We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned Hotel in the nicest sense” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Severn Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Severn Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Hotel in the nicest sense”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The owners are very welcoming and attentive.The room was comfortable albeit not en-suite.The bathroom was across the landing and the shower head needed serious de-scaling with the water very cool until run for quite a while. Slightly disturbed by traffic noise being on front of building but more so from the heavy bass from" music" in the venue opposite. The breakfast is the crowning glory with instant service from the owners. Overall the ambiance is very nice , it was excellent value for money and would definitely stay again if in that part of the world

Room Tip: Seek a room on the rear of the hotel for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgriffjones65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
25
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Severn Arms hotel has a lovely location at the bottom of Bridgnorth's cliffs and by the river.
The hosts were welcoming and friendly and allowed us to store our biked in their outside vaults/shed.
The rooms were clean and comfy and breakfast was great. They were very helpful with recommendations of where to eat - a lovely place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMacN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral, uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

A lovely friendly Hotel next door to the famous cliff railway. The Hotel is very well run by hosts Rob and Caroline who also cook an excellent delicious breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble they even directed us to a cheap local car park.
Our room looked over the River Severn which had many different breeds of ducks, birds and swans which was very pretty to see. Lower Bridgnorth has pubs restaurants and icecream shops and it's is a nice walk up to the upper town.
The railway charges £1.20 return, worth it for the views. Once up in the town there are many shops, pubs and restaurants, we sampled The Kings head which was excellent with delicious food plus a few real ales and plenty of wine choices. At the rear of the Kings head is Stables wine bar a fun vibrant place.
Whilst in this area especially if you have a car it's easy to get to visit other places such as Shrewsbury which is a lovely full day out or Ironbridge. We also visited Much Wenlock.
We will book again and stay at The Severn Arms which was a lovely comfortable place to stay Thank you....

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champagnequeen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Had a really good three day visit here with my wife and 80 year old mother in law. Although lazy people might resent the fact that there is no parking on the premises, the owners, Rob and Caroline, were extremely helpful in assisting with unloading and then directing one to a nearby car park, which is laughably cheap by normal car park standards. The rooms were large comfortable, the breakfasts outstanding and best of all the owners are genuinely friendly and helpful people, who obviously took a great deal of pride in making one feel welcome and and at home. They very kindly prepared a meal for my mother in law on the one evening when she was too exhausted to go out and it was a very good one, I gather. The location of the hotel is great, with easy access up the steps to the town centre, where there are numerous good restaurants. The cliff railway is also right beside the hotel for those who need assistance in ascending. Bridgnorth is a great little place too, so I would definitely return and if at all possible stay in this hotel again. I have no hesitation at all in highly recommending it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Severn Arms Hotel for a couple of nights during half term. The owners are very welcoming and make sure that you have all the information you need for exploring the area. The rooms are lovely with tea/coffee making facilities & everything you’d expect in a hotel room. The breakfast is excellent; there’s a great selection of both cooked breakfast and cereal etc...
This hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the Severn Railway Station and the upper town where there are plenty of shops and restaurants.
The bathroom was quite basic but it was clean so this wasn’t a problem. A couple of the rooms don’t have en suite so there is a shared bathroom on the landing which could disturb people while they are sleeping.
Overall, this is a lovely little hotel and is great for families. We had a great time- thank-you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I got engaged here and the evening was perfect, the hotel is in a great location, it is clean with a pleasant atmosphere and I loved the room I found it to be quaint and olde worlde and the view over looking the river was nice. We had flowers champagne and chocolates waiting for us as our mom had phoned the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange it and the owners did a wonderful job of it. Breakfast was also delicious :) would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

we arrived at the hotel just after noon on valentines day only to be told the room wasn't quite ready for us but the owner said we could leave bags while we went to explore.we came back a couple of hours later to find our bags had been taken to our room upon entering the room we had the most fantastic view of the river Severn even better we had sunshine that made watching the swans and ducks from your bedroom window rather enjoyable the room was quite large clean and the most comfy bed we have ever stayed in the night life was a bit of a let down saying it was valentines night it was strangely quiet everywhere but a few drinks soon made up for that we were asked the night before what time we wanted breakfast any time between 7.30 and 9 was offered so we went for 8.30 my fiancé is vegetarian and im considering it so to be offered that option at breakfast was a nice touch we came down to breakfast at 8.30 as agreed and were told to sit were we wanted in the dining room then offered the choice of tea or coffee we both went for coffee that was freshly brewing in the peculator we were also were offered cereal with a wide choice available the manager asked if we wanted 1 or 2 eggs as we were having the veggie option we opted for 1 when breakfast arrived wow all i can say 1 grilled tomato 2 hash browns 1 egg beans and 6 slices of toast to share we were even offered more toast but as the breakfast was so yummy and filling we declined after we finished the owners wife asked us if everything was OK with breakfast big fat yes she even found time to have a friendly chat and tell us the history of the hotel nice touch we went upstairs after breakfast to get our things to check out that also was a friendly fast transaction so would we stay here again you bet we would 1000000% so please ignore any bad reviews on here these guys work damm hard to make your stay as nice as possible thanks guys hope to see you again soon

Room Tip: ask for a river view room fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmonhelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
3.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The George
The George
#8 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#2 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Severn Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Severn Arms Hotel

Property: The Severn Arms Hotel
Address: 3 Underhill Street, Bridgnorth WV16 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Severn Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Severn Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Severn Arms Hotel Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing