We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of The Down Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Down Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I booked a room at The Down Inn last year (2013) for me and my partner through booking.com. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from staff members who quickly and efficiently showed us to our room. The room itself was furnished beautifully with a warm cosy and luxury country feel and we were both very impressed as it was a very spacious room with an equally impressive en-suite bathroom with both bath and shower facilities and excellent linen. We sat down that night in the restaurant and had what I can only explain as an exquisite carvery in a busy yet warm and comfy atmosphere. We had an excellent sleep in the beautiful solid wood bed provided. As a whole we would definitely return and recommend The Down Inn highly for a nice country getaway with brilliant service all round.

Regards
A&J

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for The Down Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Visited The Downes upon a friends recommendation, for my birthday. Thought it was going to be a little pub with basic food, how wrong could I be! The menu had a good choice to cover all tastes and the Cavery is on everyday, the vegetarian choices were great and the staff were more than accommodating with dietary needs. It was a large pub with lots of space and seating, it was busy so would advise pre booking. A fantastic experience, with lovely staff will definitely be returning! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed on 21 June 2014. Was a little disapointed it wasn't in Bridgnorth itself but that was actually better for us in the end and we were glad we found it.
Rooms were lovely size, great bathroom with toiletries provided. Piping hot water.
Bed was comfy and plenty big enough.
Breakfast was fantastic with as much choice as you could ask for. Good coffee too is always a bonus.
Large car park.
The only "complaint" we have is that the floorboards outside our room were squeeky so when people passed they creaked. Definately not a deal breaker though!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just back from an overnight stay at the Down Inn. It was a spur of the moment decision and based on previous reviews we booked a single night. It was an inspired choice. It is set in lovely surroundings just outside Bridgnorth. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant was very busy so that speaks volumes. The meal was great and my expectations for the carvery were well and truly exceeded. We had a really great stay and hope to be back in the near future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chiefofcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I thought I had to write to say what a great stay we had here over the last weekend. My wife and I met up with 5 other friends and family for 3 days and we were delighted with everything about this place. Nothing was too much bother, everything was to a high standard and the room was just superb.

We were lucky to meet up when the Inn was celebrating an anniversary and the place was packed. We were treated to a finger buffet and a live band - a great night - what I remember of it :)

Breakfast on both days was just right, all the food was properly cooked and on time, served with a welcoming smile.

We all met up for dinner on the Saturday evening and everyone was blown away by the standards of the food, the service and the portions.

I would recommend The Down Inn to anyone - hard to fault.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis10_4_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for two nights over the Easter break. Friendly welcome when we arrived, room very spacious and comfortable. Good choice on menu or carvery available. Food very good and reasonably priced.

Good location just outside of Bridgnorth, plenty of parking. Woke to country sounds in the morning, birds, sheep and a tractor!

Would recommend and hopefully revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely accommodation (room 1), tastefully furnished, happy and welcoming staff, great pub food and good choice.. Rural location but only 4 miles from Bridgnorth. VFM. Although a roadside location, very little traffic noise through the evening/night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claytods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgnorth
5.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
216 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
426 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 29 in Bridgnorth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 29 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
136 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Down Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Down Inn

Address: The Down | Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 6UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range: £75 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Down Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Down Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Down Hotel Bridgnorth
The Down Inn Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing