We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saves your legs”

Bridgnorth Castle Hill Railway
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Bridgnorth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Saves your legs”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Travelled on the castle railway several times as it saves you having to climb several steps up to the high town. It is a lovely experience and the views are fab especially on a clear sunny day. I would say however that the staff could be a little more friendly and welcoming, after all they would like people to continue using their service. Last time we travelled it felt as if it was too much trouble for them to even smile!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank trebor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    147
    25
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved this little relic from the past . Great to see it working and getting used . Fun to ride on and beats climbing up all those steps anyday . Very reasonable cost .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnyC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Helen and I visited the cliff railway last week and were impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff who certainly went to lengths to make our trip special.

The cliff railway is quite short but has lots of character. It is the oldest and steepest inland railway in England. Great views can be gained from the railings by the summit station over the Severn Valley. Both upper and lower stations are reminiscent of a bygone age with decor and controls to match.

The cars look like old fashioned buses which would not look out of place trundling the winding roads in Yorkshire. The inside is of wood with sliding doors at both ends. Each car can take 18 folks. The ride is authentic. I love it.

Current costs £1.20 return. No single journeys possible.

Its well worth the trip in both directions with lovelly walks by the river and great shops in the traditional upper town.

When disembarking, the car, my lens cap accidentally came off and disappeared through a small gap onto the track. Staff gallantly retrieved it and posted it on to me. Thank you all.

That is going the extra mile and in my mind marks this business as highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“so much fun for chlldren too!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

easy way to save the walk up lovely old steps or the Cartway. Fun for our 2 &4 year old grandchildren. Tearoom at the top and lots to do in Bridgnorth Town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RuthK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely iconic landmark”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Made a special journey to go on this as I was born in Bridgnorth and used it when I was little. It has not changed one bit, brilliant views. Still cheap at 1.20. Great tea room next to it, if you go down the stairs to the tea room you will see the winding gear for thge railway. When you get off the railway at the top, you can walk along Castle Walk (turn left when you come out at the top) and go over a footbridge which takes you the the Severn Valley Railway station. The Cliff railway links Low Town and High Town and it is worth having a look at the old streets (turn left when you come out at the bottom)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shropshire69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridgnorth Castle Hill Railway also viewed

 
Eardington, Bridgnorth
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Bridgnorth Castle Hill Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing