We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cakes..”
Review of Castle Tea Rooms

Castle Tea Rooms
Ranked #5 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Bridgnorth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
340 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes..”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We called in the Castle Tea Rooms one sunny Sunday recently, a week after the worst of the floods but the river was still very high.
Our group ordered Tea's, Coffee's & Cakes with a very friendly waitress and they soon appeared, even though they were reasonably busy. The prices are fair and the Cakes portions generous, also scrumptious! This is a proper traditional establishment and all the better for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings, good food and fabulous coffee :)”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have visited this Tea Room quite often. I love the decor, the food is excellent, the coffee is the tastiest in town, I know as I have tried them all!! .... they welcome families and well behaved humans with their dog lol... I found it to be very reasonably priced and the tea room is very clean and tidy. Very helpful staff, my only criticism would be that I wish the staff would smile a little bit more than they do.... Will be visiting again!!!!! well done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth09359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have become weekly visitors to Bridgnorth, which seems to be very popular. It has been busy on both recent occasions when we have been there. There appear to be a multitude of places to sit and have coffee. This venue is one of the many and there is much competition. Castle Tea Rooms is the kind of place we like instinctively: unpretentious, clean and having a good product. The one element missing was that little bit of extra effort to distinguish it from the rest and make us feel valued as customers. We shall be in the town again this week and will try somewhere else so maybe we will find an establishment that tries just that little bit harder. Nevertheless this place is worth another try and I found it particularly attractive that there was no intrusive background music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two visits to Castle Tea Rooms, Bridgnorth”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We visited Bridgnorth two days running as it was so pretty and quaint.
On both occasions, we had tea and cake in this restaurant. The two ladies running it, Shona and Natasha, were so lovely and welcoming. As my husband is disabled, they were kind enough to look after him for me whilst I dashed around Bridgnorth taking photographs and buying presents. The cakes are delicious and the cooked meals looked very inviting and of good value. The tea room is at 1 East Castle Street (Bridgnorth High town), on the corner of the road leading to the Parish church. The church is worth a visit, as are the remains of the castle in the castle grounds. Lovely views over the low town of Bridgnorth from this spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely old meets modern”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Well presented tea rooms old favourites and something different on offer. Jacket potato with tuna and salad was nice and fresh and served hot.Hubby had bacon and sausage on fresh crusty bread. A little pricey but quality food so didn't mind nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to Castle Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing