We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms.good food.well informed staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wheelwrights Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelwrights Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkton Combe
Certificate of Excellence
NI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms.good food.well informed staff.”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

The bedrooms are a dream.Modern but fitting in perfectly with the old world surroundings of the building.Our room had a huge bathroom with a large bath and lovely shower/bath lotions etc.Food was fab.My only slight quibble would have been that it would have been lovely to have somewhere comfy to sit after dinner and relax rather than having to sit at our table.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise65Ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    91
    40
    15
    16
See reviews for
54
150
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englamd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Decided to spend New Year day in Bath (2 hour journey from our home). Looked on Google and found The Wheelwright Arms which looked just the ticket. Booked in advance a table for 2pm and left them with my mobile number

Arrived at the pub and was told they had expected us at 1pm and basically the table was no longer available - no apology. (and they didnt phone to ask where we were anyway) Stood by the bar for 35 mins waiting for a table to come up - no offer of drinks to keep us amused. Next table to come up for 4 was by the kitchen / bar doors - no courtesy offer of drinks. Eventually got a table by the bar/ kitchen door - not nearly good enough and spent 10 minutes there waiting for another table. E ventually got moved to front 'fish bowl' table which was fine - by now drinks run out and nobody interested in asking if we wanted more - had to go and find someone. Food was average and certainly not worth the wait. Note service is included on the bill - it really shouldnt be and perhaps that's why the service was not up to it - need an incentive!

All in all very disappointing visit and certainly have no intention of returning - far better pubs in the area worth a visit.

If you do choose to book a table in advance would suggest you ask for one near the open fire and double check the booking before you leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

In November we returned to the Wheelwrights Arms for our fourth visit and we were not disappointed. The food here is extremely good, prepared to a high standard and served with a smile. The atmosphere friendly and inviting, and great care has been taken with the decor and layout. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, and for anyone visiting the Bath area, the Wheelwrights Arms is a great place to stay and eat, being conveniently located in a pretty village close to the city. We will be coming back!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

This was our 2nd visit and we were not disappointed. We had spent the previous night in a Bath city centre hotel and were looking forward to the contrast. We arrived late Sunday afternoon to be greeted warmly by a young man behind the bar, and a lovely lady colleague who showed us to our room. They offered us our choice of tables for dinner that night as it was a quiet night so we chose one next to the open fire. After a quick drink at the bar with a great selection of wine I went to have a bath in the lovely bathroom with L'Occitane products, and then we returned for a delicious meal where we were again looked after by the lady from earlier - nothing was too much. It was a great evening, sitting by the fire eating, and drinking red wine. After the best night's sleep, we came back over for a faultless breakfast, served quietly and without fuss.. and again a great choice. We will certainly return - much as we love being in Bath itself this is like a little oasis of calm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieUK_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Wheelwrights Arms. This was our first visit to England and after a frazzled drive from York and some difficulty parking our large (relatively speaking) rental vehicle, we stopped to soak in the beauty of Monkton Combe. All business is conducted at the bar. Check-in was seamless and we were shown to our rooms, which are spacious and well-decorated, charming without being overdone. The bathrobes and high-quality toiletries were nice touches. A variety of biscuits were provided, as well as tea, coffee and a kettle. The bed linens were crisp and the pillows were comfortable. Note that the phones in the rooms can only connect you with the pub. Luckily there is free wi-fi in both buildings. Not all rooms have a bath, but we had an excellent shower with lots of pressure and room to move about.

The pub/restaurant is open all day, every day starting at 8 a.m. for breakfast, with the pub closing down at 11 p.m. We were delighted on our first night during dinner when a group of locals popped in for a few after a cricket match. Wonderful atmosphere and very good food, especially the soup (we had both Jerusalem artichoke and celery/apple which were both deliciously velvety and expertly spiced).

We had absolutely no issues with the service. The staff graciously accommodated our requests and also helped us out of a jam (with a smile).

After breakfast on the morning after our first night, a town resident stopped to ask if we would like a lift into Bath.

I would stay again at the Wheelwrights, but longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartsofpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerChandler
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Lovely spacious accommodation in a beautiful setting. Room clean and nicely presented. Would have liked a second armchair in the room, as one of us had to sit/lie on bed which was not satisfactory (the room was big enough)

Main disappointment was the evening menu which had limited selection and significantly overpriced for what you got. Shepherds pie and fish and chips, sausage and mash approporiate in a high class "boutique" establishment?? At almost £12 per serving?? Even ran out of some items by Saturday evening which stayed unavailable Sunday evening. I even saw 5 very small pieces of white asparagus with a blob of sauce served up at the cost of £6. Agree with other comments - landlord quite unfriendly and could do better. Would only reccomend the hotel to others if they werent planning on eating there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandlerChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights to combine a short break with collecting our daughter from the University. An idyllic country location and beautiful buildings and garden just couldn't make up for the poor service. The owner has no people skills whatsoever with no greeting and no smile at any point during our stay. Our daughter joined us for dinner the first evening and one of our meals was not what we had ordered. However, I said to the owner that I was happy to eat the meal and it was just plonked back down in front of me with no apology for the mistake. Although the food was pleasant enough, it was most definitely over-priced. We did not eat there the second evening! At breakfast on the second morning my husband ordered porridge followed by scrambled eggs. The eggs arrived first and his request to have the porridge before the eggs was met with a sullen scowl. The room was very nice - light wood and crisp bedding (one of my pillows was damp though) with a beautiful bathroom. The major problem was that you could hear every footstep and trip to the toilet of the guests in the room above! Despite the lovely location I would not stay here again - it does not deliver the goods for the hefty price tag.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
3.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
1,057 reviews
2.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Property: Wheelwrights Arms
Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing