We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food in a lovely setting”
Review of Wheelwrights Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelwrights Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fab food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The restaurant at the Wheelwrights is well worth a visit. The atmosphere is very good, the decor is well done, the staff very friendly and helpful. In winter, a roaring open fire makes it very cosy. The food is excellent, well presented, well prepared and delicious. There is an excellent wine list too - can highly recommend their Pinot Noir, highest quality at a reasonable price.

We are regular visitors - it's ideal for a special occasion or a simple supper with friends or just the two of you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    96
    45
    17
    18
See reviews for
59
160
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wilts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked here in order to get away for a couple of days and visit Bath. It is a lovely building and the room was pretty but incredibly hot. It was a hot day and we needed to open the windows but in order to do that the shutters needed to be open too and so the light was let in very early in the morning. It wasn't quite what we expected as the picture they use doesn't really show that it is in fact surrounded and overlooked by houses. The room could have been a little cleaner but was fine. The food was satisfactory but nothing more and not quite worth the prices. I would say they have a young, inexperienced chef that is learning on the job but is not too bad. You can tell a lot about a place with accommodation by the quality of the breakfast that is served as it's the last thing you remember so should be good. Here they served cheap sausages! I wouldn't return but it is a good distance from Bath and the surrounding countryside is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinratdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chobe National Park
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We're very experienced travellers, having been in the travel business (in Australia) for 40+ years and we just loved our stay at the (very rustic) Wheelwrights Arms and within this tiny hamlet. Our room (an upstairs twin) was extremely comfortable, with all necessary conveniences including free Wi-Fi. The only item we missed was an iron and board, however I'm sure this would have been accommodated had we bothered to ask. The staff behind the bar and in the restaurant were extermely accommodating (hats off to you all) and we were delighted with the quality of the produce and cuisine...so much so that we're bringing a relative for dinner after checking out today. The worst thing about Trip Advisor is that it gives people with a miserable attitude the opportunity to vent their spleen. Fortunately, the more intelligent reader will be able to assess them for what they are! We usually stay 5-star but have truly enjoyed our sojourn here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Its just far enough away from central Bath to be peaceful, and quiet. It is situated pretty near to a tow path where there is a bicycle hire, and the ability to bike/run/walk for miles in each direction along the canal, one direction takes you 3 miles into Bath. Beautiful.

Without a car, as I was, you can also walk up Monkton Combe via a public walkway, and there catch a local bus or one of those sight seeing buses if you want a tour into Bath's center. You will need a cab from the train station. Its about a 12 minute drive.

Seriously, one of the most relaxing get aways for me.
The rooms are really well designed: clean, and simple. There is also a great beer garden where you can eat or drink amidst really beautiful country.

Staff was pretty friendly. Service was great.

There is a boarding school just next door, and I was there when school was out of session. Dont know if it would be a bit busier during the school year.

Definitely would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have WiFi, check before if thats something you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here in the middle of August and whilst we didn't experience the difficult management that other reviewers experienced, quite the opposite in fact, we did come away feeling that we had paid a lot of money for a room that was just ok. Firstly my girlfriend booked the room and a couple of days after had an odd phone call to ask if she had specified the room we wanted, she said she hadn't (in hindsight she wishes she hadn't said that) and after much umming and arring, the guy on the phone said that's fine and hung-up. When we got there we had what appeared a lovely big room although it was directly opposite the kitchen (as many rooms are) and the sound of the extractor fan was extremely loud, especially in the summer with the windows open. So we asked if we could move and we were told that was no problem, even though the fan doesn't go all night, although it went for quite some time. Our new room was comfortable, cheaper, though still quite pricey, but very small.

In terms of food, we had a very good meal. Not Michelin starred by any means but very good gastro pub food. Likewise with breakfast the following day, a very good spread and good portions on the cooked.

Overall, we probably wouldn’t go back, as I’m sure there are better valued places elsewhere than here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Wheelwright Arms in August and we were very impressed. I don't really understand the negative reviews, but that said, I've only seen the room we stayed in. Our room was a twin, and was a very good size. The bathroom was lovely, and also a good size. The room had teas/coffee/hot chocolate and was decorated very tastefully. They had Classic FM playing on the tv when we entered the room, and whilst this may not be to everyones taste, we found it very welcoming and relaxing!

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating.The food was very good, we had dinner and breakfast there, and on both occasions the waiter/waitress did whatever they could to make it an enjoyable experience. I agree that the actual pub area is quite small, but it adds to the charm of the place. I also agree £135/room is quite steep, I think £95 or so would be more in line. The outside area can be noisy, but this did stop very quickly after closing time and it is, afterall, a pub so this should be somewhat expected!!

I would definitely stay here again and my friend & I would both recommend it to friends.

.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary73Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

the only Michelin guide this place belongs in has tread and pressure ratings in it, bloody awful food, probably the only place in the UK still selling Cod as it's fish and chips, everything was bland, and good luck getting to the bar, the local stockbrokers (or wannabe rich people) are about as far up their own backsides as you can get.

it is, without doubt, the worst place I have eatne this year, and that includes Pizza Hut. Frankie and Bennies and the kebab shop in Swansea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Standee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 31 in Bath
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Property: Wheelwrights Arms
Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing