We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent lodge”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Runners Retreat Lodge,veiw from lake decking wonderfull
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Runners Retreat Lodge,veiw from lake decking wonderfull
Entrance to Runners Retreat  Lodge situated on the Lake Side Lounge complete with leather sofa`s T.V. DVD, feature fireplace with electric fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
4 reviews
Runners Retreat Lodge,veiw from lake decking wonderfull
Entrance to Runners Retreat  Lodge situated on the Lake Side
Lounge complete with leather sofa`s T.V. DVD, feature fireplace with electric fire
By wall light
Dining Area with the Lake all around
Fully fitted kitchen Dishwasher full hob oven fridge freezer
And so to bed
Twin Bedroom full size single beds
View to the left from the deck
View to the right from the deck
Outdoor dining yes ! it is the lake behind
Fully fitted kitchen inc dishwasher fridge freezer oven grill and 4 burner hob
Cosy evenings in
Family Bathroom with shower over bath
Estuary at River Lune Morecambe bay
Leisure villaage facilities sandy play area in front of outdoor tables and chairs
Gym in the leisure facilities
River at Devils bridge Kirby Lonsdale 8 miles
Cycling on the canal
Lake Windermere 15 miles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carnforth, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sue B
Shipley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March. Beautiful view of the Lake and it was great to watch the nesting Grebes, even our 4 year old was intrigued! The lodge was very clean, warm and cosy and we wanted for nothing. The site is lovely, very handy for the South Lakes which is quieter than the more popular areas but also not too far from Windermere for more action!
The site is very nice, very clean, the only downsides were the pool being a bit chilly and the lack of local real ales in the bar, a shame as there are plenty of excellent breweries on the doorstep..could also benefit from a play area for the kiddies but there is a beach area very close to the bar which is handy! All in all lovely.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thank you I am pleased the lodge was everything you wanted. I will take your comments on the pool and play area to the management of the leisure village. Would love to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and welcoming lodge in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We initially chose the site because it was easy to get to from the M6 and almost halfway between us and our other family members. The proximity means you can hear the traffic, buit we never found this to be a problem as it was naturally quieter in the evenings and at night. We booked this lodge at short notice and found the owner very friendly and helpful. The lodge was clean and contained everything we could need. The weather was very kind to us, and being able to open the french windows and sit on the deck overlooking the lake each morning was a joy. The wildlife is entertaining - a mother duck came onto the deck a couple of times (minus her complaining brood) and stared at us through the window, expecting tidbits! My husband enjoyed an early swim in the pool each morning, and we had a delicious meal in the onsite pub one evening. We'll definitely be back :)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: having lots of of windows / the deck overlooking the lake
Liked least: the suite was a wee bit soft
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fitted the bill perfectly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The accomodation was perfect in size and facilities for a family of two adults and two young children (6 & 4). The location is very convenient for exploring the area and the swimming pool and lake were very welcome attractions for the children. Only downside - shame the swimming pool on site is not free to residents. The accomodation was spotlessly clean and well furnished & decorated. We will certainly be back.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Homeliness
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2012
Thank you we appreciate you taking the time to review Runners Retreat lodge. We as lodge owners we totally agree with you but we have no control over the leisure village facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$103
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by manager
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing