We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wheelwrights Arms(Monkton Combe)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bath Waterside(Bath)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
428
132
15
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
132
15
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful valleywheelwright armsquiet locationminute drivecountry housecomfortable roomsfriendly welcomewould highly recommend this hotelfull englishfresh milkgood nights sleepenjoyable stayeggs benedictvisit batha lovely staylovely roombreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I spent 2 days here for work and stayed one evening. The staff were fantastic from start to finish and the food was lovely. The rooms were excellent and I had one of the best sleeps in a long time in an extremely comfortable bed. I would highly recommend the Waterhouse. Mark Johnstone

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi Mark

We are pleased you had a lovely stay at Waterhouse.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Its worth noting that very soon we will be offering Bar facilities and an evening meal menu.

Kind regards

Steve & Timar
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at Waterhouse for 1 night in April with a group from work. We were treated like we were the most important guests. Accommodation was very comfortable and clean. The food was amazing too. Beautiful picturesque surroundings made me relaxed from the moment I arrived. I would recommend staying here for business trips or a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica_hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Waterhouse.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly although it falls slightly short of a slick professional operation. We called to extend our stay after we first made our booking as we wanted to stay for an extra night. We were told we could take advantage of the trip advisor offer of 25% off the third night and a bottle of wine - great.

When we arrived however the "manager" on "reception" could not find record of us having the extra night booked. She asked for help and although the reservation was found we were told it had to be treated as a separate booking and we would need to sign a fresh piece of paper in two days time. We did ask if we could just sign it all at once but we were told we would have to return to reception as if to check in again on the second day which we found a bit bizarre. At this point we were also told that the room would be charged at the full price for all three nights until we insisted that we were told we could take advantage of the 25% off a third night offer with a bottle of wine after which someone else stepped in and found this on the booking.

The room was of a good standard but was not overly special. We had booked a double deluxe and were given the "best suite" which appeared to be the bridal suite - I think I would have expected something a little more special. The bed although very comfortable was missing a headboard. The bathroom was not finished particularly well with gaps in the corners and dodgy painting. The toilet after it was flushed normally stopped for 30 seconds and then continued to flush for a further 3 minutes which was very loud and disruptive at night.

The TV in the room although a good brand was not big enough given the size of the room and its proximity from the bed. We had to ask for the maid service on the second day although the housekeeping staff were very friendly and efficient.

As other guests have mentioned the website suggests you will be staying in a room within a lovely Georgian country house. In reality all the rooms are in a 1980s nursing home style extension with plastic windows which is not in the pictures. The decor within the hotel is also a little confused, with some very modern elements particularly in the breakfast room and then more traditional furnishings in adjacent rooms.

Cooked breakfast was of a lovely standard however it took a long time to come on all three days and was at best lukewarm. Perhaps a hot plate is needed to keep food prior to serving? The cold options we found disappointing. There were pastries on the first day but nothing but fruit and cereal after that. No home made granola pots on offer as suggested on the website.

This seems a little picky but the coffee cups were also too small.. the size of a double expresso cup. I can't help feel that a small cafeterre might have been better or coffee on the breakfast station so that we could help ourselves.

On the second day we asked if we could sign our second piece of paper for the extra day at which point we were told that the owners/managers had discussed it and we would not need a separate piece of paper and that the stay had just been extended with the last day at 25% off. However we were told that we could not have the bottle of wine was this was apparently "a separate offer"… as it happened we didn't particularly want the bottle of wine but from a matter of principle this is what we were promised at booking and the offer that is advertised online (not two separate offers)!! I found it ludicrous that we were only told this half way through our stay!

Overall we had a comfortable stay but there was no real "luxury" or "wow factor" which the website seemed to infer and the general running of the hotel just seemed chaotic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

All of your points have been noted and will be addressed at our next staff meeting.
If i may, it is worth noting that on the day you arrived we had a very big change over in management, which is perhaps the reason why things may not have run as smooth as liked. I apologize for this sincerely. This is going to improve as the idea of bringing in new managers is to improve the hotels overall performance and standards.

I have copy and paste the advert from our website and it is worth noting the last sentence.


''Book direct this spring and receive free bottle of wine in your room.

Book a 2 night stay this spring and receive a free bottle of house wine. Available up until 31st May 2014. Offer valid Sun – Thurs. Please quote free wine when booking over the phone. Not to be taken with any other offer''.



As you can see it states not to be taken with any other offer, and i believe the offer of 25% discount you refer to is from a different website.

Again this is noted and alterations to our website will be made to prevent this from happening again.

I must thank you for taking the time to write this review, as this gives me extra information as a new manager in what needs to be improved on at the Waterhouse.
So i will take this review in a very constructive way, and i would like to invite you/challenge you to visit us again in the future to see and review the massive improvements made.

Regards

Steve
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I travelled to Waterhouse with a group of work colleagues on the 3rd April 2014, having viewed the photos of Waterhouse online I knew we would be treated to a wonderful experience. Waterhouse has a very homely feel but very added luxuries. We took part in profiling sessions over the 3/4th April and felt like we had the run of the place. The food on the evening was outstanding, we had pre-ordered our 3 course meal and all of us were delighted with our choices. My personal room was comfortable and spacious and despite being the first room on the landing I was not disturbed by any noise. Some of my colleagues indulged in runs around and outside of the grounds during our stay and commented that they would have loved to explored further. We came in drizzly grey weather and the grounds still were beautiful, my only wish now is to return in the summer to be able to enjoy the conservatory and to have a glass of wine outside. Thank you to Simon and everyone else who made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

It was a please having you at Waterhouse, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

just a few words to thank all at the waterhouse for a great 2 days.
We were over from ireland for 2 days and wish it had been 7.
Everything about the place is excellent ,the rooms and shower are spotless and a leisurely 10 min walk to the bus stop to get to Bath City center.
We would highly reccomend the Waterstone to anyone staying near Bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dessie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thankyou for choosing Waterhouse as your venue for the visit to Bath.
Should you pass by Bath again in the future, remember where we are!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

kind regards

Steve & Timar
waterhouse managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews