We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Great Railway Adventure, Southport to Whitby on the Esk Valley Explorer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Coast Railways

West Coast Railways
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Carnforth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
wigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Great Railway Adventure, Southport to Whitby on the Esk Valley Explorer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

We traveled on The Esk Valley Explorer, from Southport to Whitby
We joined at Wigan, the train arrived on time much to the confusion of the commuters to Manchester.

There was as previously described three levels of service available, Premier dining; 1st Class with cream tea and pasties and a standard service with buffet cart. We opted for Premier dining with full English Breakfast, Pastries at Eleven and a Four Course Silver Service Meal on The Return.
The carriage was extremely comfortable with the classic table with a lamp, already laid in preparation for our journey. The classic layout of the carriage meant that each table has its own full window. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and we were plied with a full English Breakfast, and tea and coffee as we sped along.

We had about 3 hours in Whitby on beautiful day.

On the return the table was already laid in preparation for our return journey. The staff were again very welcoming and helpful and we were plied with a full Four Course Silver Service Meal.

A Great Railway Adventure

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank leesedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stop Over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

I called in to Carnforth and had a walk over to the back of the yard. The last time " about 4 years ago " you could see all round but now it is so over grown you can't see very much. It looks so much run down it is a shame. There seemed to be more Loco's not working than working Loco's. Come on Wcrc sort yourselves out please. Get a tidy up and get it back to how it used to be.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scarborough Spa Express August 2016”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016

The whole journey in premier class was as expected. Very good. The service level was excellent the served breakfast was just right enough to fill and start the day. The train itself was an experience to remember and the company at the shared table was good. The time in Scarborough was cut short by the rain. But that's British summer. The return was just as good as the outward but with a served 4 course meal to enjoy. Sitting in the seats for a 5hrs+ trip wasn't as bad as it could've been, not stiff and cramped at journeys end

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank dillaneous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Scarborough Spa Express”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2016

We boarded the train at Preston and was surprised to find the train to be powered by diesel .We boarded the train found our seats easy, the passengers already on the train informed us the train was only powered by steam engine from York to Scarborough. We realised this information is in small print on a flyer, we had which we had missed. reading.As we only travelled to York we didn't get much of a steam experience..
How ever this didn't spoil the day. we travelled in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and their were fantastic scenery ,the Stewart in our carriage did a wonderful job.
We had a lovely time in York and every one we meet were friendly and helpful. We got some lovely photos of both the steam and Diesel engines .We came home tired but happy after having a wonderful day out .
.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank CarmelGirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scarborough Spa Express”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016

From the moment we boarded the train at Carnforth we were given first class service. We travelled Premier Dining which was superb. Breakfast on the way to Scarborough, then 4 course meal on the return journey while we watched the stunning scenery speed past. Comfortable seats - beautiful old carriages, felt as if we were in an Agatha Christie film!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Railways also viewed

 
Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to West Coast Railways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing