We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Potters Heron
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Eastleigh Central(Eastleigh)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Premier Inn Southampton North Hotel(Nursling)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Giffard House(Winchester)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
163
190
103
46
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
190
103
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthatched roofsmall balconynew forestwedding receptionthe ground floorquiet locationlovely hotelnight stayspacious roomevening mealsunday lunchbuffet breakfaststayed one nightpotters heronshort breakpeppa pig worldpottery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Don't get me wrong! The Potters Heron is a very comfortable hotel in which to spend the weekend. It is situated close to Winchester and even closer to Romsey, two delightful historic Hampshire towns. Our room was well appointed and extremely comfortable. There was free wifi which worked well and the bathroom was clean and in good condition. We were staying for a couple of nights to attend a friend's wedding and so didn't have the opportunity to sample the hotel meals except at breakfast time and there, alas was where the hotel let itself down.
Saturday morning was correct with a reasonable selection from the buffet and attentive staff, who served tea and coffee by individual pots, as you would expect in palace that charges £100 a night.
Unfortunately Sunday was another story with a very poor selection from the buffet, no opportunity to order something different (eg scrambled eggs) and staff who seemed disinterested. If the breakfast room had been crowded we could have better understood the lack of attention they paid us but there was no excuse. It didn't spoil the weekend but it left an unfortunate taste in the mouth so far as the hotel was concerned

Room Tip: If you have heavy cases you would be better off on the ground floor as we could not find a lift.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 221PaulM221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I attended a wedding here at the beginning of April and it was fantastic. We ate in the bar as it was a small family affair, the food was great! There's also plenty of choices of drinks. Later on we moved to one of the function rooms. The buffet provided was one of the best I've had an a wedding reception, very varied and tasty. We stayed over as well, the room was fine, it was clean and tidy which is all that matters for a quick stop over. The breakfast selection in the morning was pretty good and I was surprised to find it was included in the price of the room. We had a lot of contact with the duty managers on the day and as we helped set up the wedding, I think they were called Andy and Caroline, I'm not 100% though. They couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SN4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with family and our 2 granddaughters.. We cannot praise the the hotel enough. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our rooms were upgraded and they were very nice. The girls absolutely loved it and instantly felt at home there.
We had one day at Paulton Park and the location was perfect, it was great to return to a calm but not stuffy environment for our evening meal.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hertfordshire88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us recently and the entire family had a happy stay.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on many future occasions either with your grand daughters or just you, enjoying a quiet break ' a deux'
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you for your kind comments.
Frank Postel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked just for 1 night-wish it had been more. Food, room and particularly staff all excellent. The receptionist who checked us in and out was efficient, helpful and welcoming. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehandjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We aim to please!
Thank you for your frank review, we are pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us and hope that we may welcome you back soon for a somewhat longer ' sejour'
Hopefully we can impress you again on that next occasion too.

Frank Postel GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Organised a small family party here for 15 adults and 6 children. We were given the gallery to ourselves and enjoyed excelent service and super food. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant manager (Vali) who did all he could to help our 'do' run smoothly. All my guests commented on the super quality of the food and the spacious surroundings and delightful building, My wife and I stayed overnight in a very comfortable and well maintained room. Breakfast was super. We could not fault the service we were given for everything.

Room Tip: Always tell reception on booking what you need. Most hotels are happy to help.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnB187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, General Manager at The Potters Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Well thank you for your excellent review .
We are pleased that Vali and his team did look after you well and pleased that you rated their attentiveness well.
The Winchester area in the restaurant lends itself well to smaller intimate family gatherings and we are happy you and your guests had an enjoyable time, including a comfortable stay overnight and a hearty breakfast the next day. We hope to welcome you back to our established soon again.
Frank Postel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews