and a very pretty setting.this review is a mixed bag but an honest unbiased review.the staff were very pleasant and in particular our breakfast waitress (friday 24th january) who could not have been more pleasant and helpful.breakfast was excellent and the choice very good.the hotel has obviously over the years had additional extensions which make it a little bitty as some areas are traditional and the restaurant far too modern for the building.our room was ok clean but its the small things that are annoying which was a very cheap toilet seat and a rather rusty shower soap dish but overall we had a pleasant stay at a good price that included breakfast.

Room Tip: Not in the end new wing as the corridors are freezing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stubbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback, it is nice to hear that in the main your stay has been good. As for the various details in our bathrooms, we are aware that these in general need updating and plans are underway to make this happen sometime in 2014 and early 2015.We hope to welcome you again in the foreseeable future.

thank you
Frank Postel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampfield
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
3.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
5.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potters Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Heron

Property: The Potters Heron
Address: Winchester Road | Ampfield-Romsey- Hampshire, Ampfield SO51 9ZF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Ampfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Heron 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Potters Heron Hotel nestled in the heart of Hampshire, near Winchester, Romsey and Eastleigh,and recognise it by its distinctive gabled thatched roof and traditional features. The hotel is located just 3 Miles from IBM HQ .Once inside guests can relax in one of our 53 comfortable bedrooms or enjoy the attractive surroundings of our contemporary refurbished bar restaurant over a delicious meal and chilled glass of wine. Within easy distance from major roads [M3 J12] The Potters Heron is an ideal venue for all occasions, be it business or pleasure.The Restaurant features informal lunch and dinner, with freshly cooked seasonal changing specialities, both regional and international. In the summer we have an "al fresco" sun terrace with wide umbrellas available. In the winter we have a cosy log fire to warm you up. Open 7 days a week from 9.30 Am til late, our large restaurant bar is stocked with international lagers, quality ciders and 3 Hampshire Ales on tap, a large wine selection lists wines by grape variety which enables you to select your favourite wine by flavour, either by the glass or bottle. Sunday lunch with succulent roasts from 12 - 3pm Morning cappuccinos from 9.30 Am, afternoon tea, espresso and liqueurs for the evening. Last orders at 9.30 Pm. Plenty of free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, THE meeting place in the green....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Potters Heron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Potters Heron Hotel Ampfield
Potters Heron Romsey
Potters Heron Hotel Romsey
The Potters Heron Ampfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing