We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hospitality, food and drink.”
Review of Wheelwrights Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelwrights Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were delighted to spend a few days at the Wheelwrights Arms in June 2013. The Wheelwrights is a pretty country inn in the village of Monkton Combe, about 4 miles outside of Bath... though you could easily imagine you were 100 miles from anywhere (in the best possible sense).

The hospitality of the staff was excellent - from a friendly chat to advice about the best place to park in town. If you do stay here, or even if you are just passing through, I'd recommend getting yourself a table and enjoying some of the excellent food and drink that they have on offer. This is no cheap pub grub, but definately worth every penny.

The rooms are a fair size and modern/rustic in design, in keeping with the setting and fabric of the old buildings.

We'd definately stay here again, though there were two small areas that I hope will have been altered in the future - the poor shape of the pillows (i'm fussy like that) and the odd absence of a shower hook. Otherwise, all very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atNigel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stopped here for a lunchtime snack while on a walk. We ordered ciabatta with smoked salmon and dill mayonnaise. No ciabatta, just baguette. The salmon was fine but needed a magnifying glass to see the dill mayonnaise. We had some dessert - I had lime and blueberry creme brûlée. Couldn't taste any lime and there were two blueberries. Overall the food tasted good but overrated for the price. On top we were charged 10% service charge. Didn't find the service friendly, looked at us like we were something he had stepped in. Obviously this is a fancy place for the well-to-do. We won't be going back anytime soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had an evening meal in the pub and a lunch in the garden, both were very tasty. The evening meal was really delicious and as it happened we all had different fish which we all agreed was cooked to perfection which is unusual. The lunch was less grand but just as good. I would definitely go back. Be aware though you are paying top end pub prices this is not a cheap evening out, including drinks we paid £40 a head

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelleS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We loved staying here. Although it was a little bit of a drive from Bath it's adorable and only 2 pounds to take the bus in to the city. The bus stop is literally right in front of the hotel. We stayed in the cutest room and the pub there was awesome. We played games there by the fire before dinner and the food was fantastic for dinner! Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This pub with 7 rooms is located in posh village adjacent to Bath, with Monkton Combe Senior School, established 1868 here. So yes, like earlier reviews, with an old public boarding school nearby, it is quite likely that one is going to hear very plummy tones amongst other patrons of this pub, as I did on my visit. While self-satisfied prattle is occasionally off-putting for those unaccustomed to it, the friendliness of staff, tastiness of food and idyllic setting of this hospitality business more than offsets this, by a substantial margin. Wainwright Arms does indeed make it a terrific spot to stop for a meal and I would certainly consider a future overnight stay as dinner, bed & breakfast here, I am confident, would be most satisfying for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itinerantnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Will definitely go back here, small, cosy and comfortable, with friendly and efficient service. Good choice of lunches, quality produce and cooked well. I expect the intimate atmosphere here is even better in the evenings and look forward to my next visit. Lovely location and pleasant outside seating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peanuts1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

After a long day trailing around Bath, the restaurant was a haven of tranquility. The food was excellent, fresh and seasonal. The staff were quietly efficient and very friendly. Steak was delicious and the lemon tart was declared "best ever"

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
3.8 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing