We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Carnforth B&B and Inns
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Never Again”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

disappointed with the room,very dark,depressing and overlooking a scruffy back yard with a bush obscuring any view there may have been,Price of the room does not include breakfast,which we could have had and paid £8.95 for beans or scrambled eggs on toast or £10.95 for full English. I THINK NOT.The only time we did eat there,the food despite being rather pricey for what turned out to be mediocre pub food,I left more than half of my meal,when the member of staff came to clear the table and asked if everything was okay,I said no,my pan fried pork was very undercooked and chewy and the mash was solid.He then apologised and asked if we wanted the bill,so what was the point in complaining? The night before we checked out,I was woken at about 11pm by the most horrendous loud,bangings,knockings and what sounded like metal being scraped,this went on for way over half an hour and could be heard easily over the tv which my husband had on in our room.There were no voices and I did think the place was being broken into or at least some of the rooms,I actually said to my husband that I didnt feel safe.Tried to ring reception but no reply as apparently ther is no night porter service,so when I rung in the morning to ask what the disturbance was,I was told it may have been other guests going to bed,well I have never heard anybody making so much noise going to bed or taking so long about it,unless they had been to MFI and were building up their bed before getting into it! Very disappointed with the place altogether and would certainly never visit again or recommend to anyone.We visited quite a number of pubs and hotels during our stay and could (if we had known) got somewhere far superior for the price and also with breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel123, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are sorry to read your review. Firstly the room you stayed in is the quietest room in the annexe. The room does not over look a tatty yard, it overlooks the school playing field. We had a large regular group staying in the annexe the same evening whom had dined with us and had a few drinks in our bar. They all vacated the bar approx 11 pm back to their rooms, we can only assume this was the noise you heard as they had the rest of the rooms in the annexe. That night also it was very windy which could have contributed to the strange noises you heard (trees outside room windows).

With regards to the meal in the restaurant. We apologise as the waiter is a new member of staff who should of spoken to the manger about the complaint made about your meal.

The price was what you booked it at via laterooms. Breakfast starts at £7.95 which we feel good value as you have the choice from fruit juices, cereals, yogurts, toast/croissants, tea & coffee within this price. Other options also include this in the price.

As is states on our hotel information, reception closes at 9 pm. We do not have a night porter as you have a key with access to the annexe to come and go as you please, with emergency mobile numbers in the information folder in the room.

All extra information will have been told when checking into the hotel. I must state we are a small family run business and always look to improve from comments made.

Thank you

David Cousins - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    52
    24
    11
    15
See reviews for
50
52
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is situated approx. 1 mile from the M6, in the centre of Carnforth. The rooms are located about 20 metres away from the pub and are therefore quiet. The room was very adequate and even had a bath as well as a shower. The bed did however require a new mattress because it was very soft.
The price does not include breakfast so we went to the famous Carnforth Station Buffet. There we experienced an excellent value for money breakfast at the location of the film "Brief Encounter"

Room Tip: First floor rooms appear best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yealand Redmayne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We held our wedding reception at the County Hotel on the 31st May 2014. The staff and venue couldn't have been better!! Although we were small in numbers ( only 30 guests ) we had wonderful food, and excellent service! We were totally spoiled, the staff couldn't have done more for us. Thank you County Hotel for making our perfect day, just that!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We come to Morecombe every year and always stay in carnforth as we really love the little villiage, we chose this year to stay with you, and were really excited to stay with you. We got our rooms which were very clean and tidy and we couldn't fault them at all, the family room was huge and we really enjoyed staying in them. However charging nearly 300 pounds for the family room without including breakfast we thought was extremely bad value for money, and charging 10.95 on top of that each every day for four days was not really good for us, so we went to a local café instead. Also charging 8.95 for beans on toast is really bad in my book. Also on the sunday night we decided to have a drink at the bar, only to be told that you had a really long weekend and you close early so could we hurry up, it would of been fine just to say you close early, not put a guilt trip onto us about you having a long weekend, this is bad customer service. Also when my dad went to pay for the bill, you tried to charge him extra as there had been a price increase, and he had already booked in January, so there was no way he was paying more, with overpriced rooms that didn't include breakfast, I think you should look at including breakfast esp with the family rooms, as its very overpriced, and also work on the customer service of some of the people that are working there. Which was really the woman with brown curly hair and glasses, that should work on it. Suffice to say we wont be back.

Room Tip: Family room 22 was a great big room and good, but overpriced with no breakfast included, 10.95 each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had the pleasure of attending a wedding reception at the County hotel in June 2014.
The food both day and evening was exceptional, considering the number catered for I was impressed. There was lots of variety both cold and hot and you could not fault the standard.
The staff were very friendly and help full and helped make the day. The Mc/Dj who was there all day kept us entertained.
As with all weddings there is always the odd chav with a foul mouth, but thankfully this did not spoil the day and it was a good atmosphere.
I would definitely recommend this venue in the area, really impressed with everything and might pop back for the carvery.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I thorough enjoyed the day, despite a wet start. The County Hotel laid on a fabulous feast and excellent service. The wedding went well, the rest of the day was also perfect. Don't understand any adverse comments. Perhaps they went to to wrong hotel. Our lot enjoyed themselves . Thanks Amber and Andrew. Mick and Jean

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I refer with astonishment to the previous review about the wedding in June. Have you reviewed the correct place? The arrangements were superb, as was the food and staff not only were polite but 'went the extra mile' to ensure that our particular needs were taken care of. The atmosphere created for such a large wedding was excellent with room to move about in the reception area and in the bar. I saw the bride and groom in the bar during the evening, enjoying the company of some of their guests, as they circulated around the reception area and the other reception areas (inside and out). This is the third wedding I have attended at the county hotel and cannot recommend the venue highly enough. As for this particular wedding, the bridal party, in conjunction with hotel staff had thought (and delivered!) on every front.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lizdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
2.3 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
112 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: Lancaster Road, Carnforth LA5 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is located in the picturesque region of North Lancashire and provides a range of attractive facilities that appeal to tourists and holidaymakers, function organisers, those enjoying a meal out and of course ... social drinkers seeking a relaxing 'pub' type environment. The Carnforth based County Hotel briefly comprises: - Lovely, recently updated, en-suite rooms - - Restaurant and Carvery - - Licensed bar - - Function Rooms - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Carnforth, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing