We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”
Review of Wheelwrights Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheelwrights Arms
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Wheelwright Arms in August and we were very impressed. I don't really understand the negative reviews, but that said, I've only seen the room we stayed in. Our room was a twin, and was a very good size. The bathroom was lovely, and also a good size. The room had teas/coffee/hot chocolate and was decorated very tastefully. They had Classic FM playing on the tv when we entered the room, and whilst this may not be to everyones taste, we found it very welcoming and relaxing!

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating.The food was very good, we had dinner and breakfast there, and on both occasions the waiter/waitress did whatever they could to make it an enjoyable experience. I agree that the actual pub area is quite small, but it adds to the charm of the place. I also agree £135/room is quite steep, I think £95 or so would be more in line. The outside area can be noisy, but this did stop very quickly after closing time and it is, afterall, a pub so this should be somewhat expected!!

I would definitely stay here again and my friend & I would both recommend it to friends.

.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary73Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    96
    45
    17
    18
See reviews for
59
160
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

the only Michelin guide this place belongs in has tread and pressure ratings in it, bloody awful food, probably the only place in the UK still selling Cod as it's fish and chips, everything was bland, and good luck getting to the bar, the local stockbrokers (or wannabe rich people) are about as far up their own backsides as you can get.

it is, without doubt, the worst place I have eatne this year, and that includes Pizza Hut. Frankie and Bennies and the kebab shop in Swansea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Standee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

If you are going then I would advise you take ear plugs as if you are in a downstairs room the noise from above is unbelievable.... Room was small with one tiny window with a shutter which made it seem very claustraphobic. Bathroom was huge and the best feature of the room. I thought the food, the wine list & the service were average and nothing special for the prices they are charging. We recently stayed in a place near Stratford on Avon where the rooms were sooo good (including huge bath rooms with walk in showers) and for £90 per night including breakfast as opposed to £135. On their breakfast menu they state 'complementary for residents' when in fact I think that should be 'included within room rate' as most places show. The combined bar / 'restaurant' area is quite small and doesn't really invite you to hang around for an after diner drink. Perhaps it is cosier if you stay in the winter if the fire is lit. Wouldn't go back again or recommend to others especially if you are seeking a romantic break.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbs102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My wife treated me to a post-Birthday weekend away to 'unwind' and the Wheelwrights was spot on - tucked away in a small village about 3 miles outside Bath. We had a BIG double room with a large bathroom - simply but tastefully furnished, lovely comfy bed and just a few yards stagger across from the Inn itself. The owner and staff were very welcoming and the food, drinks and service were all pretty faultless. We've stayed in quite a few 'gastro-pubs' and 'The Wheelies' rates amongst the best. Highly recommended for foodies and just a short taxi or bus ride into town to explore the delights of Bath. It ain't cheap but it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rob_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I stayed here while on business and needed somewhere to stay in the Bristol/Bath area. It's a short distance from Bath and well worth the extra drive if you are working in Bristol. Found the staff very friendly and helpful. Three-course dinner washed down with Butcome ale easily helped me pass a night without my partner. Locals very friendly if you want to sit in the bar. Room was great, very big and great bathroom. Breakfast excellent the following morning. Will re-visit if in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We visited Wheelwrights during a break outside Bath. We were greeted warmly by the staff and felt immediately welcome. We were shown to our table near a log fire and there was a lovely atmosphere. The food was of an incredibly high standard and the service just right, friendly and professional. The prices aren't cheap but we would much rather pay decent money for decent food. It was one of the best meals we've ever had and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siriusfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Fantastic for dinner, went on a thursday night, good atmosphere, excellent service, and amazing food, best food we had on our bath long weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 31 in Bath
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Property: Wheelwrights Arms
Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing