We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Country Pub”

The Plough Inn, Claverley
Ranked #25 of 101 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Country Pub”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely pub with a great atmosphere. Real ales and Thatchers cider. Been there in the summer and winter, never disappoints. Have a real ale and sit by the open fire or log burner in the winter or have a cold cider and sit in the garden in the summer. The food is excellent with bar snacks and main meals. Fish and chips are a must, nice crunchy batter. And you need to book for the steak night. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    20
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pattingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regular favourite”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Plough Inn at Claverley has become a firm favourite, the staff are friendly and polite and the menu selection has something for everyone. There is the main course selection , a steak menu and always four or five choices of fish to choose from. The haddock florentine being a firm favourite. The prices are very reasonable, main courses ranging from £ 10- £15, a little more for the fillet steak but still less than some other local pubs. Nice friendly local pub with good food. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jc732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It was my birthday on Friday the 11th October so a small party of 8 gathered at the plough to celebrate. Even though there was already a party in full swing when we arrived at 7 15 and we had to negotiate through dozens of well dressed gentlemen and even more fragrant ladies we were directed to a comfortable table whereupon we were attended by an overworked but utterly charming waitress. She was the epitomy of efficiency and even though we made several changes to our order from the specials board( no menus) which was elaborate to say the least,
our meals were delivered after 15 mins cooked to perfection(apart for one Rib Eye steak which was slightly underdone but was re cooked in minutes). The prices were average for a country inn with an excellent chef.
Overall I would say that the Plough was in the top 3 Pub pub restaurants that I have visited.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Quintessential English village.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Claverley is a picture postcard village which takes you back in time with lovely flowers beautifully maintained houses and an atmosphere which wouldn't be out of touch in a Charles Dicken's novel.
Anyway ,The Plough serves DOOMBAR bitter,great value food and excellent sevice personified by Leah who had it all under control.Had a wait of 20 minutes even though we'd booked but given a free round of drink to compensate..Keith the boss ,top bloke who endeared himself to our group with his football knowledge and never blinked an eye-lid when he discovered we were all Bristol Rovers fans!Will return and expect to see a village which is simply a delight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffreybanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
156 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value on a Thursday special steak night”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went with friends on the steak night - steak for 2 with a bottle of wine for £24 - the place was full and we needed to book which says it all for a Thursday evening. Our friends had a steak & salmon (not on menu but done as she doesn't eat meat). Good value , good food and good atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSMWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn, Claverley also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn, Claverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing