We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, Service to be improved”
Review of Wheelwrights Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelwrights Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We enjoyed the Italian style food on the nice restaurant pub close to Bath. The wen list completed the good menu. Service is still learning and needs significant improvement. Will come back when we are in Bath again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mai3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

A small gastro pub but big in culinary skills and service. We live in Bath and have tried most restaurants and feel the quality of food served in this gastro pub is really impressive. It is the place that we have returned to most. Slightly difficult to access so a car or taxi from Bath is needed. It is worth the effort. Friendly staff and no questions asked if you are unhappy with your meal or service….it is taken off the bill with a genuine apology as they really want to please. They have a large garden area in the summer. You need to book in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at a nearby hotel and were recommended to try the Wheelwright Arms and ended up eating there both nights of our short break. Lovely old building, friendly and helpful staff, excellent and varied menu of interesting and reasonably priced food, cooked to order, home made ice creams and sorbets. However, I weakened and had the sticky toffee pudding - best ever but a bit of a heart stopper! Local cider was very drinkable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After eventually finding Monkton Combe we found the Pub to be charming with excellent food,
thoroughly recommend it. Well worth a visit, the Asparagus starter was first rate, the mussels also were very good. The house red wine was very drinkable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here on a second night in the area.The restaurant seemed to have run out of most dishes, we asked for, when we did eat it was not the best and not at all what we expected.We stayed in a room on the website advertised at £125 yet where told £150 when booking.would not recommend this at this cost when night before paid £ 69 for far better room at Crown inn in toll down.

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the car park so ask for one in the main part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Upon arrival at the wheelwrights arms I was pleasantly surprised, lovely location with a good outside area. I was shown to my room which was lovely, it had no shower but after a real long day I fancied a bath anyway! Had a fantastic dinner, real good food, a couple of local ciders in the evening followed by a sound nights sleep.
In the morning I had a very good breakfast before leaving. Nothing bad to say about this place! Stay if you can!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We just had a meal here.. Had stopped for a drink in their nice garden recently & promised ourselves a return visit.. Arrived to a quiet ish bar.. Shown to a small table & eagerly placed our order.. Two asparagus with egg.. So average! Crushed honey peanut garnish eeeuw.. Fish off the specials (monkfish) just a stew floating in tomatoes with 4 little bite size pieces of fish! 2 little pieces of potato (menu said served with new potatoes????).. Chicken off specials = shredded bits of chicken (about 2 tblspns) aside two bits of mash.. Served with wilted watercress dumped on the top, exactly the same on the fish ! How creative NOT.. Set us back £60 !! Disgusting. .. Have a drink here as nice garden.. DON'T EAT.. Basil fawlty like manager too. The wheatsheaf is down the road & Bath is nearby.. Only good for a quick drink (can't comment on snacks? Or lunch offers) . Def NOT a restaurant!!! Avoid!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CheshireJools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelwrightsArms, Guest Relations Manager at Wheelwrights Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal at the Wheelwrights Arms, and we would like to respond to some of your criticisms.

Asparagus and poached egg with Hollandaise is a classic starter combination. The fresh local asparagus and free range eggs that we use are superb in their simplicity. I really am not sure what you were expecting to see on your plate. There certainly were not any peanuts on the plate, rather an Amaretti crumb.

The monkfish special was as you have almost described, and was advertised as such! A monkfish, heritage tomato and Jersey Royal potato stew. However, had you wanted some extra potatoes, we would have gladly given them on request.

Again, the chicken was braised leg meat with mashed potato and wilted watercress. Creative or otherwise, we fail to see how you were expecting anything more or less than described.

We pride ourselves on fresh local ingredients, cooked well and ensure that our menu accurately describes the food. We do not serve haute cuisine.

As always, we urge customers who aren’t 100% satisfied to discuss their criticisms on the day, where we can resolve any issues. It seems rather unfair to leave such an aggressive review without first speaking face to face.

Personal slights about the staff are unnecessary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
3.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,336 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
580 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 159 in Bath
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range: £54 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing