We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Pub missing a Wow Factor”
Review of White Horse

White Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Ampfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Parts of the ancient building of the White Horse date back to the 16th century, and the two large Inglenook open fires bear testament to their heritage with their smoking chambers and their priest hole. These fires which are always alight during the winter months throw their heat into the various bar areas.The locals bar, with its dart board, and cosy village atmosphere retains the typical English pub image. Roaring log fire, the slap of cards on the table during a crib match and the thump of darts in the board, echo quietly in this bar. No background music can be heard, just the agitated discussions of the village elders who frequent this oasis of good beer & conversation.The lounge bar, with its equally large Inglenook can accommodate up to 40 people sitting and many more standing. Used by many people as a dining area, it still retains its “Olde World Charm”. A comfortable Chesterfield and deep farmhouse chairs merely add to the pleasant ambience of this lovely area.The restaurant has been built in a new area that extends towards the lovely pub garden. Seating 90 customers it makes a perfect place to enjoy the excellent food that is always available.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Average Pub missing a Wow Factor”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of these places that clearly is popular, given how busy it was, but for me misses having anything to wow me. The decor is plain and dated, the service slow and a little disorganized, and the log fire unloved. The food was good but good is the new average. Sorry but you didn't make me want to return

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I am sorry that we didn't have the "wow" factor. We are a country pub that caters for over 600 people per week, and I am grateful for their patronage. The pub is dated 1625 and the decor is dated but that is how it should be, the two inglenooks are alight every day from October to March and I am sorry if they were not bright enough for this customer.

I was pleased that the food was good, but apparently good food is now only average, a trifle pretentious for us country folk. We just try and do good English food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    67
    21
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crazannes, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have eaten at the White Horse several times and consider it well worthwhile making a detour for. The menu gives a great choice of freshly cooked meals and is a tribute to the landlord. On our recent visit the restaurant was full (that speaks for itself) but the service was excellent and the food well up to its usual high standard. I like my steak rare (saignant - as I live in France) and this was done to perfection. I only just managed a dessert!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Many thanks for your comments and for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistent quality”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We regularly visit the White Horse and have never been disappointed with the atmosphere, food, price, comfort or service. We thought it was time that we said so! Lots of choice of individually prepared food - we shall return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It has gone downhill”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times over the years and have never been disappointed, until now. It really is a shame.

I feel that the menu choice is just far too large for the chef to be able to cope with. A smaller menu would mean that the chef could concentrate on producing a few good quality meals rather than many somewhat average meals.

Our starter was ok - we had the pate and the duck - but our main was a disaster. We both had the steak and kidney pie. I really do not know what was going on with the pastry but it was simply inedible. The case was solid and tasted vile and the top was just bland. We just couldn't eat it. The chips were dry as well.

Our newly employed waitress did ask if all was ok and so we mentioned to her that the pie was not very good. Her superior, to her credit, did come and see if there was anything she could do but we just simply told her that the pie was vile and she said she'd speak to the chef.

We cut our losses at that point and paid the bill in full. It would have been nice if a discount had been given but, to be fair, we didn't ask for one either which, in hindsight, we really should have.

Helpful?
3 Thank BadgerSharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
There is o question that these ladies had a genuine complaint, we had a problem with our pastry that day and it was very hard. It was a problem that was sorted that day and we apologise to these two diners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
“Welcoming Hostelry”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Excellent, well prepared meal, most welcoming landlord and staff, one of the most convivial evenings I have spent in any hostelry in a long time. I travel fairly widely in the course of business and socially, The White Horse stands out as a venue I will be returning to for a repeat experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseampfield, Owner at White Horse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We are truly grateful for your comments and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse also viewed

 
Ampfield, Hampshire
Otterbourne, Hampshire
 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing