We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School Reunion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse

White Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Ampfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Parts of the ancient building of the White Horse date back to the 16th century, and the two large Inglenook open fires bear testament to their heritage with their smoking chambers and their priest hole. These fires which are always alight during the winter months throw their heat into the various bar areas.The locals bar, with its dart board, and cosy village atmosphere retains the typical English pub image. Roaring log fire, the slap of cards on the table during a crib match and the thump of darts in the board, echo quietly in this bar. No background music can be heard, just the agitated discussions of the village elders who frequent this oasis of good beer & conversation.The lounge bar, with its equally large Inglenook can accommodate up to 40 people sitting and many more standing. Used by many people as a dining area, it still retains its “Olde World Charm”. A comfortable Chesterfield and deep farmhouse chairs merely add to the pleasant ambience of this lovely area.The restaurant has been built in a new area that extends towards the lovely pub garden. Seating 90 customers it makes a perfect place to enjoy the excellent food that is always available.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old School Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Delighted with the attentive service given to around 25 old boys and their ladies. The food was delicious. I didn't see any food left on the plates...Would certainly recommend The White Horse as a lovely ambience, comfortable seating, a very pleasant décor and a huge open log fireplace in one of the bars.
5* service and a thank you to all of the staff
Tony H-H

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Osprey544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
You were a joy to look after and hopefully we might see you again next year, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    64
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A proper country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

As someone who has frequented a pub or two over the years, I can confidently recommend the White Horse to anyone looking for a proper country pub. Good beer, good food, good wine, log fires - even a character landlord! I found the staff very welcoming and cheerful - always a good sign. Had a great dinner there with a group of friends who all enjoyed themselves.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melocalperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great country pup with good food and welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you are looking for a country pub with good food and beer then this is it. Draw up a chair by the log fire and warm your toes while you wait for your meal to be freshly cooked. All in all good value served by helpful friendly staff with hardworking hands on owners. Eat in the restaurant or, if not busy by the fire what could be better?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
we are sorry that it has taken so long to reply to your comments, we have been very busy. But many thank for your remarks and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for a drink but not for food!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We didn't like it at all!
When first walked in, it was lovely, cosy welcoming till you hit the bar. The staff were not happy at all, not welcoming or smiling. The food is below average. My starter looked promising but nothing” WOW” and since the main course hit us all started to go wrong. I have to ask for more meat because there was hardly much on the plate, the Yorkshire pudding was soggy and looked old as well as the baked potatoes, It looked like cooked from frozen, the desert was below average as well the mango sorbet was so strongly tasting of mango as if made of concentrate not from real mangoes. They served it nicely presented but forgot to bring us any cutlery so we have to help ourselves.
Might be nice for just a drink but I wont eat there again. It is not worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MishoVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We try to respond to all criticism, but to be honest this gentleman is never going to be happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality and consistent, free of gastro-pub pretention.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Going back a good few years I remember The White Horse as a tired country pub with little to commend it and as a family we always ate elsewhere and never gave it any thought. A couple of years ago I gave it another chance, and now we rarely eat elsewhere, and even my hard-to-please parents are converts…
The menu is extensive, with traditional standards alongside some more adventurous dishes, and there are always a couple of good vegetarian options. The meats are all locally sourced, and the fish locally caught, and, though I’m vegetarian, my parents’ carnivorous selections always look perfectly prepared and presented, and they are always full of praise for their meals. I have always found the vegetables prepared at just the right point between al dente and over-cooked, although I have found the roast potatoes – on the one occasion we went on a Sunday – could have been crisper.
The pub itself is traditional in style, with white-wash exterior and low oak beams inside and an enormous fireplace best appreciated in the depths of winter. The staff are friendly and helpful, without being an over-intrusive presence. Although main courses are ordered at the bar, staff do wait on tables to a greater degree.
I recommend the food here, it is good quality and consistent, without being flamboyant or over-priced, and served in a local environment free of gastro-pub pretentions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse also viewed

 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing