We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Down Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Down Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely accommodation (room 1), tastefully furnished, happy and welcoming staff, great pub food and good choice.. Rural location but only 4 miles from Bridgnorth. VFM. Although a roadside location, very little traffic noise through the evening/night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claytods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    58
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
98
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Recently stayed for 2 nights with my wife and can only say hats off to the owners and staff. The price was incredible for 2 nights B + B. The food is great and the Carvery leaves you stuffed for days. Great place with easy access to Bridgnorth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just back form a nights stay at this lovely inn. Friendly staff, clean and perfectly adequate room, tastly decorated except for the spooky Hare hangers! But a talking piece between the 4 couples that all stayed here :-)
Breakfast was delicious and more than enough food! Will definitely be back as the carvery looked amazing!!
Thank you for a lovely venue for our get together

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sallystewart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The family visited The Down Inn today which is Mother's Day. We had an absolutely fab lunch. We had a starter of Pate which was delicious, we then had the Carvery with a choice of pork, beef and turkey, a number of vegetables it was delightful. BUT when the pudding menu arrived my husband almost fell to the floor as the most important pudding of all was missing. They had changed the pudding menu and taken off the treacle sponge and my husband was distraught, he so looks forward to his treacle sponge. They had replaced it with sticky toffee pudding and when it arrived my husband said it was just not the same, his bottom lip dropped and he ate the desert but really wished it had been the treacle sponge. We called over Steve the owner and informed him that we were distraught to have lost a favourite off the menu. He did say that a number of people had commented on the missing treacle sponge and that he may have to look at this again. Hopefully next time we go for lunch it will be back on the menu and normality can reign again. I tasted the sticky toffee pudding and it was smashing - it would not do for us all to be the same. Looking forward to our next visit. This is our favourite eating place, the staff are lovely and polite and always accommodating. Well worth a visit as you will probably return again and again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgnorth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

stayed one night to attend a function and could not fault a thing. Room as good as anything I have paid much more for and the breakfast excellent.
So good we are looking to celebrate a forthcoming birthday and have the family stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Best carvery I have every had. We pulled on the car park and it was full, just managed to get a space. Walked in and the place was very busy, we were expecting to be turned away so I asked how long the wait was for Sunday lunch to be told 10 minutes. We sat down with our drinks and just five or six minutes later we were told we could visit the carvery when we were ready. I had all three meats and I could not fault either. Beautiful selection of veg and the staff were excellent too. I can highly recommend this place for a carvery. We will be returning to try the evening menu.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lashers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The best Carvery we have ever been too. Had a four night stay in this area and visited every night. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Brilliant. Great selection of vegetables, beautifully presented. Had to ask the chef to stop putting meat on our plates. Good selection of meats on the Carvery and great choice on the menu too. Certainly hope to visit again. Thank you so much.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
5.5 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.4 mi away
The George
The George
#8 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Down Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Down Inn

Property: The Down Inn
Address: The Down | Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 6UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Down Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Down Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Down Hotel Bridgnorth
The Down Inn Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing