We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Day Corporate Offsite”
Review of Waterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I recently attended a two day offsite in Bath with my company and stayed at Waterhouse.
The staff couldn't have been warmer, more accommodating or friendlier.
I can't fault the accommodation at all, it was clean, comfortable, spacious and had all the facilities that I needed.
The food was delicious and being a vegetarian, I was catered for.
I'll Definitely be back for a leisurely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Extremely warm welcome from Simon and Gail (including a basket of goodies). They were both very helpful - full of advice and local knowledge. Very clean and tidy property, with great facilities. Rooms are excellent - comfortable bed, TV, fridge, kettle (with tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc.), lots of wardrobe space. The shower doesn't look anything special but was impressively powerful. The kitchen has everything you could ever need (we were catering for 17 hungry blokes). The only thing I would mention is that the beds are all doubles - a few twin rooms may be a good idea for the future, as we were all sharing. Apparently they are planning a basement bar and games room - sounds like an excellent idea. Particular thanks to Gail for a top weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Having arrived late in the evening. It was refreshing to recieve such an enthusiastic welcome. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. Free WiFi was a bonus as some hotels do charge for this as an extra. The owner Simon cooked the breakfast himself and again could not have been more friendly and helpful. He also cooks a very mean full English. I would recommend the Waterhouse to the discerning traveler wanting a few relaxing days away in the lovely city of Bath or the business traveler looking for clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have just arrived back from a 2 night stay at Waterhouse. This is a very unique place to stay as the accommodation/room is like that of a hotel but the hospitality and service are as you would expect from a B and B-so the best of both worlds really. The room is very modern and clean with all the facilities you would expect from a 4* hotel including tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary water, juice and milk in mini bar which was a lovely touch. Service was impeccable (perhaps the best we have ever encountered on our travels) and the staff made us feel extremely welcome and taken care of. The full english breakfast was delicious and the views from the room were amazing-in Summer I can imagine it is stunning. The receptionist Jane booked us a table for dinner and nothing was too much trouble.

There were just a few reservations with the hotel. Aside from the guest rooms, the building is used for functions and corporate events. As such, the building had quite a neutral, clinical atmosphere. I feel a few more warm touches, like flowers could be added to make it feel a bit more homely for guests. You reach the house down some extremely narrow roads with only the odd passing place. (The house itself is in a valley). They are not for the fainthearted, particularly at night and is worth noting if you are an unconfident driver as they are quite difficult. I can imagine some people may feel uncomfortable on them (I did but thankfully wasn't driving!). We did plan the second night so as not to have to drive down them in the dark. Also the double bed was on the small side. Our room (and a few others) overlook the reception/front area which means that at night and early morning you can hear people and cars arriving/leaving and automatic lights go on and off intermittantly outside lighting up the whole room. Also, the walls are like a hotel-thin and so can hear banging of doors and TV's etc from next door. For such a beautiful, remote setting this was a shame as we do love peace and quiet and in this respect the Waterhouse didn't quite live up to our expectations.

Overall, this is a lovely place to stay and we would like to thank the team for making us so welcome. We understand that this is a new venture and all suggestions for improvement were taken very seriously. I am sure the accommodation will go from strength to strength as small improvements are made.If you are visiting Bath or surrounding areas, I would unreservedly recommend the Waterhouse. If you don't mind navigating slightly tricky roads, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 6 had the most beautiful view over the valley. Really stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMLEE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived at this hotel by default, our original hotel let us down badly at the last minute (16 of us) The Waterhouse could not have been better, the staff were fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted. We arrived after travelling from Colchester and then Shopping in Bath to fresh Tea and Coffee and a very warm welcome. Superb location, great bedrooms, wonderful breakfast. This is a new venture but I am sure they will be successful. Well done to all of them for looking after us all so well. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms good, but I think room 7 has the bigger bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marettag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I had provisionally booked a room at a B&B in Monkton Combe. I took a slightly wrong turn & needed to turn round my reasonably long vehicle. I found a place at the end of the road to turn round that just happened to be a Hotel. I went into Reception on spec to enquire if I could turn round, park in their car park or stay the night. The reception I received from Jane on Reception & Gail the Hotel Manager was so friendly & enthusiastic that I booked a room. The Hotel is absolutely fantastic. The standard of decor suggests it has been fully refurbished recently & location is superb for anyone wanting to explore Bath. Gail has just taken over as the Hotel Manager, her entusiasm is infectious. I would recommed this Hotel to everybody.
I wish the whole team every success.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewM958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I wanted to get away for my 30th birthday so I decided that I wanted to go to Bath. I didn't want to stay in the middle of one city to another so I looked at somewhere just outside the city centre. I came across this hotel on late rooms.

The Waterhouse is a manor house surrounded by rolling hills of the countryside down a small lane about 2 and half miles outside Bath. Rooms are very nicely decorated with ensuite shower room, mini fridge, tea making facilities with complimentary condiments, hairdryer, tv, free wireless internet for laptops and a very comfy bed.

The staff were nice and friendly, Jane and Anthony made us feel very welcome and at home, providing us with information and going out of their way for our needs. Also Anthony whipped up an excellent full english breakfast as well as having the choice of cereals and fruit juices.

The local pub, The Wheelwrights is in the village on the other side of the river, you can walk there as there is a bridge that you can cross but if its muddy or dark then a car or taxi would be better, they serve food and local ales.

Getting into the city centre is very easy, 5 mins by car or taxi and the taxi fare is around £10 or on a nice day and if you are feeling fit you could even walk.

We would definitely stay at the Waterhouse again. We are thinking of going back in the spring/summer season so that we can do a bit of country walking as well visiting the beautiful city centre again for sites, shopping and spa treatments.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieworld05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Waterhouse is now under new management with an evening menu available and bar facilities.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
252 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhouse

Address: Water House Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range: £67 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country house, set in 3 acres of park land with lawns sloping down to its own stretch of river for which we have fishing rights, nestling in stunning countryside with panoramic views. The house has been restored to retain many of its original features and we offer 9 contemporary bedrooms and 4 deluxe rooms to our guests. We are proud to announce that Waterhouse has been awarded an AA 4 Star Rating for its facilities. We now offer room service/light evening meals from 6pm to 9pm. Breakfast is served weekdays from 7:30am to 10am and weekends from 8am to 10am. Come and enjoy our peaceful beautiful valley with bicycle hire on site or a quick 10 min car ride into the bustling city of Bath..we offer you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhouse Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing