We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Churchdown House

Churchdown House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgnorth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Churchdown House
Ranked #11 of 29 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This B & B is absolutely perfect in every way. It is a beautiful period house in a quiet cul de sac in the High Town area of Bridgnorth. our room was beautiful, airy and spacious with a large bed. The bathroom was across the landing for our sole use and bathrobes were provided for our convenience. Breakfasts were huge. there was juice, a selection of cereals and lovely fresh fruit salad. This was followed by a plate of sausages, bacon, field mushrooms, tomatoesand Alison's speciality Shropshire cakes. Her stated aim is that we should not need lunch, she suceeded.
Alison and Jonathan were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt as if we were leaving friends at the end of our visit. Can't wait to return!
Bridgnorth is a lovely town, ther are plenty of eating & drinking establishments, a Saturday market, a cliff railway and even a steam railway. Shropshire is a beautiful county with so many interesting places to visit.

Room Tip: Our room was the Gold room at the front of the house. It was large and sunny.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Churchdown House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at Churchdown House and I cannot speak highly enough of our stay. It's a wonderful house, stylish and elegant. In a street of other beautiful houses, it stands out.
Alison & Jonathan could not have been more friendly, they did everything they could to make us welcome. Including allowing us to park our car in their garage!
Our room was decorated to a high standard and very clean. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and there was plenty of hot water, nice towels, in fact; everything provided for our comfort. As other reviewers have stated, the Shropshire breakfast was really something.....
I would have no hesitation in recommending this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: The Green room overlooking the garden was lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for two nights over the Easter Weekend Our hosts couldn't have been more accommodating, they really know how to look after their guests . Our room was at the front, it was a beautiful spacious room, the bathroom was on the landing opposite which wasn't a problem. The house is situated on a very quiet street near the castle , there was no road noise and parking wasn't a problem, even for our large camper van. Breakfast was lovely , fresh fruit and cereals followed by a full English, even easter eggs on Easter Sunday.
Alison and Jonathan are perfect hosts, thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmemberLancs_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Thank you Alison and Jonathan for a very enjoyable stay. The house is a delight, a step back in time in a lovely quiet street right in the heart of the High Town part of Bridgnorth. Interior decor is in keeping with the age of the house, but very comfortable armchairs and bed. Our room was spacious and well appointed.

We enjoyed the breakfast and most of all the company of our very attentive hosts. Parking can be a challenge in Bridgnorth, and part of the attraction of this B and B was that it has spaces available.

We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Both myself and my wife have stayed at the Churchdown House in Bridgnorth in July, while attending a wedding of an old school friend of mine. This location was suggested to us by an old friend of the family, and we were certainly not disappointed. The property is positioned in one of the prettiest streets in town, very close to the High Street as well as the many historic local attractions. A lovely Georgian house of generous proportions stands proud near St. Mary's Church, benefiting from well-kept gardens, that can only be enjoyed in England.
Staying with Jonathan and Alison, most perfect hosts, was a memorable experience, which both of us shall cherish for a long time to come. The accommodation was superb, as indeed was the cooked breakfast.
No doubt, both our hosts will remember our visit for some time to come. As we do not travel light (something I do not recommend), I should like to offer my sincere thanks to Jonathan and Alison on behalf of my wife, myself, our 3 suitcases, numerous bags and a newly acquired set of golf clubs for coping with us so well and thank you for your hospitality, help and understanding. What can say, we have taken over your house for three days, and we have certainly enjoyed it.
Oh, yes...Jonathan, many thanks for the music, "The Italian Job", I have listened to and so enjoyed during my return drive thorough Switzerland - the most calming influence. I felt though, if there was one thing I was missing, it was a parachute.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martincaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a lovely Georgian home with many nice touches to make you feel right at home. We stayed in the bedroom at the front of the house but didn't hear any noise even though the windows were wide open as it was so warm. Parking was provided which is good as most of the other accommodation in the town didn't seem to have any. Our room wasn't ensuite but we had our own private bathroom across the landing and it wasn't a problem. The room was very spacious and decorated to match it's Georgian heritage. the bed was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast was good, lovely fruit salad although there was a wide choice of cereal, followed by a full Shropshire! Bridgnorth is a lovely spot and this B&B was in the best street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashirelass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I am posting this on behalf of my parents Bob & Sandra. We recently stayed at Churchdown for 3 nights mid week. We were met with the warmest of welcomes, and the accommodation outstanding. The breakfast was excellent. Alison and Johnathon were wonderful hosts, and if we visit Bridgnorth again we would definitely return. Thanks for a lovely time, felt like visiting family.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Justinevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
3.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 29 in Bridgnorth
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 29 in Bridgnorth
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Severn Arms Hotel
The Severn Arms Hotel
#9 of 29 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 29 in Bridgnorth
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 29 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchdown House

Address: 14 East Castle Street, Bridgnorth WV16 4AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet no-through road right at the heart of Shropshire's market town of Bridgnorth, Alison and Jonathon Mawdsley offer excellent accommodation in their Georgian townhouse. VisitBritain 5* and Silver Hospitality accreditation plus a tourist board award for the excellent breakfasts ensures Churchdown House offers the ideal base for business and leisure guests alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchdown House Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing