We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Lion Inn

The Golden Lion Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgnorth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Golden Lion Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Wetherby
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I agree with the reviews insofar as this accommodation is comfortable if quirky . Bear in mind the building is old so nothing is level. The beds were comfortable and provided the neighbours nearby did not hold an all night rave, then a good nights sleep was achieved, on two of the three nights we stayed. This was not the fault of The Golden Lion I hasten to add. Breakfast was adequate for our liking and the location central to the delightful town. Downside was the shower was pathetic. OK, it worked but only just. At least the water was hot. If you are visiting to see the town centre and require parking then this is the place. Reasonably priced and even better if you are a family sharing one room, the pricing structure is attractive. Just bear in mind the Saturday night, Sunday morning entertainment, courtesy of some selfish residents in housing nearby, which didn't stop until 5am!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Genuine old pub with comfortable accommodation. Breakfast and lunchtime food only but plenty of restaurants adjacent and nearby. excellent real ales. plenty of seating in public or lounge bars.No piped music which is a relief. great place to stay or drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Comfortable rooms, friendly people and private parking. The only reason I didn't give a full 5 rating is because the English breakfast is adequate but a little small for my liking, but maybe i'm just greedy. I'm sure it's fine for 'normal, non-greedy' people! :-) In any case, should we come back to the area, we would stay there again. .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 001BeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatleguide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Loved this place - never really stayed in a pub/hotel before, but this place was so warm and friendly I would certainly try again. Great location on the high street with plenty of parking at the back. Lovely breakfast and staff who couldn't do enough to help you. Wil be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beatleguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
208 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Golden Lion is roght in the heart of Bridgnorth, handy for shops, eateries, only a short walk to Severn Valley Railway. My room was at eth back of the pub - spacious and comfy, with an en-suite down a couple of steps. Breakfast was good and hearty. Pleasant traditional pub with real ales.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bassa Villa
Bassa Villa
#3 of 7 in Bridgnorth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George
The George
#8 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Inn

Property: The Golden Lion Inn
Address: 83 High Street, Bridgnorth WV16 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Golden Lion Inn Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing