We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“location location location... but there is a fly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Views from the garden looking down to the River Severn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views from the garden looking down to the River Severn.
View down Cartway Donkey Shed Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Views from the garden looking down to the River Severn.
View down Cartway
Donkey Shed Cottage
Multi fuel stove in inglenook fire place.
Kitchen
Views from the kitchen
Walk in shower
View of St Mary Magdalen church through castle gardens Bridgnorth.
Cosy lounge leading through to kitchen
Bedroom.
Neighbours beautiful flower display.
Bridgnorth cliff railway
Cosy lounge.
Kitchen
Large  walking shower
View of the Bridge over the River Severn from the bedroom.
View from the bedroom window.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bridgnorth, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
colin b
Crystal River, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“location location location... but there is a fly in my chardonnay!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Authentic Cartway property lovingly restored but holding many of original features Bryan was there to greet and orchestrate our landing... earlier than scheduled 10:00 am after an international flight. The accommodation is extremely clean - we were almost unaware of the pet presence... some allergy pills helped Kim through that. For two people this was perfect - just a few steps to the high street and in particular the start of the Bridgnorth Walk. Bryan did state that parking was a free for all - and even with the vouchers he provided, I often had to park the car in the high st and move it somewhere else at 7:30 in the morning. Not sure where the name came from. A friend's great aunt used to live there in the 60's and never heard it called the donkey shed... which might give the wrong impression anyway as it is a little palace!! If we did not have the encumbrance of the car we would be back there in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2018
Hi Colin thank you for your review and kind words about our cottage.Regarding pets we do say on the booking form that small dogs are welcome and previous reviews do mention that they had a dog.
The name Donkey Shed Cottage is used as it was the last known property on Cartway where they kept Donkeys that used to pull the carts from the river in low town to the high town.The shed in the garden is grade ll listed.This is hi-lighted in the leaflet we leave in the cottage.As I explained you can also use the parking permit on Riverside where spaces are more readily available with no time restrictions.I was aware you had just come off a long flight and did not take in all the info I was giving you.I will leave info on parking in the cottage in future. Sorry about the fly in your Chardonnay Hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie69d...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint Little Cottage”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Met by Bryan, so surprised by the lovely cottage. So cosy and well equipped, beautiful fragrant lillies filled the room. Loved the donkey shed, especially on a sunny day, looking out at the view, with a glass of wine! Kaiser had fun too, he met a friend next door and kept going in garden to look for him. Loved the walks and browsing the shops and local pubs for lunch and dinner. We would have booked again, but Kaiser is now 11 and wouldn't have been able to manage the steep stairs. I also may have had trouble, knee replacement few months ago. We would not hesitate to book again in the future.....

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thep0well...
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in fantastic town”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent cottage, we would definitely recommend. Everything was provided to make sure we had an amazing stay. Bridgnorth is a gem and this cottage is so close to town everything is on your doorstep.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welltrave...
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in a Brilliant Location”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Donkey Shed Cottage is a lovely place within 200 metres of Bridgnorth Town Centre. Bryan, the owner was there to meet us when we arrived and showed us through the cottage and explained where everything was and how everything works. The cottage has everything that you could possibly need during your stay and everything is first class. Our 2 cats loved exploring the cottage and quickly settled in here. We will certainly be returning to this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing