We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seasonal touring in peaceful surroundings”

Old Hall Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnforth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Hall Caravan Park
Atherton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seasonal touring in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have century sited our touring van on Old Hall, having moved from a nearby holgates site. If you are looking for peace, tranquility,fantastic surroundings and a very clean and well kept site then this is the place for you. The toilet and shower facilities are first class. There is nothing on the site, which is exactly what we were looking for, for those it kids there is a small adventure playground but the woodland walks ec are great for all ages.

We are looking forward to a pleasant season and many a BBQ when the weather improves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Public Relations Manager at Old Hall Caravan Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review! We hope you enjoy the season here at Old Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at this loverly site and have booked again already!
We took our motorhome and we had a very relaxing stay at this small but very well equipped site.
Wash rooms were spotless and well appointed, Loverly walks from the pitch into the adjacent woods that had paths winding through with info boards to keep you informed.
Overall a delightful place to stay and we are looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Public Relations Manager at Old Hall Caravan Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We are glad to hear you had a great experience! Hopefully we will see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I consistently came on holiday here for some 10 years during my youth and have many fond memories of visiting this quaint, country caravan park with my grandparents. As a kid it was a world of adventure- making dens in the woods, following the stream, playing ball games, bike riding, making lots of wonderful friends, meeting my first crush- it was wonderful. Then I grew up and actually felt very bored here when I was like 11-15 because of a lack of people my age. There are always lots of retired people here and lots of young kids and families but very few teenagers and not much for a teenager to do on his own. I wouldn't recommend it to someone thinking of taking their teenage son or daughter on holiday unless you plan on spending a lot of time on the road but I certainly would recommend it to everyone else. It is a great place for kid in the wilderness and peaceful for anyone looking to relax and a great base for exploring the lake district without paying the premium that parks inside the national park charge. They rent caravans as well as sell them and rent permanent sites, now with piped gas which is a nice luxury to have in the middle of nowhere! They can also sort out the garden for you and build decking etc if you want it. There is a spacious area for tourers at the bottom end with electricity and a shower block. Security is excellent with key-operated barriers controlling entrance to the site and intruders are rare seeing as the site is quite isolated.

I still visit every now and again to spend a week at my aunt's caravan- it has since developed more woodland walks and expanded in size (sort of a shame seeing as there used to be much more woodland). It also has a good adventure playground and wifi facilities now. In short, check it out and I'm sure you'll fall in love with it and dream of owning a holiday home here to retreat to on the weekends! I fell in love with the surrounding area so much that I chose to go to Lancaster University in order to enjoy it more!

A few negatives and pointers: The isolated location means it is a long drive to a shop (there isn't one on site) and you have to go to Carnforth or Morcambe for a supermarket, restaurant etc. With petrol prices as they are this is something to consider. There is also a very popular diving centre down the road and the road is very narrow so the traffic can block the road up at times (although they have taken measures to improve this dramatically). It has very little by way of entertainment so if you are looking for a sort of holiday park with a pub, swimming pool etc this isn't the place. Lastly- try the Longlands Hotel about 3 miles down the road for live music and good food in a lovely setting.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pick a spot on the old site (the one where the office is)- for me the area is just more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Public Relations Manager at Old Hall Caravan Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such an in-depth review of our park!

As stated in response to a more recent review, we don't have much on site in order to maintain a sense of "getting away from it all", which is what most of our customers are looking for. We are only 5 minutes from the motorway, and there are a couple of nice pubs within walking distance.

The park has expanded, but we are still set in about 70 acres of woodland, and we have also expanded the woodland walks to make the woodland more accessible and enjoyable for people on site.

Also, just need to point out that all of the static caravans are privately owned, and we do not actually hire out any static caravans. We do, however, have a few short stay pitches for individuals with touring caravans.

Thanks again for your comments, and hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have a touring caravan and because of the rising fuel costs we decided to put it on a site for the season this year. We found Old Hal Caravan Park which is a lovely site set in woodland. It is within easy reach of the Lakedistrict, Trough of Bowland and the Irish Sea coast. The staff and owners of the site are very friendly and accessible. We will definately stay for another season.

Dave and Joan 12

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Excelent site everyone make's you feel welcome immidiately, all the facilities are immaculate the wardens John and Betty are always there if you want their help.

TAKE A LOOK AT THIS BRILLIANT SITE.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheRays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carnforth hotels
2.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carnforth
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
South Lakeland Leisure Village
2.1 mi away
The George Washington
The George Washington
#1 of 2 in Warton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Caravan Park

Property: Old Hall Caravan Park
Address: Capernwray Road, Carnforth LA6 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Hall Caravan Park 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Old Hall Caravan Park Carnforth, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing