We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for afternoon tea”

The Winding House Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Bridgnorth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A delightful Victorean inspired licensed tea room with a beautiful garden terrace and glorious views over the River Severn and Low Town. Serving light lunches, morning and afternoon tea seven days a week (Please note that we only use fresh ingredients delivered daily, therefore it is always best to book at least 24hrs in advance for Afternoon Teas to avoid disappointment. Due to the unique nature and quaint charm of our property our kitchen is very small and this may cause delays during busy periods however we will make sure that it was worth the wait!! You can watch the Cliff Railway operating and see the winding house for the railway in action from the tea rooms. We offer exceptional service and food made fresh on the premises using local ingredients, make this place a must see on a visit to Bridgnorth.
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun place for afternoon tea”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had tea here on a rainy afternoon, which was a shame as the garden wasn't open. The 1940s theme was fun but the cake menu was a little disappointing (I'd have preferred home cooked sponge or fruit cake to crumpets or scones). Having said that the scones were clearly home made and very tasty and the view of the cliff rail was interesting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    39
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty but food inconsistent”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Went for lunch with 2 friends, one had sausage & egg sandwich, which is exactly what he got. The other had a "platter", a well presented board of cheese, pickle and other platter bits. I had a really disappointing 'baked potato with tuna and mayo'; a microwaved, barely cooked potato, tuna with no mayo, no butter on the potato, which came with a dry salad of chopped iceberg, white onion and slithers of tomato. Really disappointed with the food, but the waitresses were lovely, and I hear the cakes and sweets are good.
Stick to the drinks and cakes perhaps!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernMunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Olde world charm, olde world service”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a full English - and it was great in the main. The food takes a while to arrive but that equals 'freshly cooked' - all good! My only food gripe was that the bacon was fatty, not crispy, it tasted okay but personal preference and all that.

Service was efficient but for such a charming little tea room, it was somewhat charmless...

Waitresses were adorned in 1950s attire - sweet - but my hot drink was but a memory when breakfast arrived. No thought given to ask if a top up was needed. No sauces offered either.
And little chit chat. Just basic order taking.

Not the servers fault as she was a slip of a girl. Just wish youngsters were trained in more than writing things down.

Great value. Great view. Great shame the service wasn't quite there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm scones on a rainy day in May.”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stumbled upon this little tea shop after taking a trip on the Cliff Railway. It was far too rainy to travel far and the lady in the ticket office recommended it. The smell of baking reassured me that the cakes were actually home made - and the scones probably less than an hour ago!

Tea, hot chocolate and home made cakes served with a very warm smile and welcome. Plus an added bonus that you get to look through a window behind the counter to see the winding motor from the Cliff Railway.

Perfect, compact and lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewislovesbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I was treated to a suprise birthday afternoon tea and what a treat! Wonderful views, delicous cakes and great service. The australian owner was dressed 1940's style in apron and head scarf and couldn't do enough for us. Wonderful, try it. Access a little difficult for pram but we managed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Winding House Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to The Winding House Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing