We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“H & J stay at Waterhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“H & J stay at Waterhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent two nights in the Waterhouse and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had travelled to Bath to attend a wedding and it was a delight to stay at this hotel which complimented the enjoyment of the wedding.
The hotel is set in peaceful surroundings, well appointed hotel, friendly staff and beautiful food.
The views from the bedroom were magnificent and we noticed that each room had been given a name of a river, our room was named the Tigris, what a lovely idea.
Would definitely return if we needed to stay in Bath again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    126
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
282
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I loved the location of this hotel on the edge of the village of Monkton Combe. We walked the narrow path from the hotel along the stream and through the fields to the village. Visited the village churchyard where the last survivor from the trenches in WWI was buried just a few years ago. There is a small restaurant in the village, but save your appetite for the dinner at the Waterhouse. The menu is small, but every item on it is carefully prepared and delicious. We know this because, between the five of us, we ordered every single item on the menu. The staff was helpful and attentive. We were a party of five, staying in two adjoining rooms on the top floor. The rooms were spacious, but adding a rollaway bed to one of the rooms did partially block access to the door between the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found my stay here very refreshing. I arrived on the Thursday afternoon and the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and everything was clean. There are plenty of eateries within a short drive, so we went out to eat dinner. Breakfast was delcious, there were bowls of fruit salad already prepared and a full English was on the menu too. For me it was quiet, refreshing and homely. Just what I wanted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review of Waterhouse. We are so pleased you were happy with your stay. Please watch out for future offers at Waterhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagni di Lucca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Last week I had the pleasure of staying the night at Waterhouse. This was a business trip however the hotel combined a lovely peaceful atmosphere in really beautiful settings. My room had stunning views and was comfortable and well appointed with all mod cons. The staff were welcoming and very professional. I had a delicious breakfast watching the rabbits take over the grounds and felt very much restored from the whole experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I will be sure to show the review to the Waterhouse team

regards

Steve
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was my second visit to the Waterhouse and, interestingly, I was given the same room. Nothing wrong with that, in fact it made it more like home from home.
Since my last visit there have been a few changes such as dinner being served in the evening, a positive improvement. A couple other of small changes (too little to mention) didn't please me and when I discussed these with the new manager she was very receptive to my views.
The Waterhouse is a lovely place to stay and I will return whenever I'm in Bath

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Spotted-Jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
On behalf of management and the team, may we thank you for the kind review.
It was very kind of you to take time to speak to management on the morning before you checked out.
We will continue to grow from strength to strength, and by the time you visit Waterhouse again, i am confident you will see a significant step forward.
We look forward to seeing you again at Waterhouse, and once again thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Having come to Bath for a wedding party, I chose Waterhouse due to the favourable reviews and photos of the location. I have to say that I was terribly underwhelmed and consider the hotel barely worthy of three stars, let alone four.
The guest accommodation is exclusively in the less than impressive 1970s extension to the building. All of the rooms in the beautiful period part of the house are taken up with offices and meeting rooms.
The staff, whilst very pleasant and helpful, are not dressed appropriately for the class of hotel. I do not consider jeans particularly fitting for front of house reception. The reception itself is a small desk plonked next to the front door as an after thought.
The room itself was poor. Bear in mind that this is a four star hotel charging well over £100 per night. There was no air conditioning. No telephone, pen or stationary. No shampoo in the bathroom. Badly stained carpets. It had a small bay window area but which looked out on a retaining wall and some earth. The mini bar was empty. It was just lacking overall.
The decor was ok and the bed comfortable, but, this being June, the room was terribly hot so it was not exactly relaxing. I ordered an ironing board and iron for the room. This was forgotten about and I had to chase it up.
Given the lack of attention to detail and general poor upkeep, we decided to skip breakfast and eat in town, so I am unable to comment on the food.
I appreciate that the hotel has recently undergone a change of management, but am seriously concerned that, come the next inspection, it will lose some of its four stars.
Must try harder.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mkphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Firstly thank you for your feedback so we can do something about it. We are extremely sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay as our aim is to provide one of the best guest experiences in and around Bath. The Waterhouse management team have already met to discuss and address all the points you make.

As you refer to the AA Star rating, you may be interested to know that two weeks ago we had another AA inspection and they renewed our 4 Star status, giving us a list of the things we need to do to get to 5 Star. So whilst it doesn't change your experience it means others are unlikely to have the same complaints; as you can also see from previous and subsequent reviews.

It may be worth saying that if you had spoken to us about these matters whilst you were still here it would have been even easier for us to do something about it and therefore made your stay more satisfactory.

Once again thank you for your time, and thank you for choosing Waterhouse


regards

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were lucky enough to have the chance to stay at Waterhouse for a night and it was a real treat to sit sipping a cold drink out on the terrace overlooking the most wonderful views. Surprising to think we were so close to Bath as the setting here is so tranquil. We stayed on the top floor in one of the waterfall rooms and it was a good size and very comfortable. Dinner was relaxed affair in the dining room and the menu was varied and of good quality. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Waterhouse to others and feel it is a wonderful antidote to London or any other big city.

Room Tip: Top room floors are larger than the ones on the floor below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolC280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It is always nice to receive positive feedback on the venue, and the hard work our team put in to make your stay a memorable one.
Long may this continue for all our guests.
Thank you for choosing Waterhouse, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.6 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhouse

Property: Waterhouse
Address: Water House Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country house, set in 3 acres of park land with lawns sloping down to its own stretch of river for which we have fishing rights, nestling in stunning countryside with panoramic views. The house has been restored to retain many of its original features and we offer 9 contemporary bedrooms and 4 deluxe rooms to our guests. We are proud to announce that Waterhouse has been awarded an AA 4 Star Rating for its facilities. We now offer room service/light evening meals from 6pm to 9pm. Breakfast is served weekdays from 7:30am to 10am and weekends from 8am to 10am. Come and enjoy our peaceful beautiful valley with bicycle hire on site or a quick 10 min car ride into the bustling city of Bath..we offer you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhouse Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing