We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“canal cruise with a difference”

Lancashire Canal Cruises
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Burscough
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“canal cruise with a difference”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Went here last week, for the hotpot cruise, and wat can we say but FABULOUS. Lovely food, we were well looked after, had a lovely sedate cruise down the canal, the weather was glorious! Total relaxation, such a lovely afternoon..
We have already bought another deal, so will go again...!
You won't be disappointed x

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    61
    6
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Out”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Always looking to try new things, we took an afternoon tea trip on a lovely sunny April day.

Operating a small yet perfectly formed barge, we found the staff to be friendly, the boat cleaned after each trip, great food on offer (with amazing scones, clotted cream and jam!) and as much tea and coffee to make your back teeth swim.

The gentle cruise along the Leeds Liverpool canal gives you a serene view of West Lancashire and the approach at Rufford Top Lock's bridge 1 could almost be Canal du Midi.

A memorable time for all the family, especially our 3 yrs toddler who found the whole experience enthralling.

Private hire is available and it's a definite consideration for taking another, longer trip towards Lathom

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AWildWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Fab afternoon out, lovely clean boat with big windows, really nice food all set out on the tables with 'help yourself' tea and coffee.
I would definately recommend this company and any of their boat trips and I think I've found what I'm buying people for christmas.

And the sun shone!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant cruise/afternoon tea”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Four of us went on this cruise on Friday and we didn't want it to finish. The afternoon tea along with a glass of bubbly was delicious, there was unlimited tea and coffee and the opportunity to pourchase more alcohol was there. Our captain was really interesting and amusing - full of local knowledge. We all thought what a lovely day out and are now considering maybe a tapas cruise or one of the many other on their website. Thanks everybody concerned.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Farmers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant breakfast cruise would definitely recomend”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner went on the breakfast cruise yesterday. We had a brilliant morning. Lovely clean and modern boat. Big windows giving it a light and airy feel. The staff were all really polite and helpful, the serving girls were lovely. Our captain was an absolute star he really needs mentioning, didn't catch his name but he was such a lovely person with lots of knowledge about the history of the canal and the local areas. We even got to "drive" the barge ourselves!
My only niggle would be we thought the breakfast could have been a little bigger. We paid half price £30 for both of us for the cruise so were ok with it but mayb we would have been a bit unhappy had we paid full price. All in all a great morning something different for a Sunday morning would definitely recomend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lancashire Canal Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Lancashire Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing