We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit after 25 years”

Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 101 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Return Visit after 25 years”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I remember the Punch Bowl from many years ago, it was in competition with the Down, all those years ago it provided good value and it is gratyfing to note that it is still providing excellent value for money and enjoyable food. We visited with friends who were visiting the area from Hertfordshire and they were very impressed with the value for money of being able to have a three course meal on a Saturday evening for only £12.95. In addition the choice of starter and the choice of meats and vegetables was very good, We all really enjoyed the "puddings" especially the "apple and Brandy" crumble that was home made and delightful. Only issue was the Bar a bit small and needed an extra member of staff to speed things up,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WolverhamptonRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunchbowlInn, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for a great review it is reassuring to know that still after 25years you enjoy coming back to Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn.

I have shared your review with all the team, I do admit our bar is small we offer the best service we can provide, I can only apologise you found it slower than expected on a busy service.

Kind regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    50
    36
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wedding”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a wedding here this weekend, the staff were first class really helpful on the day of setting up,
on the day of the wedding nothing was to much , except the food carn't get into trousers now.
would recommend to anyone, people that came to wedding are already saying that they would hold a function here . thanks to all staff especially to Charlotte Chris and the chef who went out of his way to track down the peach servietts. many thanks from parents of the Bride.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunchbowlInn, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on behalf of your daughter and son in law on their wedding reception.

We thoroughly enjoyed planning your wedding with you (as awell the bride and groom) and were delighted that the whole event was a resounding success for you, we take pride in delivering the best service and food we can offer on any wedding we host, it great that we met your expectations.

We hope to see you again for future events and I will course pass on your kind remarks to both Charlotte and Chris who personally over looked your wedding.

Kindest regards,

Adam
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmidlansds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“drive out for tea”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Went to the punch bowl last night with out booking and had only table left as was fully booked had the three course meal for £11.99 for the cavery I paid extra and had steak the meals were really good will be dropping in again soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Westmidlansds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunchbowlInn, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi there,

Glad to read that you had a great meal on Tuedsay evening just gone, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were shown to our table and told to order drinks from the bar. When we got to the bar we were advised we should have been given a menu also - that would be a no then! We got our menu but were told we might not get a highchair for our little one as they might be booked out! At the time there was one other highchair in use and a pile of them stacked high, we weren't going to be using it for hours! Luckily one wasn't booked.

We decided on carvery & dessert for £9.95. On their website it stated: "Serving fresh joints daily consisting of:
Local Shropshire Pork
Warwickshire Turkey
Roasted Lamb
Far Forest Venison"

I was disappointed to see only turkey, pork & beef. I had the beef which was full of fat and overlooked and the turkey which was as dry as a bone. Vegetable selection was good but Yorkies were burnt. So I looked forward to my cheesecake dessert - which surprise surprise didn't live up to expectations, I have never in all my life eaten a cheesecake with so much gelatin in it, it was more a jelly with a hint of cheesecake - disgusting.

I really am a foodie and have eaten at lots of nice restaurants and plenty of normal pubs etc. I can honestly say the carvery I had at the cheap & cheerful Hungry Horse last weekend was 100 times better!! I cannot believe this is award winning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginauk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunchbowlInn, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write a terrible review, I can only apologise that everything was so terrible in your opinion.

Before we list some shortfalls of your review we just to stress the importance of customer service and feedback please read all my other management responses, I will always bend over backwards when we are at fault, and take customer service very seriously but as this is our lively hood and living my team and I our passionate about the industry, some comments pf the comments are extreme in our opinion.

Firstly we offer up to five meats and guarantee three meats at all times, if you read our menus and marketing venison is out of season during the summer, so we cannot source it (and for venues that offer venison in the summer it come from their freezer)

Our meats are cooked in rational ovens and the AGA we wouldn't serve dry turkey, the turkey cannot be cooked in the AGA they are too big so the rational ovens have special climate control to keep the meat moist. We source Aberdeen Angus Beef, it not fatty and if we did have a bad joint it wouldn't be served!! We totally disagree the meats were dry and fatty.

In terms of High Chairs, your correct we have seven available when catering for vast numbers on Sundays using our function room as well, never have we refused high chairs in the midweek on quieter days? (The only days high chairs are limited are on Mothering Sunday and Private Christenings we advise customers in advance)

When we meet and greet we have 25 menus on our reception and our dining procedures and menus are given when shown to the table, we find it very out of character not to provide you a menu at all?

We can only apologise that you didn’t enjoy the desserts either although everyone else has enjoyed the cheesecakes we catered for 75 covers hat evening.

Without sounding arrogant we work so hard towards industry standards and it's so soul destroying to have nasty reviews and mock us against the Hungry Horse brand, as we do care!

We are award winning because we work so hard towards industry standards and given the increased trade, the other positive feedback, the major support from AGA, the awards.... We would like to think we are doing something right, although we occasionally do get things wrong please address our shortfalls with us before your departure so we can hopefully resolve your disappointment.

Yours sincerely,

Adam and Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We came in for a carvery on Sunday. We booked for three people but, unfortunately, there was five of us. A man named John greeted us and happily organised a table for five for us despite the restaurant being busy.
The food was to die for, especially the carrot and sweed mash. The service was excellent and we shall definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunchbowlInn, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely especially on the service, I have shown your review to the floor staff and this has had a great impact on staff morale.

We hope to see you again in the near future

Kindest regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing