We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Cowan Bridge Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Carnforth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tea Room
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stopped here for lunch on the way up to the Lakes. Great salads,local pies, gravy in a jug for your hand cut chips! lovely specials as well ,all for a very reasonable price. had to try the cakes which were fabulous. Tea was served in a big teapot and china cups and saucers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoughboroughPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great menu choices and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stopped here for lunch after recommendation and found a very good choice of items on the menu, all served by very polite staff. My partner had corned beef hash in yorkshire pudding, which he found very yummy, and I had egg mayo sandwich with delcious proper home-made chips and good side salad. Good value for money. The cakes all looked great but we were too full to try them, so will have to come back another time for those. Definately recommended to anyone who is passing, or staying nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We have passed this tea room several times before we decided to stop. We wish we had stopped sooner. A lovely quaint tea rooms with very good menu choices. There was a lovely selection of cakes that tasted as good as they looked. It was lovely to have our tea in china cups and saucers and also liked the hand knitted tea cosy on each teapot. The service was very friendly and courteous. We will be stopping here again in the future. Ideal for a quick snack or a full meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hcbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great little tea room”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We visited this little tea room quite by chance whilst travelling back from the Lakes and are very glad we did. One of the two owners served us and he was exceptionally hospitable. The food was excellent, all home made and the cakes delicious, again home made; only issue we had was the choice of cakes was too vast and we had all on to avoid greed setting in.

We will definately be visiting this lovely little place when we next venture out that way. The decor is excellent and the warmth of the staff is only exceeded by the quality of the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Good coffee which is always a bonus and reasonably priced food. If you are looking for fast food this is not for you but if you want a traditional tea room then try it out. Great selection of proper old fashioned sweets!
Only negative is the loo, through the shop and in the car park. Not ideal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yorkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowan Bridge Tea Room also viewed

 
Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Bolton le Sands, Lancashire
 

Been to Cowan Bridge Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing