We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cosy B&B”
Review of Brandreth Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burscough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brandreth Barn
Ranked #2 of 3 Burscough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and cosy B&B”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night in July whilst attending a wedding. My husband and I had a very quaint double bedroom with comfortable sofas, and tea and coffee making facilities. My brother and his family had a family room with a double bed, a single bed and a z-bed. Both rooms were pleasantly decorated with a homely feel and were spotlessly clean. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Had a really good night's sleep in the comfy bed, with plenty of cushions and pillows, and even extra bedding in the wardrobe for chillier nights (although we had fine weather). There is a tea room attached to the B&B which serves delicious home-made food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hebrides2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    18
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
25
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights over the bank holiday weekend whilst visiting family in Ormskirk. The staff were so friendly and made us feel very welcome! Nice rooms and a lovely breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Brandreth Barn few times now and have enjoyed my stay very much. At the moment you step into the premises, you feel welcome and there are lots of unique decorations throughout the B&B to discover including vintage rocking horse.
The rooms are spacious. Big selection of toiletries and towels are available in the room. Free WiFi, TV and tea making facilities, more than you would usually expect from B&B.
You can choose full English breakfast or go with continental cereal, nuts and fruits served in the tea room.
If I wanted to be critical of something, it's getting the water at the right temperature in the morning whilst others are using their showers simultaneously.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Booked at last minute for a trip to see our son who lives in Ormskirk. The Barn is in a peaceful location and the facilities, welcome and excellent breakfast make it well worth it. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Light over bathroom mirror needs replacing as little dark for putting make-up on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with iknow-uk

Helpful?
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Brandreth Barn is a wonderful converted barn with 7 spacious bedrooms, tastefully decorated, comfortable beds and a wonderful location close to Burscough and the attractions of Southport, Liverpool, Ormskirk and Merseyside.

The bathrooms have all the comforts of a top hotel with shower gels, hairdryers in bedrooms, tv, hot drinks and warm, fluffy towels.

Highly recommended.

Paul Davies MBM

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is an ideal place to stay. Based on a farm, but self contained accommodation in converted barn with 7 bedrooms, but book up well in advance. All rooms are a good size, and you are left to your own devices, can come and go as you want, and ordering your breakfast by way of completing a written note pad left in the large hall. Usual tea and coffee is in the bedroom plus you have easy access to additional tea, coffee, milk etc., if you should need it, this being left in a central place.
The dining room for breakfast is large, and you have plenty of space. Choice and portions are excellent and Gwen will look after you well.
We went to Liverpool sightseeing, and this was a great base for that, plus access to other local things including the bird sanctuary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Staying here as a single traveller for a few days. What a lovely place. Bedrooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. All the usuals you would normally spend a fortune for in a hotel - tv, hot drinks, hair dryer, shower gels and lovely towels. Very comfy beds and lots of drawer space. Very nice rocking chair in my room and best of all lots of hot water. Full English breakfast plus cereals, juice and toast in scrupulously clean dining area. Very short drive to Martin Mere Wetlands Trust and close to Southport. Reasonably priced and Margaret and Ed very welcoming. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaqhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burscough
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
7.5 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
261 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
The Farm Burscough
The Farm Burscough
#1 of 3 in Burscough
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandreth Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandreth Barn

Property: Brandreth Barn
Address: Brandreth Farm Tarlscough Lane, Burscough, Ormskirk L40 0RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Burscough
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burscough
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 15 Minutes from the M58 motorway and located a mile from the village of Burscough, Brandreth Barn provides a rustic Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with a vintage style tearoom. Set in the heart of Lancashire, this 1774 converted barn has been lovingly restored to a rustic English farmhouse style. A stay at Brandreth Barn is a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, the relaxed atmosphere makes it an exciting place in which to visit and explore Martin Mere Wetlands Trust, which is a 5 minute walk away. Brandreth Barn is surrounded with beautiful countryside, with lots of walks, pubs and lovely places to eat. We are perfectly located for trips to Preston, Manchester and Liverpool by car or train. If you are visiting the area for pleasure or business, Brandreth Barn is the perfect place to stay. | ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing