We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfy friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Station Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carnforth
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, comfy friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We (me, husband and 18 month old) stayed here for one night in September and it was great. We had loads of space in the room. The bathroom although a bit dated was very clean. We had a great nights sleep and had breakfast in the pub the next morning. This was great value and the baby was well looked after. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    10
    8
    17
See reviews for
18
20
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just returned from a pleasant stay at this hotel. Reading comments on trip-advisor was a bit apprehensive. We were pleasantly surprised with our room number 21. It was spacious and airy with soft clean bedding and towels, we had a nice view overlooking the Carnforth train station.

The breakfast was excellent. We had the Mega Breakfast which was enough to fill the biggest of appetites, served by a friendly host. So if your looking for a reasonably priced hotel look no further.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a spacious family room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDobsons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Although my husband and I can look back on our two night stay here believe me at the time it was far from funny!
Firstly I must say that the hotel has great potential. It is just across from Carnforth Station where Brief Encounter the classic 1940's film was set and the station has been lovingly restored and is a joy.
The hotel has an impressive staircase and if you look hard beyond the dusty fake flowers and gruesome decor you can see that if this place was restored to its former glory, say as a 1940's themed destination it would, coupled with Carnforths period charm be a unique venue.
Unfortunately not one thing about the Royal Station in its present state suggests this without using a very overactive imagination.
The bar which is used for breakfast was dirty, shabby and dingy and the Manager behind the bar seemed to be the only staff member in the whole place.
After a mumbled welcome we tridged up the staircase to make our way to the impressively named "four poster room". We opened the door tentatively to reveal a very dated shabby room which looked to be full of cast off mismatched furniture.
The bathroom, behind a sliding door was CARPETTED!! in the same stained sticky pinkish carpet that covered the rest of the room - shoes on for the duration then!!
We were then dismayed to discover that our view was of a dirty yard and just outside our window was a landing of the fire escape that was literally covered in dog poo!!!
The aforementioned Manager looked so complacently destroyed by the place that rather than asking, we replaced the provided half a toilet roll ourselves along with milk from the nearby supermarket.
The man looked as if he had given up and his only real conversation was about how he had spent money on a new stair carpet and the fact that the brewery would not spend a penny on the place.
On the second night the wastebin in the room had not been emptied, nor had the tea and coffee been replaced.
Breakfast was an experience. We payed extra on top of the room rate to be served nearly raw microwaved bacon along with the very basics of a barely acceptable plate of food. There was toast but no cereal, no fruit and the fusty room full of flies did nothing to add to the picture.
On our second and last night we were amazed to see that a family of 3 adults and three children came in for breakfast, ate it and disappeared without paying. They were not residents and the Manager just shrugged and pulled an even more miserable face for the rest of breakfast.
We could have gone somewhere else its true, we could have complained but we just sort of carried on and tried to make the best of it as if we were in some sort of endurance test which seems odd now looking back, considering that the stay was not extremely cheap and we are not the sort of people to say nothing as a rule.
This hotel could be lovely, It needs someone to rescue it, to,make the most of its location and enhance its charms but it is sadly failing spectacularly and its a great shame.

Room Tip: Rellly sorry but my tip to select a good room would be to carry on looking at other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carnforth hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family and I walked in the hotel after driving from down south visiting my parents we received a warm welcome and stayed in a family room which was clean and comfortable .we had evening meal and breakfast which were great value for money. everyone was kind and helpful we left the next morning and would definitely stay again .


  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymandycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Only booked one night here due to daughters work and honestly was considering sleeping in my car. Bad enough that their were dogs in the room next door that barked, but the smell...oh!! I opened the door to the bathroom and the smell of urine or dog or a mixture of the 2 was over powering. I had to brush my teeth holding my nose. The toilet water was yellow, indicating it hadn't been flushed. The carpet in the bathroom didn't fit so was a trip hazard and the walls were filthy. I couldn't walk on the carpet bare footed. Then their was the itching, my daughter itched in bed all night. We got to sleep at 2.30am then were woken at 8.45am by the fire alarm. Luckily a false alarm. Couldn't have a hot drink as refused to put the water from the bathroom in the kettle. We just paid £40 a night half board in the most amazing 3* hotel in Tenerife. To pay £45 bed only is a rip off. Nothing in Carnforth to see. Hotel lists many "facilities" on its website-they are local attractions to Blackpool/morecombe, NOT hotel facilities. refused to pay for the breakfast let alone eat it as if they can't clean a toilet then I would hate to see the kitchen. I am not a fussy person, just expect a clean environment. This was not clean! One bonus was the bed was reasonably comfortable but I daren't look at the mattress. My advice is pay a bit extra and stay in Lancaster or Morecombe!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned from a night in this hotel and all we can say is "yuk"...

One positive, they got the room ready an hour earlier than the usual check-in time after our journey up from London to allow us to get ready for a wedding. Other than this it was an sad excuse for a 3* hotel, I do agree with some on here that the building is lovely etc but once you step through the doors it's anything but.
Our first experience was arriving, standing in the reception/hall waiting for some action, it took the male staff member three times of walking past us before he asked if he could help, I asked if there was a car park as where I was parked was restricted his response was very unhelpful and I left to ask another local. As we were an hour earlier than we planned we took a walk around the village.
On our return we were greeted by two ladies, one in a dirty pinny, smoking on the entrance steps, once all inside she shouted in that she wouldn't be a minute, finishing her cigarette. She came and handed our keys to us but failed to instruct us where we were going or numbers, that we had to work out ourselves.
We were in room 17 (I see another pair have had a bad experience in this room) all of us were speechless on opening the door, we didn't know if eyes or nose was the worst experience. Sadly we had no time to dilly dally as we had to get to a wedding, fortunately though we had showered and just needed to get dressed and made up, in all honesty I wouldn't put my dog in the shower we were expected to use, the entire room was grubby, damp and filthy, the sink hasn't been fixed since the last comments either!!
We (had two rooms booked) decided to get up EARLY and hit the road home as we didn't want to spend anymore time than necessary in there. At 5am we were awoken by a delivery truck, horns and other noises out the window.
All in all an awful place that needs sorting ASAP, not worth £4.50 a night let alone £45, will not be returning, will be complaining to the owners and laterooms for our experience as on that site it states it was 7.1 miles from the wedding venue, when in fact it was 24 miles.
Thank goodness for jack Daniels, gin and a good wedding to help us sleep a little!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeleylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is basic and dated but it does have a good side. The building itself has a lot of character.
The owner told us he was getting various work done so parts of the hotel were very contemporary our room being one of the rooms needing work but it was clean. The owners were very apologetic about problems we had which were minor and the breakfast was spot on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarriortone73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
2.3 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
8.4 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Market Street, Carnforth LA5 9BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Station Hotel Carnforth, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing