We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel for Bridal Prep!”
Review of Waterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel for Bridal Prep!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed over at this hotel with my friend, who was getting married the following day. The rooms are beautiful and the beds were so comfy that even the bride-to-be couldn't resist a good sleep. Throughout our stay, the staff could not have been more helpful, friendly, and accommodating: they fed the bridal party wonderful food, despite bad traffic leading to a hugely staggered arrival over six hours(!) and helped us track down some essentials we had forgotten to bring. We can't thank them enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Waterhouse for your stay in Bath.
It really was our pleasure to host such wonderful guests. Everyone was so happy and this vibe rapidly went through our team, and everyone enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to meeting you again in the very near future.
Thank you once again.

Steve & Timar
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    130
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
66
289
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed as a group of 20 for my best friends hen party in March, a lot of organising had gone into the weekend before hand and The Waterhouse were so helpful and understanding of our needs.
We had the whole hotel to ourselves for the 3 days Friday- Sunday with activities throughout the Saturday daytime. Through the hotel we organised catering for the Saturday evening which was set up for us and was delicious. The rest of the weekend we used the self catering facilities and had a Tesco delivery sent to the hotel. We were able to use all the facilities as we needed and there was no problem from the venue for us to decorate the function rooms for the bride. Staff were also so helpful and helped us with obtaining DVD facilities that we needed for the weekend.
The hotel was beautifully furnished and all the rooms had lovely views, towels were provided and soaps were brought to the rooms when requested (must have been forgotten initially)
Not far to go back into bath and we used local taxi firm Vcars several times at a reasonably priced rate.
Lovely stay and the bride to be enjoyed the weekend.

Thank You

Room Tip: the top floor rooms were beautifully decorated with dressing tables and lovely views across the coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelvEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi there.

Thank you so much for the review. It was a pleasure to look after your party.
Waterhouse is now becoming a popular venue for exclusive use, and especially for hen parties.
Under normal circumstances on an exclusive booking such as the one you had, we would not normally provide the rooms with any towels or toiletries, as exclusive use is the same as self catering.
We topped your rooms up as a good will gesture, but this was not something that got missed by our team.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and it will be a pleasure to host any future parties you or your friends have coming up.

All the best

Team Waterhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful area with serenity view. Its located close to the city center too. Staff were very kind. We have to leave before the booking time due to a loss of a family member. They were very helpful to us. definitely we will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sanje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Waterhouse. It was a shame your stay with us was cut short, but we wish you all the best. Our thoughts are with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked this hotel as a last minute find on expedia. Having stayed in Bath on several occasions this hotel was a great price for a wonderful experience. The hotel is set in a quiet location but within easy distance of Bath with an eire of luxury and a personal touch. Timar was very welcoming and made us feel at home from the outset. Breakfast was lovely- great choice with good service. Our room was not huge but again well designed and ideal for an overnight stay with great views of the surrounding countryside.
I would definately stay again and recommend without hestitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi.

Thank you for choosing Waterhouse, and it was a pleasure to have met you.
I have shown Timar this review and she is over the moon.
We hope to see you again very soon in the future

Kind Regards

Steve & Timar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our decision to stay at the Waterhouse was a bit spontaneous but we were more than pleasantly surprised. We only spent one night for a quick visit to Bath; however, it turns out this Inn is a perfect "get-away" location and we wished we could have stayed longer. The picturesque countryside location (just outside Bath) sets the scene for a quiet retreat. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with great ensuites. The dining is fabulous. Both dinner and breakfast were elegant and 5 star. Stephen and Timar went way beyond in their hospitality. Given the opportunity, we would definitely stay here again; highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMVPandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review.

It really was our pleasure to host you at Waterhouse.

It will be nice to see you again in the very near future.

kind regards

Steve & Timar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed overnight at the Waterhouse as we were meeting family in Bath at the weekend. The hotel is outstanding, nothing is too much trouble, Steve and Timar are so friendly and welcoming. The bed was almost as comfortable as home - rarely does that happen! I would echo everything that has been said in praise of this hotel - and the views are fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is so pleasing on the eye to read reviews like this.
Thank you so much on behalf of everyone at Waterhouse, for such a lovely review.
We sincerely hope to see you again in the very near future.

Best Wishes

Steve & Timar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I spent two exceptional nights for our 30th anniversary in May at this superb hotel.

The hotel is in a prime location amongst rambling countryside with great views. The staff could not do too much for you and were always friendly and helpful.The hotel was exceptionally clean and the rooms are tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. The Breakfast and evening meal was of great quality and quantity.

From the first moment we stepped into the hotel to when we left our experience was superb. Thank you to all at the hotel for making our special anniversary so memorable and we will no doubt be back.

Gary & Susan Gibson

Room Tip: Simply see if room 11 or 12 is available beautiful rooms and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are pleased that you had a great stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes

Steve & Timar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,248 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhouse

Property: Waterhouse
Address: Water House Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country house, set in 3 acres of park land with lawns sloping down to its own stretch of river for which we have fishing rights, nestling in stunning countryside with panoramic views. The house has been restored to retain many of its original features and we offer 9 contemporary bedrooms and 4 deluxe rooms to our guests. We are proud to announce that Waterhouse has been awarded an AA 4 Star Rating for its facilities. We now offer room service/light evening meals from 6pm to 9pm. Breakfast is served weekdays from 7:30am to 10am and weekends from 8am to 10am. Come and enjoy our peaceful beautiful valley with bicycle hire on site or a quick 10 min car ride into the bustling city of Bath..we offer you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhouse Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing